We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So thoughtful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shreyas Yoga Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Shreyas Yoga Retreat to your Saves list
Shreyas Yoga Retreat
Santoshima Farm, Gollahalli Gate, Nelamangala, Bengaluru (Bangalore) 562123, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Dubai
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“So thoughtful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Only had the chance to experience Shreyas for a few days and have to say I was blown away. The people were so thoughtful - every thing was considered and it didn't feel like there was any hierarchy in management leading to each team member at Shreyas taking an interest in the guests and knowing what their individual preferences were. The food, the atmosphere, the classes, the treatments - everything was exceptional. Will definitely be back for a longer visit. Thanks to the whole team at Shreyas for such a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    12
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
30
80
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Right from the get go, my experience of Shreyas was nothing short of outstanding. The various reviews which I had read prior to my trip seemed almost too good to be true - Shreyas lived up to the reviews and so much more.
I booked the Ayuverdic package which I combined with the silent retreat, staying in a pool villa for 9 nights. My fiance joined me for the first 4 nights and I spent the rest of the trip alone (together with the great people that I met at the resort). The entire experience was magical, right from the warm, traditional arrival to the equally hospital departure where I was presented flowers and a bag full of home made cookies and water for the journey to the airport.
The Shreyas journey began with a detailed discussion with the Dr to ensure that the entire stay could be tailored to perfection for each guest. The analysis also served as a basis to ensure that the correct herbal treatments could be prescribed (many of which were made on-site using freshly grown produce) and that Yoga & Meditation classes could be tailored to address and specific issues.
The quality of the accomodation was great, comfortable and well layed out. The room was cleaned several times each day and whilst the odd insect did make its way into the room, this was not by any means an issue. The grounds were naturally beautiful, like everything at Shreyas. Shreyas staff clearly work exceptionally hard to ensure that everything last details in the rooms and on the grounds is well thought through, yet the level of discretion is exceptional. The staff worked in a synchronised manner to ensure that things worked in perfect order - it was incredible how every member of the team knew my day's schedule perfectly and additionally made themselves available whenever they were need for additional consultation.
The food was exceptional and a great variety was provided for every meal. The chefs were very accomodating to any special requests. We booked a Cooking Class which was very interactive and a lot of fun - like everything at Shreyas, this class was tailored specifically to our needs. The Shreyas cooking book contains many of the recipes which are very easy to follow, healthy and delicious. The chefs also provided us with recipes which did not feature in the book so that we could easily replicate them back at home. The incredible gardens at Shreyas meant that most of the food being prepared was freshly harvested and organic - the selection of produce in the garden was incredible complete with cows and buffalos to provide the dairy produce. The service provided at every mealtime, right from the gorgeous table set up to the generosity and warmth with which guests were served was exceptional.
The spa treatments were wonderful, each one specifically tailored for the client and delivered with a lot of care and attention. Yoga classes were fantastic and catered to all levels. The sound meditation and meditation classes were exceptional - the meditation guide is extremely knowledgeable but also able to communicate so eloquently. For the first time, I was able to truly understand the concept of 'Yoga' and 'Meditation' in a way whereby all of the dots have been connected and can more easily be applied in my daily life. The meditation guide and yoga teachers have also sparked a desire for me to really take my practice to the next level much more consciously. Thank you very much! This is one of very few places where 'after care' is also provided and staff make it clear that they are available at anytime after leaving to answer questions and provide advice.
The silence meditation for 3 days was an incredible experience - the staff and guests did everything possible to ensure that I could get the most from the experience; again the attention to detail was just exceptional.
There is so so much more that I can say but Shreyas really has to be experienced to be believed. Thank you all at Shreyas for the genuine warmth and care with which you have treated us, we cannot wait to visit you again soon.

Room Tip: The noise from the nearby trainline may be a a nuisance the first day or however after that, we bare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The experience was special form the point we were picked up from the airport, we got to the retreat and we were welcomed by the manager with fresj coconut water and then shown to our pool side room which was stunning. Everyday the staff would decorate the retreat with beautiful flowers – there was constantly a feel of calm and serenity. The food was amazing – fresh and organic and a vast variety, the chef was more than happy to discuss ingredients and happy to share recipes. Waking up at 7am every morning for our yoga class was a pleasure, the yoga teacher was fantastic and catered for all levels. We booked some additional meditation sessions which were well worth it. The day was finished off with a nice treatment which we immensely enjoyed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Shreyas is a great place to stay at. Its ideal for a weekend getaway from Bangalore. The property is lovely--very serene and green. I recommend the massages very highly too. We visited Shreyas for my father's birthday and the staff helped make it a very memorable experience. We were able to book the home theater for a private film screening, and the dining area of the resort was beautifully decorated for the celebration. The staff are polite, responsive, efficient and they seem to genuinely care about the comfort of the guests. The food is excellent. Healthy and tasty. Again the staff offered us considerable flexibility in making available food items that were not on the menu for the day. Visit Shreyas with your family. Its totally worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIenna
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

it was absolutely perfect! shreyas is an oasis for relaxation & yoga! I have never experienced something like this before! look out for the different retreats! they are very interesting and mind-opening! service is impeccable! the food is amazing! I would go back anytime and hope to be back very soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Loved this retreat - beautiful property, very peaceful and quiet. Excellent yoga classes. High quality accommodation. Aesthetically appealing as well as luxurious. We also did a cooking class which was wonderful. Very innovative vegetarian fare. Good massages. Unbelievable service - the staff was very attentive, and very proactive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Amazing! We recently spent 6 days on the Yoga Retreat package at Shreyas over Easter and I could have stayed longer! The whole property was beautiful - coconut and frangipani trees at every turn as well as an gorgeous vegetable garden where they grow all their own produce. Expect to feel nourished with their delicious vegetarian meals which are super generous and always different; there was only yoga, pranayama and meditation included in our package but I think the cooking classes would have been fun too. The staff were attentive to our every need. A typical day ran like this: group asana / breakfast / chanting + meditation / free time (swimming, reading, napping, massage, private yoga tuition) / group asana / dinner / sleep. They were also happy to accommodate for my gluten-free diet and the ayurvedic doctor is able to prescribe decoctions [sp.?] for any ailments you might have...!

As there was 3 of us, we opted for the 3-bedroom cottage which was clean, beautiful and comfortable with a huge living area. My only comment would be that the design of the cottage bathrooms felt a little dated and didn't feel like they corresponded with the vibe of the whole place. On nights with good weather they set up the dining tables outside in the garden which is a magical experience; expect to meet lots of new people as they encourage group dining, definitely an easy place to visit solo as well!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shreyas Yoga Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shreyas Yoga Retreat

Address: Santoshima Farm, Gollahalli Gate, Nelamangala, Bengaluru (Bangalore) 562123, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Karnataka > Bengaluru (Bangalore)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 507 Specialty Lodging in Bengaluru (Bangalore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 25-acre luxury Yoga retreat on the outskirts of Bangalore in South India. Shreyas is a member of Relais & Chateaux, a collection of the finest hotels worldwide. Rated as one of the finest Yoga retreats in the world, Shreyas is an exclusive boutique property that caters to a maximum of 25 guests in a luxurious and serene environment. Shreyas offers Yoga & meditation sessions, Gourmet organic vegetarian cuisine, Nature farming, Community service and Voluntourism, Ayurveda & Spa treatments, cooking classes and village tours and various packages like Wellness for the Soul, Yoga Retreat, Ayurvedic rejuvenation, Weight Management, Silent Retreat, Culinary Experiences package, etc round the year. We aim to demonstrate that Yoga can be learnt and practiced by all, irrespective of age, health and faith. Guests of all levels of experience from beginner to advanced are welcome at Shreyas, and yoga classes are customized to suit their requirements. Hatha and Ashtanga Yoga are practiced at Shreyas.Shreyas offers many activities for fitness, rejuvenation, relaxation or simply laying back and recharging their batteries away from the stresses of daily life. Our massage center offers expert Balinese, Thai and Swedish massages, body scrubs, aromatherapy and more. Guests can enjoy a leisurely swim in the infinity pool or lounge in the deck chairs with a book from our extensive library. A gymnasium and a 3-kilometer jogging trail await guests wanting to stretch and tone their muscles, and cricket enthusiasts can head for the nets where a professional bowling machine will test their batting skills. Enjoy a relaxing soak in the Jacuzzi or the invigorating steam room. And for movie buffs, there are over 500 movies in the Home Theatre for your viewing pleasure. Sound meditation and chanting classes are also available. Guests are also welcome to connect with nature and try their hand a farming in our sprawling nursery and vegetable gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, EasyToBook and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Shreyas Yoga Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shreyas Yoga Retreat Hotel Bangalore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shreyas Yoga Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.