We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food & amazing ambience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ebony

The Ebony
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Ebony to your Saves list
The Ebony
40 Primrose Road | Off MG Road, Bengaluru (Bangalore) 560025, India (Richmond Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great food & amazing ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Went there with my office colleagues and some guests and luckily got a table with the city view.
The weather was perfect and we had a really nice evening.
The food which is a mix of different cuisines is fabulous and the service very attentive

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

First of all the view is good from the restaurant. No high buildings closeby and you get to see 180° view including metro.
Two veg starters and soup was served on table. And many dishes for the roties. All excellent taste. I loved the ratatouille (filled egg plant), methi gopi and everything. You have chats, salads, variety of deserts.
For sure, I will visit again multiple times for that excellent veg.food and deserts. And finally good service too.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Excellent place to stay in Bangalore, conveniently located, Helpful staff...clean room...everything was in order. The ambience was outstanding...Complimentary Breakfast was delicious.....I will definitely make it a point to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

After having a hectic day visiting all sight-seeing places and shopping, it was time we go for dinner @ Ebony in Bangalore for my foreign guests. We were provided the open terrace as I had booked early. We ordered drinks and starters but for the first time was surprised to see starters being provided before the drinks though they were delicious. I ordered the Roomali Roti which was new to my guests and they were happy and also withe side dishes. Food was great and tasty.Happy that they have a separate room for smokers which my guests didn't like but I do. The view from the top - looking at the Metro Trains was good. In total a fantastic experience to remember and re-visit.

Room Tip: Reserve advance so that you get the terrace else you lose the charm of the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

i went to the restaurant with my wife for lunch to celebrate our anniversary. They have buffet for lunch with a decent spread. The dessert was good. The USP of this place is that it is located right in the center of Bangalore, MG Road in the 13th floor. The view from the top is excellent and the wind just adds to the charm.

Off topic, reservation is highly recommended if a seat in the open terrace is desired.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

Here's an unexpected treat on the rooftop of a lurid city-center building. After the unpromising elevator ride up, you can dine alfresco and enjoy the best city views in Bangalore. Try the Parsi dish mutton dhansak made out of a combination of different lentils and served with brown rice. Another fantastic meat dish is Manan's pepper mutton; this comes from the temple town of Kumbakonam (Tamil Nadu), where Manan is the owner of a small eatery. The mutton is cooked in a paste made from roasted pepper, coriander seeds, and Indian spices. If you'd prefer to avoid meat, try paneer kairi dopiaza, made from paneer, green mangoes, onions, and fresh coriander; have it with garlic naan (bread). Thai food is served daily.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

Hi,

Ebony in Bangalore is one of the finest Hotels both for stay as well as for Lunch or Dinner visit. I had a Chnace to stay in this hotel for 2 days with my US Clients for the Business talk and had a nice experience staying there. Stay was bit on the costlier side but for the experience and facilities what i had staying there is much more cherrishable when compared to the Cost we paid.

Nice place to stay.

Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ebony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ebony

Address: 40 Primrose Road | Off MG Road, Bengaluru (Bangalore) 560025, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bengaluru (Bangalore) > Richmond Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 351 B&Bs / Inns in Bengaluru (Bangalore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook so you can book your The Ebony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ebony, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.