We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice getaway with some pitfalls!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Galibore Nature Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bengaluru (Bangalore)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Galibore Nature Camp
Save
You added Galibore Nature Camp to your Saves list
Uyamballi Post | Kanakapura Taluk, Sangam, Bengaluru (Bangalore), India   |  
Hotel amenities
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice getaway with some pitfalls!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very easily motorable from Bangalore, this place has the following pros and cons -

Pros -

- Very nice place located on the banks of the cauvery
- Very friendly staff - Exceptionally friendly
- Hammocks and other fun activities available if travelling as a group


Cons

- Not worth the price you pay. Tents and bathrooms just not good enough
- They have a bonfire in the middle of march! It gets hot as hell - Very silly idea this!
- The rooms can get very hot during the day. There's just a table fan and it can get very uncomfortable
- The road leading to the place is an unpaved road which is extremely uncomfortable
- There is a very uninteresting wildlife movie shown during dinner - This is listed as an attraction of the place
- Food is so so. Not worth the price charged
- Table fan is switched off at 6 AM leaving the last few hours of sleep annoying!

Im pretty sure there are better places than this in and around Karnataka

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    36
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
40
15
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The place as such is amazing, with cauvery river just next to the resort. Food is average, not too many activities to spend time, but ok for one visit.
The last strech of road is really bad and need to take care whle driving.
If you take a trek , you could really enjoy getting into the river, but need to be very careful and not recommended to go around alone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I was a bit concerned with this being an Indian government owned and run resort, however, was very pleasantly surprised. Went with family and friends.

Starting from the registration desk, to welcome drink,s to luggage being carried to our rooms, to food, fun, hiking, cleanliness, swings and climbing trees, etc for kids, everything was well taken care of. We also took a boat ride.

The only disappointing thing was that we were told there were alligators, however, could not see any in the day and half we were there. However, that did not impact the holiday, whatsoever.

If you are looking for a weekend place and live close to Bangalore, this is a highly recommended place for kids, adults, families....

Room Tip: All of the rooms were clean and had clean bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Did the day package trip to Galibore 3 months back ... the drive after kanakapura to maintain the sangama-muttathi road needs a little bit of guidance with couple of very important turns ... so keep asking until you reach the deviation into the last 9 kms mud road stretch to the camp ... the mud road drive sends your expectation of the place very high as your mobile network drops (that is if you are not on reliance) ...
The place is well maintained, but the rooms are a little damp and not well maintained .. but that does not deter you from enjoying river flowing right in front of you. Staffs are very friendly and the activities are well packed to keep you occupied through out the stay .. food was decent . Fishing was a highlight we did not expect to catch fishes not less than one kilo ...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

If you don't expect a 5* facility in the jungle, you will not be disappointed!

The place is absolutely beautiful! You get off the beaten path (9Kms of mud road from Sangam). The site is surrounded by hillocks that give immense character to this riverside retreat. The tents are comfortable, clean and well ventilated. We stayed in the older tents that have the bathrooms outside, with an open roof. The toilets were very clean and well maintained. There are some tents that are being refurbished that will have better access to the toilets.
We spent an entire day and night at Galibore. We took a ride in the river on the coracle and in the evening we spent time feeding the fish. We were fortunate enough to see Maha-Seers of different hues. The next morning was a hike into the jungle; as most of us were not in very good shape, we spent about an hour loitering close to the campsite.

The food was simple, tasty and nutritious. Being a vegetarian, I had quite a spread of good curries, rotis and South Indian Rasam and Sambar, for lunch and dinner. Breakfast was also good.

The thing that was outstanding throughout the stay was the service! The staff were absolutely fantastic, without being too obtrusive. They were knowledgeable, helpful and courteous, They were enthusiastic to show us the place and take us on the river. It was a pleasant stay mainly because of the way the entire staff interacted with us.

It was a fantastic stay, one I would recommend to any people looking to stay in a quiet, pristine place, just outside Bangalore.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Though Galibore is situated only 90 kilometers from Bangalore, travel time required to reach the destination will be approximately 4 hours.

Day visits are scheduled from 10.30am until 5.30pm. You are allowed to stay a little longer than that, but you need to leave before dinner.

Room facility is provided for day trippers. Hence, your car is your shelter. That apart, you can spend time in the Gol ghar or pitch a stool on the river's edge and watch as an ocassional Cormorant flies past.

Reception is very warm with the staff identifying you with name and offering you a welcome drink (nimbu paani). You can order other kinds of drink too.

Food at Jungle Lodges is something you need to look forward to. Their understanding of reaching the heart of the guest through their stomachs is unbeatable.

After food, you are taken on a coracle ride. Starting a little late (towards 4pm) would be ideal as your chances of sighting elephants become brighter at this time.

Other wildlife you can sight in the morning are fresh water Otters, Grey Headed Fishing Eagle, Darter, mongoose, and other birds of prey.

Elephants are best sighted in the evenings.

Besides sighting wildlife,You can indulge in a river rafting experience, go on a boring coracle ride which gets interesting if the guy taking you on the round boat has a headspin (and they usually do), you can cycle in the forest tracks, climb the ropes and replace the monkeys or simply laze around and look at the tall trees that adorn the forest or even worse, look at nothing at all.

Jungle Lodges also sell some of their memorabilia. So, keep some cash in handy.

When you go on a 1 night stay, there is an option of trekking in the morning atop the near hills which will give you a breathtaking view of the forest and also you can spot several birds of prey.

This is one of the most easily accessible places around Bangalore and definitely a place to chill out.

Room Tip: Tents are the only option and definitely the best ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Let me start with the good things. The area around the river cauvery is beautiful, quiet and peaceful, and so is the area where galibore is situated. The drive there is stunning and fun. And if you're coming from bangalore, it is really very closeby. The food is good, with a veg and non-veg option.

The camp is setup in a similar fashion as other jungle lodge retreats, large communal eating area with around 20-30 private huts or in the case of galibore tents. And thats where it goes wrong. The tents are moist, damp, very filthy and in general very unpleasant to be in. The bathroom is a concrete block without a shower. The bed is old and hard and all other items are either cheap, old or broken. Did i mention dirty already?

All of this would be OK if they wouldn't ask 5-star prices as if they are a taj or something. When i pay those prices I expect more. I've been to bheemeswari (same government run group) a while ago and that was acceptable. This is a dump. We tried other huts, but all had the same problem (and these were called the luxury tents, we didnt try the regular tents).

The filthy tents aside, what is ABSOLUTELY UNFORGIVEABLE is the trash (bottles, plastic, etc) lying around on the river bed in the camp. These guys are there to protect this piece of nature, and instead they ruin their own area and likely the area downstream of the camp. Shame on all of you that run the camp!!!

The good: being in beautiful nature and the food
The bad: filthy old horrible tents
The ugly: trash in and around the camp

We left after one hour and never saw our money back (although they did refund us for the extra money i paid as foreigner, while as a resident, i only needed to pay local fees). There are much better places to stay in this beautiful area, I would recommend you to avoid Galibore

Room Tip: Bring your own tent and (illegally) camp in nature
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Galibore Nature Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galibore Nature Camp

Address: Uyamballi Post | Kanakapura Taluk, Sangam, Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bengaluru (Bangalore)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 516 Specialty Lodging in Bengaluru (Bangalore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galibore Nature Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.