We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Brilliant Hotel with the Personal Touch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road

Save Saved
You added The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No 66, Residency Road, Bangalore 560025, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 553 Hotels in Bangalore
Teddington
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A Brilliant Hotel with the Personal Touch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

First impression on arrival, the lobby looks compact and low key but the warm welcome by friendly obliging staff more than overrides this. Nothing seems too much trouble from the flexible check in/outs, advice and directions on shops and bars, arranging transport / pick-ups etc. Brilliant service throughout so much so that after our first stay on the way down to Kerala we cancelled our reservation at Vivante by Taj (plush lobby but very corporate, full of seminars, conferencing etc.) and re-booked Gateway Hotel. It felt like coming home! Mr. Satish Babu, Front Office Manager is delightful and via e mail prior to our arrival, made all arrangements for our transport at airport and railway station.
The pool area is small but well staffed and just ideal for a dip to relax after exploring the city.
Ivory Tower Hotel Bar on floor 13 of the Barton Center was recommended by the charming concierge and we sat and watched the sun set over Bangalore skyline before returning for dinner in the delightful award-wining Karavalli restaurant in the hotel garden. Delicious taste of Kerala fish, friendly chat, croaking frogs in the pond and reminisces at the end of a wonderful trip. Vasantha Gopal. K, Senior Chef de partie even took the trouble to e mail us recipes!
We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and would not bother looking at anywhere else in the city but definitely stay here again next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on high floor for better views. E mail ahead for transport and early check-in where p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear TeddingtonGap,

Thank you for taking the time out to give us your feedback. I am glad to hear that you liked our overall service and facilities at the hotel and thank you for your compliments to our colleagues - Satish Babu and Vasantha Gopal. I have conveyed your appreciation to them.

It is indeed a pleasure to understand that you have chosen to stay in our hotel during your next visit to Bangalore, and it would be our pleasure to welcome you again and enhance our quality of service to ensure that you have a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

It gives me immense pleasure to share with you that our Restaurant “Karavalli” has been voted as one of the 50 best restaurants in Asia by Acqua Panna S. PelleGrino. We are extremely proud of this achievement and seek your support to sustain this achievement and take it up to the next level.

We look forward to having you back at the Gateway Bangalore again, soon.

Thanking you and assuring you our best always.

Warm Regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    134
    37
    6
    4
See reviews for
34
25
29
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grenoble, France
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed there for business for a bit less than a week, hotel modern and clean, service extremely close and people friendly, walking distance from many restaurants, do not necessarily follow the hotel recommendation it is better to go and find by yourself, alternatively the hotel restaurant at the back with an outdoor terrace is really nice, al fresco dining with excellent service and ability to accommodate with your preference regarding the level of spice in the meal.

The pool looks great, could not enjoy because there was a private venue, of course beware the mosquitos but this is Bangalore, repellant is required outside.

Only the breakfast was a bit behind but marginally.

Room is perfect in quality and size and accessories available, you feel like home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Djaypee38

I thank you for taking the time out to give us your feedback and I am glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay with the excellent service and convenient location.

It gives me immense pleasure to share with you that our Restaurant Karavalli has been voted as one of the 50 best restaurants in Asia by Acqua Panna S. PelleGrino. We are extremely proud of this achievement and seek your support to sustain this achievement and take it up to the next level.

Looking forward to having you back at the Gateway Bangalore again, soon.

Assuring you our best always.

Warm Regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I stayed with my family at the Gateway. Though a partially business and partly family break, the Hotel is well equipped. Location is perfect. With two young kids, it was easy to go shopping in the nearby shopping malls or the ever busy Brigade Road and still be back for the well needed rest within two three hours.
For people revisiting after a long time, the road (residency) is now one way
Food was excellent. The chefs went out of the way to prepare any dishes specific to our needs.
The room was excellent. Housekeeping excellent and prompt for any requirements. Bathroom amenities were of very good quality Room service was prompt and the food very good.
Swimming pool was small and there were poolside parties/get together discouraging the guests from using it. Checkin/check out was very smooth. Wi-fi is charged.

Room Tip: We were on first floor. Helped us to climb the stairs instead of the elevator since it required the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear schungath,

Thank you for taking the time out to give us your feedback. I am happy to understand that you liked our service and facilities at the hotel. Also nice to hear that you appreciated our location which is convenient for nearby shopping malls.

It gives me immense pleasure to share with you that our Restaurant ‘Karavalli’ has been voted as one of the 50 best restaurants in Asia by Acqua Panna S. PelleGrino. We are extremely proud of this achievement and seek your support to sustain this achievement and take it up to the next level.

We look forward to having you back at the Gateway Bangalore again, soon.

Thanking you and assuring you our best always.

Warm Regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed with my family in the Gateway during December 2012. After travelling for 6 hours by car from a resort in Kabini to Gateway we where totally tired and was really looking forward to relish the taj hospitality. However we had no clue that we where in for a total dissapointment.
My comments mostly pertains to the housekeeping department as I had no issues with any other departments in the hotel.

Upon checkin to our room we find the following:
1) The wash closet is black and filled with stains
2) The tea mugs has lipstick stain
3) The kettle kept for making coffee was filled with dirt and rust

Ohh boy we where sure suprised to see how could Taj afford to show this level of housekeeping standards. Initially upon bringing this to the notice of the housekeeping team they informed that the "wash closet was black and with stains because of the particles that is present in the waters in Bangalore. And that they would send the housekeeping next day to bleach and clean the closet". Having stayed in Bangalore earlier for 10 years wherein we ourselves never saw this type of dirty closet in any of the rented apartments we didn't know whether to laugh or cry at this ridiculous reason.

Finding the lipstick stains in the tea cup and dirty kettle has made us reach our patience limits whe we where paying so much room charge only to get such filthy housekeeping service.

Finally we had to escalate the matter to the Housekeeping Supervisor and ensured he inturn brought it to the knowledge of his higher management.

The next day while proceeding towards Breakfast area we where introduced to the GM and other officials and where informed that they would provide us another room and apologised for all the inconvinence caused. From then on it was a smooth flow during our stay. Even during our checkout when we had left back one of our luggage in the room, the team went out of their way to courier the same to our next destination. This was a very special touch of service that they had given.

But like they say " The first impression is the last impression", which is very true when it comes to the hospitality industry.

I hope The Gateway is able to improve and monitor on the Housekeeping staff's Key Performance Indiciators thereby not causing any discomfort to the guest.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear travel19812004

At the outset, I would like to thank you for taking the time out to share about your experience at the Gateway Hotel, Bangalore.

Your feedback on housekeeping service has been addressed and let me reassure you that this lapse is an aberration and corrective measures have been taken to ensure prevention of similar occurrences in the future. We immensely value your patronage and look forward to your continued support.

Warm Regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Good place to stay . service is excellent. Staff very friendly. Must stay for relaxation.eco friendly place. Eazy approach. Very lovely surrounding. Very good pool. Children enjoy the sites. Good food and lovely deserts. Overall experince is very good

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear MonikaPurohit,

Thank you for taking the time out to give us your feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and the excellent service. We look forward to having you back at the Gateway Bangalore again, soon.

Assuring you our best always.

Warm Regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Good place to stay . service is excellent. Staff very friendly.
Must stay for relaxation.eco friendly place. Eazy approach.
Very lovely surrounding. Very good pool. Children enjoy the sites. Good food and lovely deserts.
Overall experince is very good

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear ritulajmera,

I thank you for your feedback and am glad that you found our food and service is excellent and also I am happy that you loved our hotel surroundings. Your words of encouragement and appreciation will go a long way to motivate us to scale even greater heights in achieving Customer Delight.

We look forward to having you back at the Gateway Bangalore soon and assure you our best always.


Warm Regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed at Gateway with family. I was upgraded because I was traveling on x'mas day & with family. The Taj hospitality was very much present & felt. But the biggest plus point, its LOCATION.
Next to the ionic "Pub World", opposite the famous "Nagarjuna's" & just across Brigade road, the lifeline of Bangalore, its locations is perhaps the best for a traveller. Walking distance to many popular places, saves much on travel time.
The food is great, though a touch expensive (maybe due to X'Mas).

Room Tip: Take a higher floor as if you get a room facing the road side, the traffic noise would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Manish2012

At the outset, I would like to thank you for taking the time out to share about your experience at the Gateway Hotel, Bangalore.

I am happy that you had an excellent stay with us and you were delighted about our great location.

We look forward to having you back at the Gateway Bangalore soon and assure you our best always.

Warm Regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road

Address: No 66, Residency Road, Bangalore 560025, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bangalore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Bangalore
#38 Luxury Hotel in Bangalore
#42 Family Hotel in Bangalore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•The Gateway Hotel is located in the heart Bangalore’s Business, Shopping and Entertainment district on Residency Road.•Winner of National Tourism Award three years in a row.•Select rooms designated as Green rooms – Part of our EARTH Initiative. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gateway Bangalore
Taj Gateway Bangalore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.