We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel. Friendly staff. Slow check in procedures.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Leela Palace Bangalore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Leela Palace Bangalore to your Saves list
The Leela Palace Bangalore
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   #23, Kodihalli | Old Airport Road, Bengaluru (Bangalore) 560008, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay More Save More
Heidelberg, Germany
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel. Friendly staff. Slow check in procedures.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

I have spent many weeks in the Leela during my many visits to Bangalore. The hotel is undoubtedly beautiful. The staff at the restaurants in particular are graceful and friendly. However my experience at the checkout procedures was consistently disappointing. Not only did they always take a long time in assigning me a room, but on one occasion it took them a full 45 minutes - imagine waiting that long after you fly in having spent 12 hours traveling?

All in all, it still is the best place to be in, in Bangalore.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leelabangalore123, General Manager at The Leela Palace Bangalore, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

It’s good to hear that you had a wonderful stay at The Leela Bangalore. However, it is with great concern that we received your comments sharing the check in problems you faced at the front office. Please accept our sincere apologies make sure such things do not occur again in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Leela Palace Bangalore to provide you with the an unforgettable experience

Warm Regards,

Andrew Hendrian
General Manager
The Leela Palace Bangalore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    799
    253
    45
    22
    25
See reviews for
115
117
107
745
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights recently, in the Butler Suite. The hotel is gorgeous, and gardens are beautiful and the public spaces are extremely nice. I was able to do a couple of interviews privately in the lobby. My room included a sitting room, small kitchen, generously sized modern bathroom, and a walk in closet.

The fitness center is also top notch and the service there was spot on. Unfortunately, because the person checking me in misinformed me about the opening time, I wasn't able to work out as long as I would have wanted. Note - the fitness center opens at 6am officially but they will also open early if guests request that. There are many cardio machines and they are in good repair. The weight room is spacious and well equipped. I would have liked some mats and balls for abs work, but overall the gym is great.

Now, on to the other service problems. When I was checking in (at 4am) the woman helping me repeatedly kept answering the phone and interrupting my check in process. Finally someone else arrived and was checked in by another staff member and they proceeded to the room. At that point, I asked if I could just have my key. But she said no! She answered the phone yet again, while I just kept saying I want to be done and go to bed. This staffer also misinformed me about the gym time. When I questioned her on the 6:30am opening she had quoted she said, "That's rather early enough around here". Wow.

The waiters at the buffet and the Indian place were very good. However, while I was eating my idli and sambar, the waiter approached and offered to have some eggs made for me. (Rookie mistake!) I ordered a soft boiled egg. It was delicious but right after breakfast I got sick and had to take my Zithromax. I'll spare you the details. (I hadn't eaten anything else for a long time so I know it was the egg.) However, the buffet overall was sumptuous, and the Indian restaurant was also excellent. If I had remembered not to eat anything raw I would have loved the food here.

Probably the worst staff gaff during that brief stay, though, was the butler. When I've had butlers at the Oberoi, they introduce themselves at the beginning of the stay, make it clear how to contact them and then become as inconspicuous as possible (while being on alert). I never met my butler at the Leela, but the second day when I was getting dressed he let himself into my room! I yelled out that I was dressing. I then asked him to "get out of my room". Instead of leaving he proceeded to ask me detailed questions as to whether I wanted the fruit or sweets freshened. I again told him directly that he needed to get out of my room right now, and finally he left.

I would recommend this place only because it is so beautiful, the facilities are great, and I hope that the service will be improved.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leelabangalore123, General Manager at The Leela Palace Bangalore, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

It is quite unfortunate to hear from you that you did not have a good experience at the Leela Bangalore particularly with our butler service. I will definitely take this up with my team and make sure such things do not occur again in the future.

Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Warmest Regards,

Andrew Hendrian
General Manager
The Leela Palace Bangalore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The Leela is an out outstanding hotel and experience. The hotel is is great condition and the hotel staff is outstanding and will cater to your needs. They go out of the their way to make your stay enjoyable. The food is safe and of high quality. The overall experience is highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leelabangalore123, General Manager at The Leela Palace Bangalore, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

It’s good to hear that you had a wonderful stay at The Leela Bangalore.

Your comments regarding the hotel and its services are truly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Leela Palace Bangalore to provide you with the same unforgettable experience you have come to expect from us.

Warm Regards,

Andrew Hendrian
General Manager
The Leela Palace Bangalore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Friends and colleagues had often spoken highly about the Leela Palace Hotel in Bangalore, so I was delighted to find that it was the chosen hotel for a function I was attending in Bangalore. The hotel lived up to every expectation, and not only because I had a complementary upgrade to a particularly impressive suite.

The service for breakfast was a little lacking, but the overall experience was terrific because of the location of the outdoor seating in the hotel's beautiful garden. Elsewhere, the service was always good, the atmosphere welcoming and relaxing. The most stunning factor though is the building itself - it really is a huge palace. I suppose I should mark it down a notch because I couldn't find my way from my room to the ground floor very easily, as signage was a little lacking. Still, in the overall scheme of things that was nothing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leelabangalore123, General Manager at The Leela Palace Bangalore, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

It’s good to hear that you had a wonderful stay at The Leela Bangalore.

Your comments regarding the hotel and its services are truly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Leela Palace Bangalore to provide you with the same unforgettable experience you have come to expect from us.

Warm Regards,

Andrew Hendrian
General Manager
The Leela Palace Bangalore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

I Have stayed at the Leela twice. It is an absolutely awesome hotel. The staff are very friendly and accomadating. The rooms are absolutely wonderful. The food is fantastic. I would highly recommend it is very relaxing.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leelabangalore123, General Manager at The Leela Palace Bangalore, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

It’s good to hear that you had a wonderful stay at The Leela Bangalore.

Your comments regarding the hotel and its services are truly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Leela Palace Bangalore to provide you with the same unforgettable experience you have come to expect from us.

Warm Regards,

Andrew Hendrian
General Manager
The Leela Palace Bangalore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I traveled to Bangalore for a business trip in October of 2012. The Leela was a highlight of the trip. The service was incredible and my every need was attended to promptly. The rooms and the property overall were 5 star.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leelabangalore123, General Manager at The Leela Palace Bangalore, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

It’s good to hear that you had a wonderful stay at The Leela Bangalore.

Your comments regarding the hotel and its services are truly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Leela Palace Bangalore to provide you with the same unforgettable experience you have come to expect from us.

Warm Regards,

Andrew Hendrian
General Manager
The Leela Palace Bangalore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We always stay at Leela Palace everytime we visit bangalore. We feel like home at Leela palace. The staff are courteous. Food excellent and you have plenty of choices. I prefer their north indian varieties. Great atmosphere. We never had any issues and we are always looked after. Excellent location and service. Great hotel to stay especially when you are on holidays and want to be pampered. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Leela Palace Bangalore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Palace Bangalore

Address: #23, Kodihalli | Old Airport Road, Bengaluru (Bangalore) 560008, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Karnataka > Bengaluru (Bangalore)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Bengaluru (Bangalore)
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru (Bangalore)
#8 Business Hotel in Bengaluru (Bangalore)
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bengaluru (Bangalore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Palace Bangalore 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Leela Palace Bangalore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Palace Bangalore Hotel Bangalore
Leela Palace Bangalore
Leela Palace Hotel Bangalore
Hotel Leela Bangalore
Leela Hotel Bangalore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Leela Palace Bangalore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.