We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food in a great ambiance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shiro

Shiro
222, UB City Mall, 3rd Floor,Triple Height | Vittal Mallya Road, Bengaluru (Bangalore) 560001, India (Richmond Town)
+91 80 4173 8864
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Richmond Town
Paris, France
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nice food in a great ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Second time in Shiro. I do like the ambiance (impressive statue!) and the food is nice. Price is high but normal for the style and the location

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    79
    30
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Pleasant change from a curry!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Shiro's sit on the 3rd floor of a modern shopping mall but you can sit outside and you could be anywhere. Deco is dark but modern and clean with an Asian theme.

Nine of us decided to have Tepenyaki which although not the best I had was pretty good. Chef was great fun and the meal overall was excellent value.

I have been to the restaurant a couple of times and would recommend a visit if you are in Bangalore and want to have a change from Indian food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good food, drink and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Went there last Feb with my best mate for food and drinks. The food was great, drinks were good, the staff were very polite and friendly. Music tends to get a bit loud but if that's what you want, you'll enjoy it.

We were given a table outside and told we'd have to relocate as it had been booked for later in the evening, but we didn't have to and ended up sitting there until the place closed.

This place is not cheap by any definition of the word but whether it is good value for money is up to you to decide.

We did enjoy our visit and will definitely go there again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Amazing restaurant and dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Shiro was chosen by my colleague when wanted to go for a team dinner. The place us right in the heart of Bangalore in the UB city mall. The ambience inside the restaurant is fabulous. It has 4 life size statues adding grandeur to the place. The seating cab be both inside and outside adding more variety. The restaurant offers a range of drink options. The food has a combination of Asian including Korean,Vietnamese, Thai, Japanese etc. The food we had was excellent. Each cuisine had its own and taste and superb. The dessert varieties was also very good and I enjoyed very bit of it. The prices are very expensive but every bit of is worth.
Overall one of the best food experience I have ever had in life. A not to be missed place when on a visit to Bangalore.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fancy Food with a Fancy Show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I along with 5 others visited Shiro's for a lunch celebration. We had a pre-booked table with a chef my cousin personally recommended, his name is 'Prem'. The entrance as well as the interiors are like a passage of entry into an enchanting and culturally rich world. You can choose to be sat inside the restaurant or on the terrace where you are asked to sit if you have a reservation for Teppanyaki like I did.
Teppanyaki is an art form of cooking at the table where you are served your food piping hot with the sizzle of fresh ingredients. The entire ordeal was extremely exciting, I had Asahi (Japanese Beer) whilst I watched the chef prepare everything on the menu for us. The pork was delicious as were the prawns as well as the fried oriental rice.
I had never experienced anything of this sort before and the restaurant has a mood that beckons you to re-visit it soon.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shiro also viewed

Bengaluru (Bangalore), Karnataka
Bengaluru (Bangalore), Karnataka
 
Bengaluru (Bangalore), Karnataka
Bengaluru (Bangalore), Karnataka
 

Been to Shiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shiro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.