We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for day-out” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Anandadhama Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bengaluru (Bangalore)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anandadhama Retreat
Save
You added Anandadhama Retreat to your Saves list
Sangama, Mekedatu, Bengaluru (Bangalore) 562126, India (Richmond Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good for day-out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

It is a real nice place for day-out. Good adventure activities for a team outing. And really awesome place for people who like nature. But it is not like how it is potrayed in the website. Dont expect as much as its given in the website. For people who want night-out should choose a totally different place because there will be no power in the night and its too hot and creepy in the night. Food is not that great. It is neither north indian nor south indian which makes it weird to taste.

Room Tip: Choose villas if you opt to stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Was very skeptical after reading the below review. We were a group of 18 people with 2 infants. I have been to many luxury resorts and normal ones and the strong review below scared me as I am not used to discomfort at all and with an infant with me was very apprehensive about this trip. But trip was finalised and since many were involved took the risk and got the best investment any risk can give.
The villa I stayed had 2 rooms with large dining and living. Impeccably clean and neat.The welcome was warm, and guides were more than helpful. Very friendly staff.
Not so great activities, but the place is heaven surrounded by forests, lake, hill and river. What more can you ask?
It is pure veg with alcohol and smoking not allowed. You dont need these to get high if you go there. The location is brilliant and stay is quite comfortable.
FOOD is delicious to say the least. Most of the resorts even hugely popular ones have just ok food, but here its awesome.
Some things that can be improved are Room service, intercom in the rooms.
But who would want to sit in the room at this retreat? Its really nice and hope it stays the same.
The massage was good, but a little pricey. But it was in the late evening, outdoors and one of the most pleasurable experience.
It doesnt have a lot of activities, but its a great place to unwind and relax.

Room Tip: Luxury tents and Villas are good. the main Villa is just awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Just returned home with one thot that i will write this review before others are duped

Stayed there for a night and just reached home, The place is done well, Tents are good, Heritage Villa is good, low level staff are the real people who are running the show here, and with their capability and knowledge although they sure are putting a very honest effort, the results are DISMAL due to the overall organizational failure.

Food-BAD(rather horrible, although the tea and breakfast was V.Good, just that you wont want to kill your day for a tea and some snack..

AC doesn’t work, remote is not available – I am fuming coz yesterday was a very hot day there and it was way humid than Bangalore on the same day, couldn’t understand why but that’s how it was

Room service - NONE, after 11PM there is NO ONE to assist you till morning 5AM, that too you will have to put an effort to find them in the day time

No power from 12 to 6PM, they don’t run generators, to hell will your comfort etc. I still got it but after a real hard talk with the guys there, poor chaps, I have nothing against them but the place was baling hot and they refused even fans, forget AC which was already in a bad state


The only guys who are running the show are one a guide/help called Govinda and one some supervisor, both are incapable of handling the most humble clients, forget the demanding ones, and its not their fault, the problem is here is basically no qualified person is planted there to handle guests.

Come night, and you are in a spooky jungle on your own, there is practically no help, nothing. and they don’t have intercom, telephones.... add to it, mobiles dont work, wow. If you dare to go to the staff quarters you will be bullied by their dogs.

So all in all i would not recommend this place for anyone, please avoid this place unless this is the only place in the world you can visit, its way below the mark and is just NOT HAPPENING...

Room Tip: just dont go there guys, still if you want to spoil a hard earned vacation, go for heritage villa. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

On Sep 2010, we visited (22 people) visited this place for team outing. It is around 120 Km from Bangalore (Domlur). It took us around 3 hrs to reach there with 1 break (30 min). Around 2 kms there is ghat section and the roads are quite good after the rain. Be careful and slow while driving because you will be passing through lot of villages. If any doubt for the route ask for Mekedatu.
Before entering to Mekedatu you will find one sign board to take right turn and from there the retreat is another 2.5 km. This is the place where you have to pay the jungle charges also.
Once we reached there we were welcome through welcome drink (jal jeera) and we were given 2 cottages made of bamboo and hay. Nice cool place but if you are used to fans and ac then probably you will not like it. Then they gave us the briefing and we went for jungle trekking. We crossed Om Hill and went to river cauvery for swiming. One of our friend who pretend himself that he knows swimming he tried to swim in the current of the driver. Suddenly he lost control and he was drowning. Other friends tried to help him to come to the bank but could not. Seeing his facial expression the people from Anandadhama - expert swimmers saved him. We thank God for that. Around lunch time 1.30 PM we came from the river and through there Gurukul (nice place to see where 60 students are studying) we went to the resort and got ready for the lunch. It was a good vegeterian lunch. (non-Veg people - this is purely vegeterian resort). Then they took us for all their activities like Archery, Tarzan Jump, Beam Balancing. Free Fall, Ditch jumping. After this cocrale boat driving to river Cauvery where we tried to locate some crocodiles but it was not in our luck to see them. By then it was evening and we took our tea and snacks and got ready for the return journey. Overall it was a very good place and we all enjoyed. The place is very clean with no plastics. Spa is also available.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

It is on Makedatu, which is 120 km away from the Bangalore city. Once we reached there, we got a welcome drink & we took two cottages (lodges), & in each cottage they had four beds & they were nice & clean. The lodges are made up of bamboo & hay which is very cool. Then we had been briefed about different activities. We started with the jungle trekking & then crossing the Om hills, we went to river Kaveri for swimming. Around lunch time we came out from the river & went to Gurukul, where 60 students were studying and they then explained everything about the Gurukul. Then we got lunch which was vegetarian in that resort as non veg was not available in that resort. After lunch we were taken on different activities like Archery, tarzan jumping, balancing beam, free falls, pitch jumping. Then in the evening, we were taken to boating in the Cocral boat. After boating, we were given tea & snacks. Overall, it is an eco-friendly place to stay. Spa is also available at additional cost.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anandadhama Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anandadhama Retreat

Address: Sangama, Mekedatu, Bengaluru (Bangalore) 562126, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bengaluru (Bangalore) > Richmond Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 516 Specialty Lodging in Bengaluru (Bangalore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anandadhama Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.