We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first class service with sincere smiles” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Mark's Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added St Mark's Hotel to your Saves list
St Mark's Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4 / 1, St Marks Road, Bengaluru (Bangalore) 560001, India (Richmond Town)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Christmas&Newyear Package
california
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“first class service with sincere smiles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

my friend and I stayed here for two nights to celebrate her birthday. The staff took it upon themselves, especially the chef, to surprise her with a birthday cake and everyone greeted her with a sincere happy birthday wish. We were treated like queens by the staff and the hotel is classy and clean and comfortable. We never had to open a door or carry anything up to our room (including leftovers from the delicious meals we had in the restaurant). Even the management came to say hello to us. The buffets are amazing and we ate all of our meals in the hotel restaurant because they were so good.
this is where I will stay whenever I am in Bangalore.

Room Tip: our room was so quiet that when it wasnt until i opened the window that i remembered i was in india
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    115
    14
    0
    2
See reviews for
39
94
71
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

What a great place to stay, this is the 3rd consecutive year we have stayed when we have visited Bangalore. The standards have remained the same. We stayed 3 nights there was a party of 14 check in was efficient and went smoothly.
It's such a haven of peace and tranquillity after the hustle and bustle of this busy city.
The endless quarrels with the run tuk tuk drivers who continually want to take you on a visit to the heritage shops, I would prefer to pay on the meter.
The rooms are comfortable, with all the amenities you need. What an excellent shower. The bed was comfortable. The staff couldn't be more attentive. It's near to the city centre, there are plenty of shops and restaurants nearby.
Breakfast is brilliant with choices for every taste. The egg chef works very hard to make the eggs to everyone's taste.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are adequate, for that extra bit of luxury have the executive delux room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMarksHotel, JP Menon,VP & GM at St Mark's Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are really glad to note that you and the group had a very comfortable stay with us and you found the hotel standard excellent over the years. Thank you for sharing your views on TripAdvisor.

The team at St.Mark's is delighted to see that their efforts are so well appreciated.We do firmly believe that clean,comfortable rooms with a cozy bed and a great shower makes all the difference to the experience of a guest at a hotel. And a sumptuous breakfast ,the perfect icing on the cake! Please be assured that we will strive for continued excellence in all what we do.

We look forward to the pleasure of serving you again.

Warm regards,

JP Menon
Vice President & General Manager
St.Mark's Hotel,Bangalore.

Email: gm@stmarkshotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panaji, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I read lots of excellent reviews about this Hotel and was curious to know more first hand. I therefore decided to try it out during my recent visit to Bangalore. Let me therefore list below what was good, not so good and also what could have been better.
1. Good:
a. Location is excellent in the heard of Bangalore and easy to reach. Several shopping malls and eating places are nearby. Taxi drivers know this Hotel well too.
b. Size of Hotel is just right. Personally I do not like Hotels with very large number of rooms where guest identity gets lost. This Hotel was perfect on this score – not too small nor too huge.
c. Room size (Deluxe) was enough to accommodate a couple but there were a few things that were surprisingly missing.
i. No room to room direct dialing. Have to call through operator.
ii. Full length mirror could have easily been provided on the wall just outside bath but was missing.
iii. Mini bar was missing altogether and mini fridge was empty.
d. Check-in and check-out was quick and efficient.
e. WiFi was fast and effortless. Front desk gave information on check-in even without asking.
f. The rooftop garden was excellent place to do yoga, have tea/coffee or just sit and relax any time of the day from 7 AM to 10 PM. Since it is exclusively for hotel room guests it is never crowded. Guests can make tea/coffee and pick up cookies themselves at the entrance to garden and leave cups on the table on one side. There is no service provided and this makes the garden even better without any intrusion from service staff.
g. Food quality and taste was good and portions adequate. Breakfast was excellent.

2. Not so good:
a. Experience at Travel Desk was a bit disappointing. Booked a cab previous evening with them but when went down to travel on work, the person there (Tony) had no information about our booking. However, he quickly arranged for the same and we could leave within minutes but we found it strange that cab driver did not know the ITC Windsor (a 5-star well know hotel) where we wanted to go and he took us around needlessly so much so that we could have almost missed our appointment.
b. There is only one restaurant where they serve breakfast, lunch and dinner too. The staff appeared somewhat untrained. Two of went down for some drinks and dinner and ordered drinks. The person serving us brought drinks for just one of us and it took some talking to make him understand that drinks need to be served together to all the guests and not one at a time, keeping others waiting for their drink. Same was the case with starters. Later, when Mr. Jaffer, the Assistant Manager food & Beverage apologized for this lapse and made amends. Next evening when we went for drinks and dinner, the restaurant was rather crowded and noisy and we were promptly moved to Bar on first floor which was quiet and good and we were served drinks and dinner there itself.
c. One thing that appeared strange and surprising was that the Hotel was manned almost exclusively by male staff on Front Desk, Restaurant, Bar and Housekeeping. I am not sure if this was the HR Policy of the Hotel but if it is so, this could put off single female guests (Indian ladies for sure) from patronizing this hotel.

Lastly, would I return to this Hotel on my next business trip? I am not too sure; may like to explore another hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are better. 7th floor is nearest to terrace garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMarksHotel, JP Menon, VP & GM at St Mark's Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for posting such a detailed review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

While you have pointed out a lot of positives of the hotel,we obviously did not live up to your expectations. You are certainly a very keen observer and nothing seems to have missed your eyes.We really appreciate you taking the effort to bring the shortfalls to our notice.We sincerely regret the inconvenience caused.

Jaffer did bring to my notice, the faux pas at the restaurant about the drinks service that night itself. We have taken this up once again in our training sessions and be assured that the same will not be repeated. We have also addressed the issue about lack of communication with the travel desk personnel and necessary corrective measures have been taken. Though it is an outsourced service, we realise that any deficiency in their operations, reflect on us poorly.

We do have lady staff in our operational areas including in house keeping at the guest floors.I agree that they are certainly less in number. We have room to room dialing facility between 9am and 9pm for privacy reasons. However,from your comments we realise that it could be a good idea to start that facility from 7am itself for the benefit of guests who stay in groups. We will certainly look into your suggestion of adding a full length mirror in our deluxe rooms as well. We had taken a decision of filling our Mini Bar only on request,as over the years we found the consumption patterns decreasing drastically. Now that we know that you like the Mini Bar to be filled beforehand, we will be happy to do the same with the choice of snacks and drinks we have in the minibar list.

We request you not to tick us off from your list of hotels at Bangalore and to give us another opportunity. I and my team are very keen to showcase a much improved performance to delight you on your next stay with us.

I am very thankful to you for being so upfront in letting us know as to what you liked and did not like about our hotel.These comments and observations are certainly going to spur us on to put our best efforts to do everything that is needed to be done. Please do count on us to give it our best shot.

I am looking forward to meeting you personally on your next stay with us and please feel free to call me for any assistance you may require.

Warm regards,

JP Menon
Vice President & General Manager
St.Mark's Hotel,Bangalore.

Email: gm@stmarkshotel.com

Mobile No: +91 9845582000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed 4 nights and it was great. Perfect location to explore bengalaru. Close to the heart of the city so plenty of shopping and restaurants. We could stroll to cubbon park in minutes. The staff were all so friendly and made us feel welcome. Breakfast was really good and a great start to each day. Loved our room which was spacious and spotlessly clean. We will definitely go back again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMarksHotel, JP Menon,VP & GM at St Mark's Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for all the accolades you have showered on our hotel through your review on TripAdvisor.

It is such a pleasure when your guest has had such a fantastic experience at the hotel. We consider it as our true reward! Your compliments to the whole team have been shared with everyone of our associates and we consider it a privilege to have served you and served you well.

Thank you once again and we certainly look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

JP Menon
Vice President & General Manager
St.Mark's Hotel,Bangalore.

Email: gm@stmarkshotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We checked in on 30 Dec and Checked out on 04 Jan 2014 ushering in the new year in the heart of the Swanky MG Road Bangalore

All the positive things you hear about Bangalore are the result of people experiencing the MG Road.

I have known bangalore since 1965 when I was a young Army officer posted to that city which you could not help but Fall in love with.

Much has changed the easy ambience of the sixties , overcrowding and reduced civic sense being the worst of the changes, but MG Road is still the throbbing heart of the city. St Marks is located very conveniently so that you just have to step out to be in the centre of activity, yet are not subjected to crowds and noise which generally accompany such a benefit.

The breakfast which is part of the deal is very well organised catering for most variations. Lunch is a practical solution for business travellers but may not be a choice for a keen foodie

Over all we enjoyed being spoilt with attention and care and had a very homely stay

A lot of credit goes to the GM Mr JP Mennon, who made us feel like Royalty

Room Tip: We enjoyed the room but cannot remember name given to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMarksHotel, JP Menon,VP & GM at St Mark's Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Col Sharma,

You are always very kind with your words! Thank you ever so much for this wonderful review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed our our pleasure and privilege to have you stay with us, this time around with your wife.We are pleased to note that we more than met your expectations which I know are very high!Our production team was thrilled to see your compliments on the breakfast buffet and have already started making earnest changes to the lunch spread to make it much more appealing.

We look forward to your next visit and be assured that the team at St.Mark's will do the best to remain your favorite hotel in Bangalore.

Warm regards,

JP Menon
Vice President & General Manager
St.Mark's Hotel,Bangalore.

Email: gm@stmarkshotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Very nice hotel, with a very good breakfast, well located within a city center - the hotel team does everything possible to make your stay pleasurable. The roof terrace has a great view and gives either sun or shade, whatever one needs at a certain point. Very good experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMarksHotel, JP Menon,VP & GM at St Mark's Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking time off to post an excellent review of us on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to note that you liked our city centre location, the overall experience at the hotel and the breakfast buffet spread.TheTerrace Garden at the roof top of the hotel is indeed very popular with all our room guests.

Thank you once again and we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

JP Menon
Vice President & General Manager
St.Mark's Hotel,Bangalore.

Email: gm@stmarkshotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the St Marks Hotel, Bangalore for 4 nights in December 2013. This is a 4star hotel, but it's tastefully decorated rooms and excellent staff service places it up in the 5 star category. The rooms were clean, neat and modern. The staff were very friendly and courteous. The new rooftop terrace also provided an excellent view of the city. We would definitely stay at this hotel again and recommend it to fellow travelers to Bangalore

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMarksHotel, JP Menon, VP & GM at St Mark's Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Season's Greetings from the team at St.mark's!

It was indeed our pleasure to have you stay with us last month and thank you for posting such a fabulous review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

Your comment that though a 4 star hotel,you find our quality and services absolutely of 5 star standards is indeed very satisfying and encouraging. We are very pleased to note that you found our rooms very well kept with friendly and courteous service. We firmly believe that it is the people who make all the difference in a hotel and I am personally delighted to see that they left a great impression on you.

Thank you for recommending us to fellow travelers and we hope to remain your favourite hotel in Bangalore for years to come.

Wish you a wonderful New Year 2014!!

Warm regards,

JP Menon
Vice President & General Manager
St.Mark's Hotel,Bangalore.

Email: gm@stmarkshotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Mark's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Mark's Hotel

Address: 4 / 1, St Marks Road, Bengaluru (Bangalore) 560001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Karnataka > Bengaluru (Bangalore) > Richmond Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bengaluru (Bangalore)
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bengaluru (Bangalore)
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru (Bangalore)
#3 Business Hotel in Bengaluru (Bangalore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — St Mark's Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Mark’s Hotel is a value for money 4 Star Business hotel located in the heart of Bangalore, the garden city of India. Situated 38 kms from the airport and a stone’s throw away from the city center, the hotel has 96 smart and comfortable rooms with excellent amenities including Complimentary Buffet Breakfast & Unlimited Internet Connectivity (Wired & Wi-Fi). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your St Mark's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Marks
St Marks Hotel Bangalore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Mark's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.