We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Seafood...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Karavalli

Karavalli
The Gateway Hotel 66, Ground Floor | Residency Road, Bengaluru (Bangalore) 560025, India (Richmond Town)
91-80-66604545
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Richmond Town
Bangalore, India
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Seafood...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is a seafood speciality restaurant in the backdrop of the Taj Hotel on Residency Road in Bangalore.

Definitely a lovely and exclusive place for authentic Indian Seafood; but very heavy on the purse; very over priced.

Good indoor and outdoor ambience,, clean restrooms...

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    60
    10
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
721 reviews 721 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
291 helpful votes 291 helpful votes
“excellent food, service, and ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our family of four had an amazing lunch here in late Dec 2012. Excellent south Indian food--- we had the thalis--- seafood and veg. Great service--- very attentive and helpful. Excellent location-- eating on the outside terrace under the umbrellas. Inside rooms also look cozy and well appointed. Higher prices than other places, but worth it for quality. Highly recommended! Then we went for coffee at the cafe in the main area of the hotel (Karavalli was closing for afternoon break), and servivce was horrible and so was the coffee. Definitely stick to Karavalii and avoid the hotel cafe.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore India
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Kerala food highlighted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Continues to be the leading place forKerala cuisine. ESP I the fish n prawn department! Of course we miss the founding chef who is practising his art in London!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hyped-up.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Went with great expectations - took some foreign visitors along.
Food wasn't that great.
The worst part, our visitors had a bad stomach the next day.
We keep this off our list for any future gatherings.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
297 reviews 297 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Seafood at its best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This is the specialty restaurant of the erstwhile Gateway hotel on Residency/Richmond road in Bangalore. This is best for the seafood delicacies

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karavalli also viewed

Bengaluru (Bangalore), Karnataka
Bengaluru (Bangalore), Karnataka
 
Bengaluru (Bangalore), Karnataka
Bengaluru (Bangalore), Karnataka
 

Been to Karavalli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karavalli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.