We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place, Very good hospitality and Unique Food. Must visit.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olde Bangalore Hotel & Resort

Save Saved
You added Olde Bangalore Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Olde Bangalore Hotel & Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No 206 Utopia | Tarabanahalli, Chikjala, near Bangalore International Airport, Bangalore 562157, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 551 hotels in Bangalore
Bangalore, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place, Very good hospitality and Unique Food. Must visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Wanted to unwind in the weekends with friends. The day out experience was really nice. Hospitality of the staff was very good and every one was more concern about our enjoyment there. Food was very very good with elborate and lavish menu. Lot of purity in the ambiance. Other facilities are well maintained. Very good experience and would like to visit again..

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    45
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
27
14
6
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

With the long weekend during Independence Day coming up and I having missed on most options like Coorg, Kabini as I was caught up in work, I had no option but to look for some place near Bangalore. Having read about Olde Bangalore and seen the photos in the gallery, I decided on this place. Our troubles started from Check In. I had asked for a 2 night package in their Suite size tents for 2 adults + 1 kid. I was given a wrong tariff and found that I had to pay extra. They gave me the Deluxe rooms which have 4 beds and are costlier, but still asked me to play extra for the child, which is ridiculous.
To top it, they kept confusing between Continental and American Plan, were not sure of what I had to pay extra. It was 3 PM by the time we had checked in and we headed for Lunch as we were all hungry, and 15 minutes later, were still waiting for the waiter to get us water to drink and take our order. More confusion follwed as the Reception goofed up on the American and Continental plan. We ordered food. The soup was pathetic (very sour) it was tomato soup :-( BTW, and the Paneer dish was very greeeeeen, looking like something coming from a swamp or something.... Saving grace was the dessert. Dinner was good and the service was better and we were beginning to think that it was just initial troubles and gave them the benefit of doubt. Our problems started next day. We were having breakfast near the pool and there were people who were smoking , which in today's India is not allowed, but no amount of complaint to the Hotel Management stopped it. We were asked to go and sit elsewhere. If that was bad, lunch time was hopeless. Lots of smokers sitting and puffing away to glory, while the Hotel management was looking on and telling people who were non smokers to go and sit in some corner...I had thought that smokers today are supposed to have a separate corner, not non smokers :-(. The service at Lunch was pathetic. We asked for warm water to drink,as my wife had a cold but no one turned up for 20 minutes. No one cleared the soup plates, the main entree plates. We had to clear it ourselves to make space for the next course and the food was barely average. No crange and choice in menu either. In the evening the problem worsened with loud music and disco being played from 6:30 PM onwards. It was some Air Force Marshal's child's engagement party apparently, but this should not be at the cost of torturing the other guests on the property. The music was so lound that we could not hear ourseleves speak in our tents 500 metres away. We kept calling the hotel management requesting it to be turned down, but our protests fell on deaf ears. Apparently the music had made them deaf. :-( It was only when I threatened to check out, they cam over and promised to have it shut down by 10 PM. Even by 10:30 it was not shut down and when I had to threaten a law suit against them, then the hotel management got the people to shut down the music. To top it all, they had commandeered the entire space where dinner is served. Needless to say, we could not have dinner till 10:30 PM when the "wise folks" in the hotel management called me and asked me to come over for dinner. To eat what? The left overs from the party and that too at 10:30 PM, when my children were so hungry. We had taken the holiday to have some peace of mind, but were left with only a piece of mind as we had to give the hotel folks a piece of our mind :-)
Needless to say we will never ever go back there again and will advise people also not to. They are exorbitantly priced (35 K for 2 nights) :-( :-( :-(, extremely poor in customer service (you do not have people clearing tables, waiting 40 minutes for getting luke warm tea) and top it all are not customer friendly. The only saving grace is the rooms and the way the place is maintained. But for this price, I can go to Kabini, Orange County, Coorg, The Serai, Club Mahindra and get better value for money. Olde Bangalore...nothing olde or nostalgic about it...better avoid it like the plague

Room Tip: All the Rooms are good, but the pricing is ludicrous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldeBangalore, Owner at Olde Bangalore Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2011
COMMENTS FROM THE MANAGEMENT

A thorough investigation has been carried out by the management at Olde Bangalore and the following, documented facts have come to light:
The booking was made through a travel agent and was meant for only a couple. The inclusions were the stay, breakfast and use of in-house recreational facilities. However, the guest arrived with 2 children, one above 5 and the other, above 12. The guest requested for a bigger accommodation and tariff was charged for this accommodation on a triple-sharing basis with a nominal charge for the fourth person. The guest was aware of all tariffs before he arrived at the resort. There was no overcharging – in fact, a good discount was given. The tariff charged and signed by the guest was for a Deluxe tent on CP Plan ( only breakfast included). All tariffs are also available on the net.
The order for lunch was taken in exactly 11 minutes after the guest entered the restaurant and this time includes perusal of the menu and deciding on their choice – the KOT with the guest’s signature and timings are available. The guest ordered ‘Roasted Tomato and Spinach Soup’ which is supposed to be sour – the Cream of tomato soup, if ordered, would have been sweet. ‘Hariyali Subz Paneer Korma’ was ordered by the guest and it was a natural green as we do not use colouring agents or lighten it with unnecessary cream. All dishes on the menu have a brief description.
A resort on a week-end will have guests who smoke outdoors. All indoor areas, including the restaurant, bar, seminar rooms, etc. are non-smoking areas. On this occasion, the guest opted for the self-service buffet for 2 people, which does not entail table service – it is meant to reduce pressure on the service staff.
There was a separate Engagement Party for one of the Generals of our Indian Air Force and in true Indian fashion, there was music playing. The music was cut off at 2230h as agreed upon earlier with the General. We can’t be expected to make such an important occasion in a girl’s life a sombre event. This is, however, not a usual occurrence at the resort – it did not happen on the first night that this guest stayed here.
All in all, this unfortunate incident could easily have been avoided if the guest had cared to read the Personalized Service Document sent to him by the travel agent who had booked him into the resort. Thousands of entries in our Guest Service Register bear testimony to the great hospitality, cuisine, ambience and bonhomie that guests have enjoyed here. We truly appreciate the dozens of calls we have received from well-wishers shocked at the malicious intent with which this posting has been made on a public web-site.
We will now be advising the guest to render an unconditional apology for this gross misrepresentation of facts on a very public and high impact website in such a cavalier fashion. [ All documented proof (with signatures of the guest on each of them ) are being sent to the guest in a 2500-word document as findings of our thorough investigation to make him realise the extent to which he has twisted facts and misrepresented them. ] As soon as this is available, we will post it on the website, too.
We would like to assure our patrons that nothing has changed at the Olde Bangalore Resort – the food is still great, the service just as warm as before and the pace, just as relaxed as you have always wanted! We sincerely apologize for the embarrassment caused to all of us through this very callous posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Olde Bangalore is vast! For someone who comes from claustrophobic Mumbai, it's especially so! The biggest thing going for this resort of course is its incredible proximity to the Bangalore airport. Yet its quiet, secluded and peaceful. Since I went during May, it was quite warm during the day but I am sure it would be terrific in the winters. I stayed in one of their tents which was superbly appointed and classy in an 'olde' fashioned way. The tents are really special and is a unique experience as opposed to long hotel corridors and cookie-cutter rooms. The service is quite good and so's the food - especially the south Indian stuff. The grey granite blocks that are used extensively in the hotel can be a little depressing - it's not an architectural marvel. Given the space, it could have been ethnic yet modern with courtyards and natural light. Still, Olde Bangalore is a good enough, relaxing place to chill for a day or two...

Room Tip: The tents are a refreshing experience. May be expensive, but try them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DXB
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

Most people turn up here on business as part of corporate training jigs that are routinely hosted here. However, the serene location, almost evangalistic eco-friendly nature of the community, the MANIC attention to detail, cheerfully friendly staff and the extremely well-maintained faclities make it ideal for a family getaway too.
Just 5 minutes from BIAL, yet it could be on another planet altogether - those who lived in Bangalore in the laid '70s and the cheerful (and not so busy) '80s will instantly identify with the place.
Atmosphere, architecture, layout, food, accomodation - this place challenges established expectations on each of these counts.
That said, there are some irritants - things that can be quickly fixed. It took 3 visits from maintenance to get the wireless Tata Walky phones in the rooms to work. Then the TV refused to work when my son tried to watch his toons - not much of a worry because we werent there to watch TV, but a failure all the same. The bicycles on the resort are direly in need of maintenance - my guess is that they arent used very often by guests, but that shouldnt be an excuse. Besides these minor issues, the food, service, accomodation (WoW!) and all other facilities are really commendable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

The primary reason for staying at this place was to facilitate an early morning departure from Bangalore as this place is just about 15 mins from the airport. We were really happy with the choice in the end. Spread over a lovely green patch, this is a welcome change from the over-crowded city. It does give you a great chance to unwind and rejuvenate the senses before the travels ahead. The Caravan - tent styled living areas are beautiful and cozy. Would definitely recommend this place.

Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

Simply put, Olde Bangalore is an excellent place to stay, best we have ever stayed in so far. While, we had to cut our trip short the 1 day we spent was fantastic. The food, service, staff, the complex are supperb. Its a perfect weekend getaway for a couple / family. Theres a large pool and tented cottages, th AC are not that effective but that can be overlooked with the other benefits that come along with the place.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

I had booked through IRCTC. Initially I booked for 2 days and had extended for another 2 days. It is different. Simple. Tranquil. Has state of art facilities in the tent. Fit to have leisure and should do nothing to enjoy. You can forget the rest of the world.

No health equipments for doing routine excercise.
Food quality: You can have only at restaurant. Room service not available. Limited choice/variety. Don't expect
South Indian food especially in the evenings. Access only by car (private conveyance). Hotel can arrange for taxi. Personal safe to secure your valuables overnight will ensure sound sleep.

If you go as a team of minimum 10 you can have excellent time.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Olde Bangalore Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde Bangalore Hotel & Resort

Address: No 206 Utopia | Tarabanahalli, Chikjala, near Bangalore International Airport, Bangalore 562157, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bangalore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Bangalore
#36 Luxury Hotel in Bangalore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Olde Bangalore Hotel & Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise in Bangalore. Recently ranked no 1 resort in Bangalore. Just 15 minute drive from Bangalore International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, MakeMyTrip, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Olde Bangalore Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olde Bangalore Hotel And Resort
Olde Bangalore Hotel Bangalore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olde Bangalore Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.