We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stopover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Purple Lotus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Purple Lotus to your Saves list
Purple Lotus
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   #46, 6th Cross, Lavelle Road, Bengaluru (Bangalore) 560001, India (Richmond Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
bedford
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice stopover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed here for two nights bed and breakfast in a superior room. Room was very large as was the bathroom. Nice clean hotel, just off main road but an easy walk to shops and large park. No lounge or bar but mini bar in fridge in room. Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krupashivarthy, Owner at Purple Lotus, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for the kind words and for taking time to submit you review. As a small boutique hotel, we rely solely on word of mouth and reviews. Hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

Krupa
Owner/Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    63
    14
    7
    6
See reviews for
36
56
49
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

In March 2013 we spent our first 4 nights at Purple Lotus and what a lovely introduction to India . We arranged a driver from Purple Lotus to meet us at Bangalore airport and he was one of the best drivers we experienced during our travels of south India. Purple Lotus is in a very quiet location yet central to shopping, restaurants and tourist attractions. The staff were always helpful and friendly. Breakfast was excellent with ample variety in a lovely relaxed setting near a pond and water feature. Nothing was ever a problem and the service was always excellent from all staff. The accommodation and facilities are very clean and well equipped. We had a room with kitchenette. Anything we did require was promptly delivered to our room. We returned to Purple Lotus for our last 2 days in India and didn't want to leave. The send off by the staff was very genuine and special. Had the same driver take us to the airport that picked us up. Thank you to Melville and all the staff at Purple Lotus for making our stay so special and pleasant. Hope to see you again in the future. We highly recommend a stay at Purple Lotus.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krupashivarthy, Owner at Purple Lotus, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for the kind words and for taking time to submit you review. We are glad you visited us all the way from Australia! As a small boutique hotel, we rely solely on word of mouth and reviews so it is great to read that you enjoyed your visit with us. Hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

Krupa
Owner/Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Purple Lotus is a sweet little oasis located in the heart of the city. It is a small boutique hotel impeccably designed to have plenty of indoor/outdoor green spaces, clean and functional but the real treat is dealing with the lovely staff all of whom were gracious and kind throughout our stay.

Do yourself a favor and stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krupashivarthy, Owner at Purple Lotus, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for the kind words and for taking time to submit you review. We are glad you visited us all the way from New York! As a small boutique hotel, we rely solely on word of mouth and reviews so it is great to read that you enjoyed your visit with us. Hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

Krupa
Owner/Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We just spent 11 nights at this little boutique hotel tucked away into a posh neighborhood of Bangalore. Amazingly you can't hear one peep from all the noise from the busy Bangalore traffic outside. The 11 nights we spent there was like being a guest in an exquisite mansion. The staff there goes out of its way to treat you like a very special member of the family. The rooms were quite functional and spacious with an excellent air conditioning and heating system and 32 in" flatscreen TV with over 50 channels. We were there to conduct business interviews during the late morning to early evening all of which were conducted in the downstairs lucious dining room which afforded much privacy or the upstairs roof garden which affords spectacular views of the city. We have stayed at some of the more well known hotel chains around the world for triple the rate we paid here but they could not hold a candle to the ambiance we experienced here. Would like to give special mention to some of the staff who made our stay the most productive possible: Front desk: Melvill, Roselind and Mr.Arumugam and Mr. Sukuman who was there to serve our every need.

Room Tip: Some rooms have enclosed patios which are very neat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krupashivarthy, Owner at Purple Lotus, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Josh,

On behalf of the entire staff, I would like to thank you for the kind words and for taking time to submit you review. We are glad you visited us all the way from San Diego! As a small boutique hotel, we rely solely on word of mouth and reviews so it is great to read that you enjoyed your visit with us. Hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

Krupa
Owner/Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at the Purple Lotus for two nights in January, our first stop on a journey round south India. This is a fabulous hotel in a quiet location, but central, close to restaurants, shopping etc. It has a beautiful restaurant by the lotus pond with a huge waterfall, the breakfast was good and the dinner we had downstairs (upstairs wasn't in operation) was great! We had a huge, quiet bedroom, bedside tables with lamps on both sides (why don't all hotels have this?). Windows that open, a clothes line in the shower, and all very clean and modern. There is a yoga room for use if you want it too. And it has wifi in the rooms and very helpful staff. Was a great introduction to India, not all were like this!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krupashivarthy, Owner at Purple Lotus, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
I would like to thank you for the kind words and for taking time to submit you review. We are glad you visited us all the way from Perth! As a small boutique hotel, we rely solely on word of mouth and reviews so it is great to read that you enjoyed your visit with us. Hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

Krupa
Owner/Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Purple Lotus Bangalore, is so neatly tucked away in a small lane off Lavelle Street that it's easy to miss! It's real value-for-money during off-season when the location and ambience feels so special at that price. The rooms are large, the decor beautifully minimalistic & contemporary and the hotel ambience serene & calming. During peak-season, it is quite expensive & not so unusual in that price category. The breakfast is quite basic and could have been better. It also has a rooftop restaurant that was unfortunately closed (perhaps because it was off-season). A definite yes, for its value during off-season.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krupashivarthy, Owner at Purple Lotus, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Joshimeera,

I would like to thank you for the kind words and for taking time to submit you review. As a small family owned boutique hotel, we rely solely on word of mouth and reviews so it is great to read that you enjoyed your visit with us. Hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

Krupa
Owner/Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

From the moment we arrived at this beautiful hotel, we were treated with the utmost consideration and courtesy. The staff at Purple Lotus was incredibly kind and attentive to our needs. They really went out of their way to make us feel at home. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable; it was just what we needed after my husband fell ill on the way to Bangalore - he was able to rest and recuperate at the Purple Lotus, and we were able to enjoy the rest of our trip! The room service was exceptional as was the breakfast downstairs. Overall, we had a wonderful stay at Purple Lotus and we would definitely recommend it to others!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krupashivarthy, Owner at Purple Lotus, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
I would like to thank you for the kind words and for taking time to submit you review and for visiting us all the way from California! As a small family owned boutique hotel, we rely solely on word of mouth and reviews so it is great to read that you enjoyed your visit with us. Hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

Krupa
Owner/Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Purple Lotus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purple Lotus

Address: #46, 6th Cross, Lavelle Road, Bengaluru (Bangalore) 560001, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bengaluru (Bangalore) > Richmond Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 385 B&Bs / Inns in Bengaluru (Bangalore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Purple Lotus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Purple Lotus is a family owned and run boutique hotel in the heart of Bangalore. We offer luxury at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Purple Lotus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purple Lotus Hotel Bangalore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Purple Lotus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.