We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience the Exotic World..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gorukana

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Karnataka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gorukana
Save
You added Gorukana to your Saves list
BR Hills, 571441, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 1,479 Specialty Lodging in Karnataka
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Experience the Exotic World..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

It is one beautiful place to stay and relax...we had so much fun staying in the Tree house..though we had visited the place in Feb the weather was too good and the Tree house was the right pace to stay in..Hospitality is one awesome thing..The People were so kind..We loved the food..Early Morning walk,Bird watching was the best..
we had absolutely no problem reaching the destination and the road was all good..we had a warm welcome too..I suggest people to visit this place could really be a stress buster!!!..

Room Tip: Choose a cottage or a Tree house near by the Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    54
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
28
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

You have to go there to experience this pure bliss! All the cottages are so beautiful & aesthetically designed. I must say these picture perfect cottages have been decorated and furnished with great care.
This place is perfect for wildlife photography, bird watchers & nature lovers...and also perfect for lazy chit chat with friends... :) but please maintain the peace of the place too!
Very nice hospitality, friendly people & management staffs... food is not bad. they arranged the jungle safari & nature walk, tribal village tour etc.
So Gorukana- highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The moment we stepped in over there, all our trauma of pollution, tension, aches carried over from Bangalore just disappeared. Had been with my family - husband and 2 sons. The place is amazing and I really liked the architecture of the cottages built. What I liked the most is - NO TV !!!
We got lost in the nature and it really brought in peace and tranquillity. The hospitable staff and the naturalists are worth mentioning. During the ride in the jungle we spotted - bisons, barking deer, dhol (wild dogs), elephants and many varities of birds. Worth the money you spend. Would surely visit next time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Gorukana has been the perfect place for us to relax, revitalise ourselves and get life back into perspective. Being right in the forest with nature and happy,kind people was just the tonic we needed. This is a place of unspoilt nature and beauty. Surrounded by trees and lakes it attracts elephants and the most beautiful birds and wildlife. Waking up to the sound of nature and surrounded by trees and blue skies is nothing less than perfection.

The staff here are kind and generous with their time and attention. As we get to know them better we have gained more and more respect for what they have achieved in just two years, employing local people from the villages, giving them opportunities to learn and widen their horizons. People here care for what the centre stands for. The massage treatments are second to none, provided by original and authentic masseurs to a high standard. We keep going back for more!

Excellent in every way.

Room Tip: All cottages have open views. We stayed in the treehouse which we would definitely stay in again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were 12 adults with 2 kids us who visited this place on 25-26Dec12. One of the quickest and mostly easily planned trips as it was all done in the spur of a moment, thanks to Vinod from the resort who helped us on this.
The Place: I have been to so many places around Bangalore on weekend getaways and trust me, BR Hills is the best I've been to so far. Initially when I decided on this place, all I thought was it would be a boring experience as there is nothing much to do. But I was pleasantly shocked and surprised; the place has so much to offer. It’s one of the untouched tourist place, zero commercialization and there are houses which have still do not have basic electricity or water. It’s a wonderful experience to see through the daily life of Soligas tribe.
The Resort : A shocker of an experience (in a good way). When you visit the place, you will admit the resort looks so much more better than the pics they have in their website. Well planned and laid out. The path way is lit up, no insects and its in the midst of wilderness with silver oak trees welcoming us. Its very difficult to spot this place from the main road as its totally lost in the woods and is so beautiful.
The Accommodation : We took one tent house and one cottage. And yes, all 12 adults and 2 kids comfortably stayed in these 2 rooms. Tent house is large enough to accommodate 5 adults – there is nothing like trying to adjust coz there is that much of space available. If there was a greedy real estate broker, he would have even sold the space per sqft coz there is that much to it ;) . And if you thought tent house was big enough, you’ll be surprised with the cottages coz it can accommodate even more. Cottages are like log huts built in 2 levels, ground and mezzanine. These are even more big and have beautiful tall glass windows that open to man made pond. All the cottages and treehouse open to the man made pond. Now to the bathrooms.. they are clean, dry, well maintained and most important – functional! In the entire accommodation, we loved the bed linen, comforters, toiletries and towels that were provided coz they were absolutely clean like the ones we get in a 4 star hotels. Truly impressive!
The Food: Yummmm! I wouldn’t call it the best but at the same time it was no where close to being average or bad. You will relish the food. There is a good spread right from soups, starters, more options in veg to a couple of options in non veg to desserts. So good spread and delicious food.
The Activities : This is the best part, all of this in included in the price itself so its upto you to make use of this. For kids, there is a play area, there is a separate coffee deck where you can have drinks and watch a movie. There is a guided nature trek coupled with bird watching. I’m not into birds but I actually enjoyed it. Very enlightening, infact I was more amazed with the knowledge our guide – Jeddiah had. During this nature walk, you get to walk along the Soligas tribe houses and see how their daily life is, do not miss this as its unbelievable to see there is a place that still has no water or electricity for a living. Then there is a cultural event done by the local Soligas tribe coupled with camp fire in their amphi theatre. There is also a Spa by the pond which offers ayuvedic massages at a price. This resort is connected to an NGO that provides free schooling and medical help to the locals. The resort offers a free visit to this place, its so inspiring to see how the place is maintained and self sustained. Do visit this one for sure.
To wrap it up, this is a five star accommodation in a forest with the most hospitable people around. U definitely can plan a corporate visit here. This is trip is more than just the resort .. the place itself thats mesmerizing.. I hope it remains untouched from commercialization as it is today.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, India
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Gorukana is a great place to wind down with friends & family. The cottages are comfortable and the daily buffet spread is good. The staff are friendly to a fault. If you love birds this is a great place to stay as within the property and around the area you can spot many varieties of birds. BR Hills also is blessed with abundant wildlife (Tigers, Bears, Gaurs, Deer etc.) that you can watch even while you drive to the resort. The naturalists of Gorukana are very knowledgeable and nice. There is also a cultural program by Sholiga tribals in the evenings.

Room Tip: Pick a cottage near the water body.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We were in gorukana on a weekend, its perfct place for relax and to be with nature.
Early morning nature walk was wonderfull, Awsome location , freindly staff , nice food.Thanks to the staff who made our stay memorable.

Room Tip: lake side cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gorukana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorukana

Address: BR Hills, 571441, India
Location: India > Karnataka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 1,479 Specialty Lodging in Karnataka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Gorukana Hotel Bandipur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gorukana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.