We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different Accomodation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Olde Bangalore Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Olde Bangalore Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Olde Bangalore Hotel & Resort
4.0 of 5 Specialty Resort   |   206 Utopia | Tarabanahalli, Chikjala, Near Bangalore International Airport, Bengaluru (Bangalore) 562157, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
bangalore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Different Accomodation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

The only idea of staying in luxurious tents tempted us. The tents are excellent. The rates are very high and the class is missing. They have lot of day packages which are taken by companies, so the resort is buzzing with these day users, so there is no privacy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    55
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
33
17
6
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
BANGALORE
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

we stayed in this resort for a two day training camp. The caravan type tent accomodation is a new experience. The ambience and the surrounding is very beautiful and refreshing. Has all the facilities like swimming pool, walking tracks, greenery!!, restaurant, meeting and conference halls etc and all are well maintained. The central building built in typical old Bangalore buildings style with red bricks, open yards, central open yards and old painting reflects real flavour of old bangalore. Even though the tariff is bit high, I think it is worth spending for a relaxed stay, away from a typical hotel atmosphere. The quality of food is very good and the staff is very helpful and fast. WHoever prefers a relaxed, comfort stay, should try this place. Very near to the airport and a walk in the morning in the adjoining country atmosphere is really an experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We had office picnic to Olde Resort in Bangalore. Very well maintained and discrete place, in other words it’s a reminder of an old Bangalore!

Yummy food, excellent hospitality, big resort with all the facilities! It’s located near Bangalore Airport.

It’s bit expensive resort, certainly great option for corporate get-together. If one can afford it, certainly great idea for family outing as well.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with room at Olde.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We stayed for 4 days during our official trip. A very nice resort to stay with plenty of activities like swimming pool, badminton, shooting targets, etc etc.
They have beautiful tents with all modern facilities like Split ACs, TV fridge, Wifi Access points, wooden flooring etc etc inside a tent.
We enjoyed the stay and the gala dinner ceremony which was organised at the resort's centre garden with camp fire and coctails..
Must see the pics I have clicked, I am sure you can also plan for your office conferences in such a wonderful resort.

Room Tip: All rooms (tents) are same
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We were a group of 4 couples with kids. Checked in on the 5th October 2011. At the time of check in they offered a tariff of 11000++ less 20% per night for one deluxe tent with 2 double beds for 2 couples. During check out they made a bill at much higher price saying that their colleague during check in had made a mistake and offered wrong price. We refused to pay extra, we were tired & kids were cranky, just wanted to go home but they kept arguing and made us wait for one hour before finally resolving the issue. I read an earlier review with same tariff problem. Must be their regular tactics beware!
They have so many rules and regulations, you wonder why you paid so much money to stay here. Caution NO room service because their tents will get spoilt!! 
No drinking in the pool. No main course will be served by the pool side, we had to fight to get it served there. Very bad service and attitude problem. All the waiters huddle inside and nobody comes to take orders near the poolside table. Kitchen closes at 3pm, we had come to the resort to relax and wanted to have a late lunch but were hassled by the waiter to order lunch fast else kitchen would close. We were in the pool and ordered a bottle of Beer(650ml bottle) they left the bottle on the table, no glasses, need to wait for waiter to come again so that you ask for glasses and beer is warm by then. Ordered a bottle again, this time they delivered the bottle and took away all the used glasses, again beer on the table but no glasses. They claim facilities are free, but for Badminton you need to pay Rs. 50 per shuttle cock or you can play with the plastic cock. Asked for the tea and coffee sachets to be refilled in the tent. After one hour they come to room and say cannot do; as no room service (they thought we were asking for tea & coffee). Staff does not understand English and hence these communication problems. Tents, pool and property very good/beautiful. Vegetarian north Indian Lunch was tasty. South Indian Breakfast was very bad.  Lying on the grass in the garden opposite the tents watching beautiful birds was awesome. Very beautiful flowers on the property. Good kids play area.  Rifle shooting was fun. Our group Spent more than Rs. 30000 for one day stay. A resort is a place where one comes to unwind, so definitely need room service and no stupid rules please. Hotel should inform the rules & regulations in advance at the time of booking. They definitely need better trained staff.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldeBangalore, Owner at Olde Bangalore Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2011
COMMENTS FROM THE MANAGEMENT

A thorough investigation has been carried out by the management at Olde Bangalore and the following, documented facts have come to light:
The booking was made on the telephone, as stated, for 8 adults and 5 children on Quadruple occupancy in our Deluxe tents. A 20% discount was also agreed to by the GM, as a special case. However, the tariff charged was for 2 Deluxe tents, one on a triple occupancy and the other on Twin Occupancy (with 20% discount and a complimentary late check-out by 6 hours) – AN ERROR OF OVER Rs.6000/-. The error was sought to be corrected the next day but as the guest was adamant on paying only the tariff for 5 adults, the Front Office Manager agreed to the guest’s request. The bill paid was only for 5 adults though 8 adults and 5 children stayed and had breakfast with us. The guest’s contention of an earlier such incident is right but its explanation, too, is attached on the site. We would like to add that these are stray incidents that happen because of a lack of proper communication on both sides. Remedial steps have already been implemented.
Yes, the guests did fight to have beer and main courses served in the pool – we did serve things pool-side but IN THE POOL is unimaginable. Since this is not a normal practice in any quality pool and is absolutely forbidden because of the very high hygiene and safety standards at the Olde Bangalore Resort, my staff were very reluctant to obey the guest’s orders. We rarely flout any rule that has been prescribed by the government, though we do find some of them inconvenient. I don’t really see why people cannot follow simple rules!
As for Room Service, the guests were aware there is no room service at the resort when they checked in. The inclusions were the stay, breakfast and use of in-house recreational facilities. The Food and Beverage outlets have timings as per government regulations. All our food is fresh and generally authentic but we are willing to accept that the South-Indian dish ordered (Idlis) may not have been to the guests’ liking.
Our staff are pretty well-trained and do deliver an outstanding product. Yes, about 20% of our over 125 staff members (mainly, in back-of-the-house areas) are not well-versed in English but they are learning. If you go to France, Germany, China or Russia, over 90% of the staff know no English but as Indians, we do not make much noise about it. We still try to get our point across. It may be pertinent to inform guests here that as part of our genuine CSR efforts, over 90% of our staff come from small villages around India and we have continuous English classes at the resort to make sure they can communicate better and improve their lot. WE ARE VERY PROUD OF THEIR LENGTH OF TRAVEL. We are also proud that over 99% of our patrons feel that we have some of the best-behaved and friendly staff in the world – please read through the several hundred guest comments available at our front-desk.
Olde Bangalore is what it is – a gentle place reminiscent of the Bangalore of our childhood – slow-paced, quiet, elegant and honest. I really wish this guest had called a member of the management before airing such one-sided views on a high-impact public site like TRIP ADVISOR.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Wanted to unwind in the weekends with friends. The day out experience was really nice. Hospitality of the staff was very good and every one was more concern about our enjoyment there. Food was very very good with elborate and lavish menu. Lot of purity in the ambiance. Other facilities are well maintained. Very good experience and would like to visit again..

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

With the long weekend during Independence Day coming up and I having missed on most options like Coorg, Kabini as I was caught up in work, I had no option but to look for some place near Bangalore. Having read about Olde Bangalore and seen the photos in the gallery, I decided on this place. Our troubles started from Check In. I had asked for a 2 night package in their Suite size tents for 2 adults + 1 kid. I was given a wrong tariff and found that I had to pay extra. They gave me the Deluxe rooms which have 4 beds and are costlier, but still asked me to play extra for the child, which is ridiculous.
To top it, they kept confusing between Continental and American Plan, were not sure of what I had to pay extra. It was 3 PM by the time we had checked in and we headed for Lunch as we were all hungry, and 15 minutes later, were still waiting for the waiter to get us water to drink and take our order. More confusion follwed as the Reception goofed up on the American and Continental plan. We ordered food. The soup was pathetic (very sour) it was tomato soup :-( BTW, and the Paneer dish was very greeeeeen, looking like something coming from a swamp or something.... Saving grace was the dessert. Dinner was good and the service was better and we were beginning to think that it was just initial troubles and gave them the benefit of doubt. Our problems started next day. We were having breakfast near the pool and there were people who were smoking , which in today's India is not allowed, but no amount of complaint to the Hotel Management stopped it. We were asked to go and sit elsewhere. If that was bad, lunch time was hopeless. Lots of smokers sitting and puffing away to glory, while the Hotel management was looking on and telling people who were non smokers to go and sit in some corner...I had thought that smokers today are supposed to have a separate corner, not non smokers :-(. The service at Lunch was pathetic. We asked for warm water to drink,as my wife had a cold but no one turned up for 20 minutes. No one cleared the soup plates, the main entree plates. We had to clear it ourselves to make space for the next course and the food was barely average. No crange and choice in menu either. In the evening the problem worsened with loud music and disco being played from 6:30 PM onwards. It was some Air Force Marshal's child's engagement party apparently, but this should not be at the cost of torturing the other guests on the property. The music was so lound that we could not hear ourseleves speak in our tents 500 metres away. We kept calling the hotel management requesting it to be turned down, but our protests fell on deaf ears. Apparently the music had made them deaf. :-( It was only when I threatened to check out, they cam over and promised to have it shut down by 10 PM. Even by 10:30 it was not shut down and when I had to threaten a law suit against them, then the hotel management got the people to shut down the music. To top it all, they had commandeered the entire space where dinner is served. Needless to say, we could not have dinner till 10:30 PM when the "wise folks" in the hotel management called me and asked me to come over for dinner. To eat what? The left overs from the party and that too at 10:30 PM, when my children were so hungry. We had taken the holiday to have some peace of mind, but were left with only a piece of mind as we had to give the hotel folks a piece of our mind :-)
Needless to say we will never ever go back there again and will advise people also not to. They are exorbitantly priced (35 K for 2 nights) :-( :-( :-(, extremely poor in customer service (you do not have people clearing tables, waiting 40 minutes for getting luke warm tea) and top it all are not customer friendly. The only saving grace is the rooms and the way the place is maintained. But for this price, I can go to Kabini, Orange County, Coorg, The Serai, Club Mahindra and get better value for money. Olde Bangalore...nothing olde or nostalgic about it...better avoid it like the plague

Room Tip: All the Rooms are good, but the pricing is ludicrous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldeBangalore, Owner at Olde Bangalore Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2011
COMMENTS FROM THE MANAGEMENT

A thorough investigation has been carried out by the management at Olde Bangalore and the following, documented facts have come to light:
The booking was made through a travel agent and was meant for only a couple. The inclusions were the stay, breakfast and use of in-house recreational facilities. However, the guest arrived with 2 children, one above 5 and the other, above 12. The guest requested for a bigger accommodation and tariff was charged for this accommodation on a triple-sharing basis with a nominal charge for the fourth person. The guest was aware of all tariffs before he arrived at the resort. There was no overcharging – in fact, a good discount was given. The tariff charged and signed by the guest was for a Deluxe tent on CP Plan ( only breakfast included). All tariffs are also available on the net.
The order for lunch was taken in exactly 11 minutes after the guest entered the restaurant and this time includes perusal of the menu and deciding on their choice – the KOT with the guest’s signature and timings are available. The guest ordered ‘Roasted Tomato and Spinach Soup’ which is supposed to be sour – the Cream of tomato soup, if ordered, would have been sweet. ‘Hariyali Subz Paneer Korma’ was ordered by the guest and it was a natural green as we do not use colouring agents or lighten it with unnecessary cream. All dishes on the menu have a brief description.
A resort on a week-end will have guests who smoke outdoors. All indoor areas, including the restaurant, bar, seminar rooms, etc. are non-smoking areas. On this occasion, the guest opted for the self-service buffet for 2 people, which does not entail table service – it is meant to reduce pressure on the service staff.
There was a separate Engagement Party for one of the Generals of our Indian Air Force and in true Indian fashion, there was music playing. The music was cut off at 2230h as agreed upon earlier with the General. We can’t be expected to make such an important occasion in a girl’s life a sombre event. This is, however, not a usual occurrence at the resort – it did not happen on the first night that this guest stayed here.
All in all, this unfortunate incident could easily have been avoided if the guest had cared to read the Personalized Service Document sent to him by the travel agent who had booked him into the resort. Thousands of entries in our Guest Service Register bear testimony to the great hospitality, cuisine, ambience and bonhomie that guests have enjoyed here. We truly appreciate the dozens of calls we have received from well-wishers shocked at the malicious intent with which this posting has been made on a public web-site.
We will now be advising the guest to render an unconditional apology for this gross misrepresentation of facts on a very public and high impact website in such a cavalier fashion. [ All documented proof (with signatures of the guest on each of them ) are being sent to the guest in a 2500-word document as findings of our thorough investigation to make him realise the extent to which he has twisted facts and misrepresented them. ] As soon as this is available, we will post it on the website, too.
We would like to assure our patrons that nothing has changed at the Olde Bangalore Resort – the food is still great, the service just as warm as before and the pace, just as relaxed as you have always wanted! We sincerely apologize for the embarrassment caused to all of us through this very callous posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Olde Bangalore Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde Bangalore Hotel & Resort

Address: 206 Utopia | Tarabanahalli, Chikjala, Near Bangalore International Airport, Bengaluru (Bangalore) 562157, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bengaluru (Bangalore)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 516 Specialty Lodging in Bengaluru (Bangalore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Olde Bangalore Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coming to Olde Bangalore (pronounced as "Old Bangalore") is like taking a slow and lazy trip back in time - hard to imagine something like this in the middle of a city gone wild! Waking up to bird-song and retiring to the sound of silence are luxuries now available only miles away from habitation, unless you are at Olde Bangalore. As the cool breeze of nostalgia wafts through your mind, prepare to soak yourself in the soul of a Bangalore. Come, let us pamper you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Olde Bangalore Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olde Bangalore Hotel And Resort
Olde Bangalore Hotel Bangalore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olde Bangalore Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.