We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissatisfied” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fortune Park JP Celestial

Save Saved
You added Fortune Park JP Celestial to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fortune Park JP Celestial
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5/43 Race Course Road, Bangalore 560009, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 551 hotels in Bangalore
Anand, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Dissatisfied”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I was on this hotel in first week of December, 2013 while on a business trip, I was with my spouse. The hotel is located in a central location in Bangalore. The hotel rooms are of average size with small bathrooms. The bathroom was not clean enough and the toiletries were insufficient. The towels provided were not clean and heavily scented to prevent any bad smell. The staff needs a lot of training, as they were not prompt enough. The room service was poor, I had to ask them several times a day, to get the room cleaned once in a day. Coming to the restaurant, the food was spicy and the same food was repeated over the day. The reception area and Reception staff were nice. The only solace. They claim to be a 4-star property, but it is not. Will I stay there again ? No way.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPJPC, General Manager at Fortune Park JP Celestial, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor.I have taken note of the concerns raised by you and will take it up on a priority basis. We were also attempting to establish contact with you based the details provided by you in order to get a first hand account of your experience. I request you to share your contact details with us . Please treat this experience in isolation and give us an opportunity to be of service in future in order to demonstrate the difference.

Regards
Sanjay Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    86
    40
    10
    10
See reviews for
24
11
17
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Great location in the centre of the city but away from the madness of MG Road (not too far either). Amazing staff - they have kept the dinner going beyond 11pm once when my flight got delayed, always accomodated checkout/other requests. I have also held conferences there which went like clockwork. Good gym/other facilities, buffet dinner/breakfast with a wide variety of delicious food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPJPC, General Manager at Fortune Park JP Celestial, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to learn that you are happy with our product and services. I look forward to receiving you back at the hotel.
Regards
Sanjay Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Good check-in .. smooth..Lady at Reception named poornima very helpful.Was upgraded to a suite since lots of empty rooms were there due to Diwali day.. Rooms are adequate although could have been better for a 4 star hotel..food at Breakfast and Dinner was quiet good with variable dishes day on day....Good taste..Although had an argument when I was charged for a drink which was served when having dinner, was asked to taste it as a Chef's new taste, but was charged for it later on , which I think was atrocious as charging for tasting a drink offered !!!!!!... On my objection was refunded at reception!.. Barring this incident , it was good stay.. Staff are very Polite and helpful...one thing was strange that since jet airways have a tie up with this hotel for reward points, they said they had no IDEA ..of this..!!!!!

Room Tip: suites are quiet okay compared to standard rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPJPC, General Manager at Fortune Park JP Celestial, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to learn that you are happy with our product and services.I have taken note of your experience at dinner and taken measures to ensure it is not repeated. I look forward to receiving you back at the hotel.
Regards
Sanjay Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drvivekgarg
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Staying at Fortune JP celestial was like second home. Although I could spend only a few hours for a quick nap, but it was quite refreshing. The check in was swift even at the wee hours. The temperature was just perfect in the room. Overall it was a good experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPJPC, General Manager at Fortune Park JP Celestial, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Dr Garg,
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to learn that you are happy with our product and services. I look forward to receiving you back at the hotel.
Regards
Sanjay Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This is a typical busy downtown hotel like any other indian cities. Nothing special to call it Fortune in fact but location makes it 'Fortune' - as real estate is too costly. But interiors were somewhat better. Room given was large. Fruit basket was loaded. Large area of in-room dining table, bed was large with a 3 piece sofa set - one could nicely sit back and chat over internet. Free wifi for 4 hours. Bathroom cleanliness in south indian overall is poor as its mostly musty hot climate and hard water leaving deposits on marbles or sanitary ceramic wear in bathroom but they could make more effort or use suitable products. Unlike other fortune hotels - may be bacause its a franchisee (JP Hotels) a large Soap dispenser in shower and no individual toileteries. Good buffet breakfast menu but in fact dining room was crowded with waiters than guests as Many Indians have bad habit of calling everything on table when waiters are around and the concept of self-serve buffet just remains on sign boards. This should be discouraged. This is for a Busy business traveller and has no great views outside windows - thanks to the pathetic indian infrastructure planning. Many luxury hotels with nice standing were spoilt by government's horrific looking bridges and flyovers constructed too late and so close to residential buildings so vehicles may just one day hit your room window if they jump over the bridge.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPJPC, General Manager at Fortune Park JP Celestial, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to learn that you are happy with our product and services. We've taken note on your observation regarding the bathroom and working towards improving the same. I look forward to receiving you back at the hotel.
Regards
Sanjay Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Centrally located hotel in Bangalore. Nice and big sized rooms. Staff are welcoming. Being centrally located the hotel does not have a good view outside your rooms, though. Room service food should include some more variety of continental foods. Breakfast is the usual.
The plus was the room was spacious and the bed had a good sleep factor.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPJPC, General Manager at Fortune Park JP Celestial, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to learn that you are happy with our product and services. I look forward to receiving you back at the hotel.

Regards
Sanjay Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Location : Is in the middle of the city. And too much crowded.Looks like whole Bangalore has too much traffic and pollution. The road outside is too busy and too much noise.

Hotel: We to start with the hotel really does not look like its a Fortune hotel comparing to the ones in North India. The amenities are too old and quality for the same is also not good. The hotel surely needs a lot of renovation. Rooms look like built in 1970's. Everything in the room is too old. Also the walls are too thin. You can hear what is on T.V in the next room or people talking etc. , it was too disturbing. One cannot sit and work. The sofa in the room was dirty / T.V too small.

Food : I tried the breakfast & dinner buffet and both were below average. The quality and taste of the food needs to be much better. Plus i ordered mezze platter once and they served me Veggie pakoras in the name of falafels. Hummus didn't taste like it does in other parts of the World.The paneer was too hard in paneer tikka , loads of oil in some of the kebabs. Someone please look into the recipes used. The staff is fine and helpful.

Amenities : They have a small gym & swimming pool ( in the new wing) which was closed when i went.You really have to cross a bridge to go to the other wing and just outside the swimming pool was a kitchen. Too much dirt thrown outside was smelling really bad.

Wifi: 4 hours free per day works fine in the room.

The price they show online really does not justify the hotel quality. I booked good in advance hence got a better deal but still i was expecting Fortune quality and am really disappointed with the hotel.It is surely a black spot on Fortune.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPJPC, General Manager at Fortune Park JP Celestial, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Mr Sawhney,

Thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor.We have taken note of the concerns raised by you and will take it up on a priority basis to ensure a better experience in future.

Regards
Sanjay Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fortune Park JP Celestial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune Park JP Celestial

Address: 5/43 Race Course Road, Bangalore 560009, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bangalore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 551 hotels in Bangalore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fortune Park JP Celestial 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 4 Star hotel with modern facilities at the heart of the city next to Race Course Road and within easy access to the central business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Fortune Park JP Celestial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fortune Park JP Celestial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.