We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; good service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Padma Guest House & Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Padma Guest House & Hotel to your Saves list
Padma Guest House & Hotel
Fort Road, Leh 194101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 127 Leh B&B and Inns
Matlock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great location; good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed at the Padma [the hotel part] for three nights in mid October before starting a trek, and one night when we returned. We liked the location, with an excellent view of the mountains and a lovely garden. The room was fine. We enjoyed the hot water and central heating, and survived the power cuts. Free wifi was a welcome extra, although it only worked intermittently.

Room Tip: Decide whether to stay in the hotel [relatively expensive but better facilities] or the guest house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    41
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
32
63
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Friendly and helpful staff, Good rooms (in hotel).Always hot water. good food in restaurant. We used their touring agency and were very satisfied. Highly recommended. Good location.The garden which occupies the area in front of the hotel has both flowers and vegetables.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Hi, Nice place, very similar to the Oriental Guest House, but south of leh. Easy to reach the market, a little less pleasant to walk there in the dark. Hot water always available, no-trills. The option is ok, but not the most convenient thing ever, there are better priced options north of town. Staff is pleasant and nice. you wont have any trouble here. .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful three nights staying at Padma Guesthouse.Staff were so friendly and very helpful, as they also helped us organise our trip and acommodation to the Nubra Valley.
Accommodation was basic but very clean, with lovely hot showers....always!
The restaurant was great, especially through the day though a bit nippy at night, so rug-up.Food was very good, lovely and fresh from the beautiful garden on site.
Just loved their new family addition....Little Puppy!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

During a 3 week visit to Leh in Sept 2012, we stayed at Padma 4 times. After each excursion from Leh to other sites in Ladakh we returned to Padma without the need to consider other alternatives....convenient location, very good and comfortable rooms (plentiful hot water), extremely helpful staff, good food etc. etc. etc. Special mention to the travel desk and restaurant for all their help and sustenance.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms on the second/third floor and each as good as the other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

In total I stayed 3 days at the hotel compound of this combi hotel-guesthouse (so no review of the guesthouse part).

Pro's:
- good value for money (although there are better priced options in de near vicinity). A no-nonsense hotel (do not expect a four star hotel)
- room was fairly spacious, beds were comfortable.
- two comfy chairs outside each room on the outside walkway
- satellite television
- hot water
- very helpful staff (I returned two days earlier from my trek than scheduled, there was no room available but staff transferred me with no hassle to a nearby hotel)
- reserved directly via their web form, including airport pickup. Airport pickup was there although my flight was slightly delayed.

Con’s
- Power load shedding in Leh. There was only electricity – and thus also internet & television – from aprox. 18:00. Apparently, Padma is planning to install a generator but I – understandably – do not expect it to run 24/24.
- Wifi signal was to weak for reception in the rooms ( a couple of wifi repeaters might provide a solution)
- Many wild dogs in Leh, providing dolby surrounding sound at night (tip: bring earplugs.... or a shotgun)

They only have an open roof top restaurant. During summer a pro as one has a very nice view towards the mountains on the opposite of the Indus valley and temperatures remain comfortable (after sunset with a pullover). During winter, I suppose the view remains but you will freeze your b*lls off.
Restaurant food was good but not world class. Helpful staff though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Padma Guesthouse, is a nice, clean place to stay in Leh. It is near to the town centre, and has a very friendly staff. They understand the needs of their customers perfectly and helped us with finding good trips and they work with excellent drivers.
The food in the restaurant is very nice and it is served by a friendly guy. If we ever go back to Leh we will certainly stay in Padma again!
Bert and Meriam

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Padma Guest House & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padma Guest House & Hotel

Address: Fort Road, Leh 194101, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Leh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Padma Guest House & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Padma Guest House And Hotel
Padma Guest House & Hotel Leh, Ladakh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Padma Guest House & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.