We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool and relaxing place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peshagar Guesthouse

Peshagar Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Karnataka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Peshagar Guesthouse
Save
You added Peshagar Guesthouse to your Saves list
Anegundi, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 1,008 Karnataka B&B and Inns
Chambery, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cool and relaxing place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Very nice stay in Anegundi at Peshagar guest house.
Rooms are simple but clean. Hot water available on demand, but not necessary due to the climate in Karnataka.
People were here very nice and did their best to help us in organising our journey around Hampi.
A very good idea is to ask them bicycle to freely explore the countryside.
We asked women from the TKT to craft dresses from the Saree they were selling. It was very nice to see wears getting to life from expert hands. A very good souvenir.
Defintely a good place to enjoy your trip to Hampi out of the fury of touristic places.

Room Tip: Prefer the rooms on the right side when you enter, they are further from the mosque...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jodhpur, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We first got to read / hear about the place from an article in Outlook Traveller. Since, the place suited our budget and was run by a trust, we decided to give it a chance. To our delight the place was well connected to Hampi, maintained and picturesque. Clean rooms, nice backyard, peaceful locality, serene terrace and warm people is all we could have asked for to start our vacation.
Since, ours was a trip planned last minute, we did not have travel booking to go to Hampi. Basava, the manager was extremely helpful from booking alternate travel tickets to arranging pick up / drop, arranging guide, mope on rent, drawing route maps, etc etc, basically everything and anything we asked for.
Siraj, the other TKT member was equally welcoming, helpful and forthcoming. Answering all our questions, inquiring about our day, ensuring that we had a memorable stay; he even took us to the local artisans.
The caretaker (apologies for forgetting the name) also was equally nice, understanding and prompt. Kept the property neat, gave us enough privacy, all our meals were served clean and hot.
We were told, the food there is prepared by self help groups of local women. The cook(s), whom we did not get to meet prepared best of local cuisine and in the most tasteful manner (wish I could learn the secret of her cooking).
Although the washroom and dining areas were common yet all of them kept spic and span everyday. The floor was re-done everyday with local disinfectants giving it a traditional Indian village feel (we stayed there for one night and two days)
There were many high points in the trip - guest house, river, moped ride, food, sunrise, birds, "Mango Tree" restaurant, "Nandi" in the river, the obvious - history of Hampi... etc..the list is endless.
The only glitch being lack of power back up and pest control at the guest house. eg There were ants in the room, however, those were promptly and properly taken care of.

And, the only regret being, we did not stay there for longer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Having stayed in JLR near Hampi in August this year , I chose to stay in a less touristy place on my second visit in September with two others.I stumbled upon Peshagar when I called to make enquiries about Shama's Cottage . Sriraja who answered my queries told me about Peshagar - a village homestay run by the same people connected with Shama's Cottage.

The photos of Peshagar on the internet showed it to be charming and clean. And since it was situated in a quiet village - I chose it. I was a little concerned about the shared common bathrooms and the reaction to this of my fellow travellers .I need not have . We enjoyed the stay thoroughly and I would recommend it for a certain kind of traveller whole-heartedly .

The village was quiet and NON -touristy ; the home was as charming and clean as the pictures promised; the shared bathrooms were big , clean and well maintained. No problems about the shared since we were the only guests staying there ..and there are 4 bathrooms to share ! There was a small lovely courtyard in the back where one could relax and read or eat one's meals. We went for a walk after our dinner through the village and it was relaxing. The atmosphere on the whole was one of quiet restfulness.

The food was a high-point - cooked by a lady in the village whom we unfortunately did not meet - simple delicious non-oily and using a wide range of vegetables . Two guests asked for and ate a dry chicken dish for one meal and pronounced it good. Simple wholesome tasty fare. The only thing i would avoid the next time is the coffee . Stick with tea if you can .

Service was excellent - quiet and unobtrusive and as interactive as you care for .The young men who run the place have easy manners, and are affable and speak fluently in many languages including english. It is not a koi-hai kind of place and would suit those who like a homestay+

Now the two possible downsides to the experience - one avoidable and the other not ! the unavoidable one - electricity disruptions happen and if one is particular about using a fan all the time this would not work well . However we even took an afternoon nap without a fan , and had dinner by candlelight , preferring this to wasteful running of the generator. They will be getting an invertor shortly in lieu of the generator but ....

The other downside which is the avoidable one was the "guide" arranged for us . The gentleman was good tempered and willing to follow our interests but was eminently dispensable . His knowledge did not match his temperment or the history of hampi and it's neighbourhood. I would recommend that at 1500Rs a day - which is what we paid for him- one would be better off buying a good guide book or trawling the net for a better informed guide and arranging it independently.

I was also not happy about being pushed by the Peshagar host to take the coracle ride + auto option to tour Hampi when teh option of taking our car to Hampi , touring around the sites and leaving from there to Bangalore was much the better for us time-wise. We patiently explained this twice over to our hosts and stuck to our plans.

So I would recommend Peshagar highly for folks who like a quiet village homestay away from the tourist routes with the plus of excellent service and food ; and then are willing to do a little homework beforehand on what they desire to do and gently insist on it .

I rate it very good not for the frills that a more resort like place delivers but for pluses that resorts/hotels are not set up to deliver and which Peshagar does in good measure.

Room Tip: not a room tip - but a hot water tip - please let them know if u need hot water for your bath a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

This is one of the guesthouses of the Kishkinda Trust. We found the house to be simple (as expected), but very clean. And the house manager was a wonderful guy - friendly helpful, and interesting

But we expected more from the fellow who I think is supposed to be in charge of the tourist program of the Kishkinda Trust. He was unprepared, unpleasant, and seemed to be connected in a rickshaw mafia scheme. He didn't meet us to arrange the cultural programs that the website claims, then he scolded US for being late.

However, we had an interesting visit, as we met several interesting people who who working on other (non-tourist ) programs, one of whom set us up with a local guide who we enjoyed very much.

If the Trust wishes to run a community tourism project, they need to do two things. First, find a person to run the program who is genuinely interested in connecting tourists with Anegundi. Second, make sure that all the claims on the website about programs are easily arranged.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peshagar Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peshagar Guesthouse

Address: Anegundi, India
Location: India > Karnataka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 1,008 B&Bs / Inns in Karnataka
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peshagar Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.