We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best and affordable place to stay in Bangalore” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Purple Lotus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Purple Lotus to your Saves list
Purple Lotus
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   #46, 6th Cross, Lavelle Road, Bengaluru (Bangalore) 560001, India (Richmond Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“One of the best and affordable place to stay in Bangalore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

neat and affordable
Great furnishing
Modern look
Fantastic @ $30 per night.
The food is also very decent and mouth filling.
Although the restaurant closes at 10 pm which needs to taken care.
The location is little inside but that's ok as it offers you peace.
Lastly Bangalore weather adds to your stay and cool breeze blowing after touching waters of purple lotus pond is amazing.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krupashivarthy, Owner at Purple Lotus, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thir Mittal-

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience with others. As a family run boutique hotel, we always welcome feedback and reviews. We have considered extending our restaurant hours, but from a cost perspective it is very difficult to do so in the off-season when we have fewer guests. I will consider this however and I think you for raising the issue. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Bangalore.

Regards,

Krupa
Owner / Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    63
    14
    7
    6
See reviews for
36
56
49
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My wife and myself stayed for 2 nights. Delightful hotel, vey helpful staff. Rooms are good size, clean and tidy. Views are a bit limited as its in the middle of a city block but it was as quiet as Bangalor gets. Drive facilities are limited but OK (according to our driver). The only problem is the lack of a restaurant for rmeals and no pool or leisure facitites (They will do room service meals if ordered so all is not lost)

Location is 10 mins walk from UB city mall there are several restaurants there and a nearby Cafe Coffee Day. Overall pleasant spot in the middle of a city (no idea on price as it was part of a package), we would stay in again for a short duration stay, great for business but I wouldn't want a long vaction or family stay there due to lack of facilities.

Room Tip: Less than 20 rooms and all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krupashivarthy, Owner at Purple Lotus, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you for visiting us from the UK and taking the time to share your experience with others. As a small family run operation, we always welcome feedback. Please reach out if you come again and I'll ensure you get one of the higher floor rooms with a view of UB City. We do operate a restaurant, but from a cost perspective we find it difficult to maintain a chef and wait staff full time in the off season. We are, however, looking into the possibility. We hope that we can serve as your home away from home should you pass through Bangalore again!

Warmest Regards,

Krupa
Owner / Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Very good location, very good design (nice garden with some lotus as normal!), large rooms, efficient staff, good pricing (especially when you book thru internet)
Just one little point: breakfast could be improved!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krupashivarthy, Owner at Purple Lotus, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Hi Robert,

Thank you for visiting us from France and taking the time to share your experience with others. As a small family run operation, we always welcome the feedback. We hope that we can serve as your home away from home should you pass through Bangalore again!

Warmest Regards,

Krupa
Owner / Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waddell, Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The Purple Lotus is an exceptional hotel. My mother and I stayed here for over two weeks, and we were incredibly pleased with the location, service, price, and cleanliness. The hotel is located at the end of a small road which branches off from a main street. Although initially finding the hotel might be a wee bit difficult, it's worth it; the traffic in Bangalore was horribly loud, and the Purple Lotus' isolated location makes it a quiet oasis in a noisy desert. The room was large, well-lit, well-furnished, and tastefully decorated. The bathroom was squeaky clean, and the shower was always wonderfully hot. The complimentary breakfast was delicious, and the lunches and dinners were FANTASTIC...compliments to the chef! The staff of the Purple Lotus are the true gems; they were incredibly kind, helpful, polite, and knowledgeable. My mother and I were always pestering them with questions regarding the city/the best places to eat/sights to see/things to do, and each of our questions was met with a friendly smile and a thorough answer. The woman and gentleman who work the front desk during the day, the young man who works the desk at night, the gentlemen who assist with breakfast in the mornings, the gentlemen who clean the rooms, and both of the security guards deserve special shout-outs...THAT'S how incredible they were. I highly recommend the Purple Lotus...I doubt there's a better hotel in all of Bangalore.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krupashivarthy, Owner at Purple Lotus, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you for visiting us from the US and taking the time to share your very positive experience with others. As a small family run operation, we always welcome the feedback and it is great to hear all the kind words. We hope that we can serve as your home away from home should you pass through Bangalore again!

Warmest Regards,

Krupa
Owner / Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

I found this place online through Hotels.com. The reviews there and on Tripadvisor were all good. Travelling off-season and booking online I got a fantastic deal. Very modern and stylish. Clean, comfortable and in a good location near UB City and Cubbon Park. The staff is outstanding and the food in the restaurant delicious. The view from the rooftop patio is great.

My only beefs are the sketchy WiFi in my room and that sound really carries due to the prodigious use of concrete, tile and glass.

Overall, I highly recommend this place.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krupashivarthy, Owner at Purple Lotus, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Hi Peter,
Thank you for visiting us from the US and taking the time to share your very positive experience with others. As a small family run operation, we always welcome the feedback and it is great to hear all the kind words. I am sorry to hear about the wi-fi issues you faced -- I will look into which room you stayed in and check it out, perhaps we need to reposition our base stations or add another. Again, thank you for the feedback. We hope that we can serve as your home away from home should you pass through Bangalore again!

Warmest Regards,

Krupa
Owner / Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

A nice a well maintained property. Complete value for money. Ideal for business travellers.
Though they have limited rooms, better check in early and have room of your choice.

The only issue I faced is to locate the hotel. or to guide someone to find this hotel. I wonder why they didnt put a bigger Sign Board on the Lavelle Road to guide the visitors/guests. I spent over 10 mins searching for the location.

Room Tip: Queen Room and King Room is almost the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krupashivarthy, Owner at Purple Lotus, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you for visiting us and taking the time to share your very positive experience with others. As a small family run operation, we always welcome the feedback. I am sorry to hear about the issues you faced in trying to find our property. We continue to try and increase our signage, but the home owners on the street have not allowed us to place a larger board on Lavelle Road at the entrance. We continue to work with them, however and do appreciate your feedback.

The only solution for the time being is In our booking confirmation we always encourage guests to print a copy of our location as we are located off a side street in the city center. As you stated, it can be difficult to locate initially, but it can also be a blessing in disguise as the hustle and bustle of the city center seems to be insulated. Again, thank you for the feedback. We hope that we can serve as your home away from home should you pass through Bangalore again!

Warmest Regards,

Krupa
Owner / Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here on work for around 2.5 weeks. Really nice place. very quiet. Spotless rooms. Very good service. Someone is always around to help. the hotel is at the dead end of a small street. Very quiet by any city standards. Breakfast was good too. Several restaurants in walking distance. No problems at all. Will defintely use next time we are in Bangalore.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krupashivarthy, Owner at Purple Lotus, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you for visiting us from Seattle and taking the time to share your experience with others. I am very happy to hear you had pleasurable stay with us. We hope that we can serve as your home away from home should you pass through Bangalore again!

Warmest Regards,

Krupa
Owner / Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Purple Lotus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purple Lotus

Address: #46, 6th Cross, Lavelle Road, Bengaluru (Bangalore) 560001, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bengaluru (Bangalore) > Richmond Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 385 B&Bs / Inns in Bengaluru (Bangalore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Purple Lotus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Purple Lotus is a family owned and run boutique hotel in the heart of Bangalore. We offer luxury at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Purple Lotus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purple Lotus Hotel Bangalore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Purple Lotus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.