We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very poor experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of 9Marks Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added 9Marks Inn to your Saves list
9Marks Inn
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   9, St Marks Road, Bengaluru (Bangalore) 560001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A very poor experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

After having stayed in different hotels in over 25 countries around the world, one tends to develop a nose for unprofessional/incompetent hotel managements...only, in the case of 9Marks Inn on St. Mark's Road, Bangalore, it almost looks like a rip-off.

The hotel is situated at a great location, on the second floor of a building on St. Mark's Road in Bangalore, bang opposite Bishop Cotton School. I stayed there for one night in July 2012, and it was one of the worst experiences ever.

I was told as I checked in that I was being 'upgraded' to a Club Room at the same price of the 'Superior Room' that I had booked for. The room was small, is with a small flat-screen TV and a good bed. There was a tiny table and a weirdly angled shelf that one couldn't use (it was at 45-degrees to the horizontal). The bathroom was just about adequate.

The air-conditioning was not working, so I informed the counter. Two attendants came in and were fiddling around, in the room and outside, disrupting my work. After 45 minutes, they left saying that the room would cool down in 10 minutes. It didn't. The a/c didn't work through the night. It was clear to me that this was an excuse, that the a/c wasn't working and the room hadn't been used for a while.

I then went in for a shower, and found that there was no hot water. On complaining again, the reception said that they were switching in on. After 20 minutes there was no hot water still, so I called Reception again. Another attendant came in, and left the tap open for around 8-9 minutes, wasting perhaps about 30-40 liters of water, when the warm water began coming. I had to repeat the same exercise for about 12 minutes next morning.

I spent the night with disrupted sleep on account of the failed a/c (there was no fan either). I was happy to check out next morning. The breakfast was basic, but not bad. When I complained at checkout about the a/c, the clerk didn't even appear to be surprised...

The final shock was that the hotel had switched cars for my return to the airport (I had paid for pickup and drop as a part of the hotel bill). While I had a nice sedan when I was picked up, on the return trip there was only a beat-up hatchback. The driver wouldn't switch on the a/c in the car until I asked him.

Overall, I got the feeling of having been ripped off. Never going to stay there again...

Room Tip: Ask for a discount if airconditioning doesn't work. Ensure the model of car is negotiated both w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    9
    3
    6
See reviews for
2
9
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

The hotel's attraction is its location and proximity to the UB city and MG Road. However what hit me at the first look was the tiny size of the lobby and room, very unlike what appears on the website. The standard room is extremely small though it was neat and had all the required amenities. Since we had plans to hardly stay in the room, we adjusted with the room.
The complimentary breakfast was average. The hotel management though helpful appeared untrained.

The hotel is surrounded by nice restaurants like Oh Calcutta. I will recommend the hotel only for its location and 24 hr check out facility.

Room Tip: Club rooms are better than standard rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

This hotel which is located on the prime location in Bangalore (Saint Marks Road) does not live up to the reputation of the bigger cousin on the same Road (Hotel Saint Marks on the same road). I found the tariffs are quite stiff and the staff not so well trained. In fact by the time I left, I noted down so many short comings in the hotel that I decide to give it in writing to the Manager to start working on those points. I do not recommend the hotel for those tariffs. If you do not get anywhere else in and around MG Road, then only decide to stay there. I stayed there in Dec 2010. I hope it is better now.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

After walking away and losing my advance payment at Nanhini , I checked this small hotel opposite to Nandhini on St Marks Road. The Manager offered the Club room at a nice price and I took a chance with it.
The whole experience was very nice. Room is clean and nice, Internet free and connected. Great Shower and nice breakfast. With more then willing staff to help you with any needs.
Club rooms are reasonable and most recommended. The plus side of the hotel is its 24 hours check out facility, which helps in case of late evening or night flights.
Could be well rated as a Hidden Gem and a must stay hotel in the small nice hotels category .
A Must Try Hotel.

Room Tip: Choose the Club Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Stayed here to visit my daughter to enroll her to Engineering college nearby with my family. Very good for the price. Conveniently located. Clean. Attentive staff. Will stay again.

Room Tip: ask for balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, Louisiana
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

perfect hospitality at ideal location has i stayed before at same hotel i had a very good experience in all my visits n feel the service level is dramatically improved a lot.....

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

i stayed in this hotel and i found that i made a big mistake by choosing this hotel...the staff especially at the reception are never ever to help and its like a school with all weird rules and regulations...no internet connectivity in any of the rooms on the second floor and if you complain about anything these managers keep grudges against you but will never try and help you...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 9Marks Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 9Marks Inn

Address: 9, St Marks Road, Bengaluru (Bangalore) 560001, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bengaluru (Bangalore)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 351 B&Bs / Inns in Bengaluru (Bangalore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 9Marks Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your 9Marks Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 9Marks Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.