We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel shame about the kitchen!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lalit Ashok

Save Saved
You added The Lalit Ashok to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lalit Ashok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kumara Krupa High Grounds, Bangalore 560001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 551 hotels in Bangalore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel shame about the kitchen!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This is a very good hotel with good rooms and good service (sometimes overly attentive). The problem is the kitchen in the main restaurant, the first night the duck was tough and fatty and took ages to come, the second night I asked for a burger and it took 45 mins to be served, and even then it was well done when I had asked for medium. Small points I know but soured my stay slightly. Other than that, good hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmitSamson, General Manager at The Lalit Ashok, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to note that you found our rooms and services measuring up to your expectations.

I apologize for the inconsistencies in the food and have already shared this with my Executive Chef. Thank you for bringing this to our notice. Your feedback will help us in making sure the finer details are taken care of and will also enable us in training our staff regarding specific points.

Thank you once again for your constructive feedback. We do look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Bangalore.

Warm Regards,
Amit Samson
asamson@thelalit.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    116
    28
    7
    7
See reviews for
42
27
44
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Male
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Very convenient location to move around the city,close to city center and an hour drive away from the airport.I love the landscape of the hotel and the green surrounding with amazing city view from Oko Restaurant.The staff at the reception are very helpful and friendly.
And I will come again to stay at The Lalit Ashok .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmitSamson, General Manager at The Lalit Ashok, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire team at The Lalit Ashok Bangalore, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.

We take great pride in maintaining our landscape to ensure it is in the best condition through the year and we are glad that you took note of it. We will share your feedback with our entire team. It is feedback such as yours which will motivate our team to set higher benchmarks.

Thank you once again for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Bangalore.

Warm Regards,
Amit Samson
asamson@thelalit.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I enjoyed very much at breakfast time. Nice staff, polite and gentle. Made me feel like I am staying at the Oriental, Thailand. Food are fantastic. Try local as well. Wonderful stay. You might be excited

Room Tip: Deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmitSamson, General Manager at The Lalit Ashok, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.

Your encouraging words of appreciation will go a long way in boosting the morale of our team. I am glad you enjoyed the room, the service and facilities. We have shared your feedback with the rest of our team as well.

Thank you once again for taking the time to post your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor. We do look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Bangalore.

Warm Regards,
Amit Samson
asamson@thelalit.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweden
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This is a big fancy hotel. Good buffet restaurant, good service. But for the price i would have expected better maintained rooms. The room was clean, but compared with other high-end hotels in India I expected better. The Baluchi restaurant was however not any good, only ok food and horrible service. The hotel garden is very nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevePereira, Front Office Manager at The Lalit Ashok, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

At the outset, thank you for taking the time to post your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed the buffet breakfast and the service. We do apologize for the poor experience at Baluchi. Thank you for bringing this to our notice. We have also taken note about your feedback regarding our rooms and we would like to keep you informed that we are carrying out soft refurbishment in all our rooms.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback. We would like to ensure you that we take this feedback constructively and will work on training our staff in areas where we are lagging behind.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to Bangalore.

Warm Regards,
Steve Pereira
spereira@thelalit.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

It was my first time to India. I enjoyed very much at breakfast time. Nice staff, polite and gentle. Made me feel like I am staying at the Oriental, Thailand. Food are fantastic. Try local as well. Wonderful stay. You might be excited when flushing the toilet. Got to push harder at first use. Don't know why. The shower direction is fixed making my bathroom wet every time. The slide door need to be fixed. Overall, my group never complained. Swimming pool and exercise room look nice. Exhibition area nearby 3 minutes walk. I was impressed with the kind, knowledgable, responsible man, Umanat who drove me around for market survey and sight-seeing. He is more of a teacher, than a driver.

Room Tip: select room with the swimming pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevePereira, Front Office Manager at The Lalit Ashok, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

The entire team at The Lalit Ashok Bangalore would like to thank you for taking the time to post your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are truly honored to be compared with the level of The Oriental, Bangkok which is the pinnacle of hospitality.

We apologize for the hard action of the flush and the sliding door. We will carry out our servicing of the flushes to make them comfortable to use. Thank you for bringing this to our notice.

Umanath is one of our stars and we are glad you took the time to acknowledge him. Your kind words of appreciation will go a long way in boosting the morale of our best assets - our staff and core team.

Thank you once again for posting your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Bangalore.

Warm Regards,
Steve Pereira
spereira@thelalit.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The rooms are spacious & clean. Food was fine. Decor is good, Staffs are well trained on the soft skills. Will prefer staying again at the same place. It was a short stay of one night, but it left a lot of hospitality memories for me & my family. It's located in a nice area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevePereira, Front Office Manager at The Lalit Ashok, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.

Our staff are our greatest asset and a lot of emphasis is placed on training them to be the best at what they do. Your kind words of praise will motivate them to perform even better. We are truly very delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to create memorable moments for you.

We thank you once again for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Bangalore.

Warm Regards,
Steve Pereira
spereira@thelalit.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I was travelling to Bangalore for work for 3 days and the clients had booked me at The Lalit Ashok. Good five star accomodation with all the essentials of a five star being present.

Room- The room i was staying in was a standard room and was spacious with all the facilities. The room was clean and wi fi and breakfast were included in the room price.

Food- The breakfast spread was huge and the food was excellent quality and taste. Did not get to try other meals so not in a position to comment on that.

Location- The hotel is centrally located and well connected to all the major places. Although, the traffic in bangalore these days can be really painful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevePereira, Front Office Manager at The Lalit Ashok, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us. We are also glad that you could enjoy the buffet breakfast. We do hope that you can make some time on your future visits to try our other outlets - Baluchi, Oko and Sutra.

We are grateful for your business and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Bangalore.

Warm Regards,
Steve Pereira
spereira@thelalit.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lalit Ashok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lalit Ashok

Address: Kumara Krupa High Grounds, Bangalore 560001, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bangalore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bangalore
#17 Family Hotel in Bangalore
#21 Spa Hotel in Bangalore
#31 Business Hotel in Bangalore
#32 Luxury Hotel in Bangalore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lalit Ashok 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in an oasis of 10 acres of sprawling landscape and manicured lawns, The LaLiT Ashok is one of the finest five star hotel amongst all Bangalore luxury hotels. Built in 1971 The LaLiT Ashok has welcomed guests over more than 35 years and has been an experience of luxury in contemporary and relaxed homely comfort. This 5 star hotel in bangalore is strategically located in the highly secured diplomatic enclave, while sharing its wall with the Chief Minister’s house and offers a lovely view of the sprawling Bangalore Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com, MakeMyTrip, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Lalit Ashok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lalit Ashok Hotel Bangalore
Lalit Ashok Bangalore
Lalit Ashok Hotel Bangalore
Ashok Hotel Bangalore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lalit Ashok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.