We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“typical of Taj!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore to your Saves list
Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41/3, Mahatma Gandhi Road, Bengaluru (Bangalore) 560001, India (Ulsoor)   |  
Hotel amenities
Chennai, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“typical of Taj!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

hospitality, facilities, quality decor, good and expensive food, cool location on MG road - close to all offices and places.. and the list goes on.

I stayed here for a couple of nights on business and really did enjoy the proximity and convenience of travelling to all my appointments in time. But this place does liven up during fridays and saturdays and can get a little bit noisy as they have a very popular bar at lobby level. The food was good and the breakfast was quite elaborate, one has to allott considerable time to enjoy the spread. Definitely coming back for more!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    264
    63
    12
    11
See reviews for
48
45
79
410
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stayed at the Vivanta by Taj which is a very charming hotel, well located fairly close to the shopping area and business district. The front office staff are extremely warm and helpful - some of the best i've ever experienced. The rooms are well appointed, clean. I didnt care for the food too much at the chinese restaurant though.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stayed at The Taj Vivanta recently. Was amazed at the quality of service the staff provided. Front desk and concierge staff are particularly very friendly. When I wanted to plan a trip for my parents around the city, the concierge recommended a good itinerary and helped communicate that to the private taxi we had booked for them. The restaurant and other facilities are also very good. The only negative about the hotel is its a bit expensive for leisure travellers. Also given its popularity, the hotel lobby can be a bit crowded. Couple of times the private cab we booked was re-directed by the staff to the rear side of hotel, probably due to heavy vehicle traffic at the front lobby. But I certainly recommend this hotel to anyone who can afford it. Especially, a great choice for business travellers!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed there twice - a week each. Very nice hotel - beautiful and clean. Great service - the staff was very helpful and polite. Very good restaurant with Indian, western and Chinese food.Good location in the center of town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I stayed here for 01-night. If it would not have been associated with the Taj Group, I would have had nothing to complaint. Right from the time of making the reservation, which was a nightmare. had it not been for Mr. Naeem, I was about to look for some other property in Bangalore. The tariff was at par with the Taj Group but the service and upkeep far below expectations. The hotel room does not have a directory of services. You need to call the operator for everything you need to know. I found a dead cockroach in the washroom, though their General Manager has e-mailed promising to take care of pest control. My experience has been that the Taj Group does NOT provide you with any mileage benefit if you travel by any Indian domestic carrier. But they accept Miles & More and other international carriers. I feel it is discrimination towards domestic resident guests. Hope the management will look into this. The washroom is tiny and their is no magnified mirror available. The toiletries were standard. Food menu (Cafe Mozaic) was good. Breakfast was good.
Overall an overpriced hotel with mechanical hospitality and pure lip service and discriminatory attitude

Room Tip: Suggest try The Gateway at Residency Road or a similar property. Please do NOT get carried away by t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I am in the middle of a seven day work trip to Bangalore. And can honestly say that the Vivanta by Taj is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. You are made to feel so welcome by all the staff, they all seem to know your name and greet you each day with a smile. The location is right on the MG road, one of the busiest streets in Bangalore and can be very noisy, however once you walk through the doors of the Vivanta, you feel like you have been transported to a quiet oasis. The rooms are big and very comfy. There are three restaurants, with a great choice of food. There is also an amazing spa, offering some great treatments at great prices. The pool is gorgeous... actually everything is gorgeous about this hotel.!

Room Tip: The higher the better, as you will experience less noise from the road. They LOVE to beep their car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Visited the Taj Vivanta in Bangalore last week, anticipating a quality experience based on my visit last year. The welcome at the hotel was as good as it was on my first visit and the hotel experience, room and staff did not let me down.

If you are staying in bangalore, go there!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore

Address: 41/3, Mahatma Gandhi Road, Bengaluru (Bangalore) 560001, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bengaluru (Bangalore) > Ulsoor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bengaluru (Bangalore)
#17 Spa Hotel in Bengaluru (Bangalore)
#26 Family Hotel in Bengaluru (Bangalore)
#27 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru (Bangalore)
#27 Business Hotel in Bengaluru (Bangalore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore 5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak in the space that's bang in the centre of Bangalore's business and entertainment areas. Drive in from the airport delighting in backseat surprises (we're not revealing here). You'll see how we mean business in a quiet efficient way from the moment you step in. Our lobby is a unique mix of chic and classic. This arrival zone sets the tone for guestrooms and banquet facilities that deliver the ultimate in urban relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - m g Road, Bangalore Hotel Bangalore
Taj Residency Bangalore
Taj Residency Hotel Bangalore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.