We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Charming Hotel in a Mountain Setting--at least at First View ...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Palace Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Leh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Palace Hotel
Old Road Sheynam, Leh 194101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 47 hotels in Leh
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A Charming Hotel in a Mountain Setting--at least at First View ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We spent a few days at this greatly expanded hotel in mountainous Leh, the capital of Ladakh. At first sight we were very much taken by the mostly successful mixture of local craftsmanship and modern architecture--but (as we say in German) the devil is in the details ... . Although the rear building, where our room # 507 was located, cannot have been more than 2 or 3 years old the plumbing was disastrous: All the faucets were dripping, the shower stall (quite modernistic, it seemed) was simply pushed into a corner of the room and not sealed against the wall so that the bathroom floor was flooded after the first use. Beyond that the rest of the (older) portion of the hotel was all right--considering that it is located at more than 10.500 feet in the mountains the place is certainly all right.

Room Tip: The new addition in the rear of the hotel has the better rooms--as long as the plumbing has been str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    2
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Landsmeer, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Reasonably good hotel with large well maintained garden with plenty of seats. Spatious lobby. Large nicely styled patio. Friendly staff but be aware of bakshish requests by some of the (non active) supervisors of the porters. Neighbourhood so so. Half hour walk (uphill) to the city centre/bazar but you can take a taxi.
Reasonably large and clean rooms without airco but with big fan. Not all windows have mosquito grids. Large bathroom without (in our case) plumbing defects. Hard bed matress Good restaurant with excellent service. Very frequent power cuts (no generator back-up in the rooms).

Room Tip: Rooms on street side and ajacent fallow field are noisy because of traffic and barking errant dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

This is a fairly simple hotel built around a lovely garden area, where you can enjoy a drink in the sunshine. The rooms are clean and well equipped, although having water in the room would be a nice touch.
The availability of hot water and electric was a bit hit and miss, but I think this is the same for other hotels in Leh as well. We were disappointed about the lack of internet connection, as this is advertised on their website.
The location is about 10 minutes down hill from the market, but it is a good way to test your stamina on the first day at altitude, and there is a hotel car which can run you up there.
But where the hotel scores highly is the food and the service, both of which were excellent

Room Tip: The electric supply in the main building is a bit more reliable than the buildings on the other side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

good and comfortable. It was new place , little bit tensed , but environment gave much comfortable as native place. With that confidence I could stay there and enjoy the outing with childrens. The room bed and table arrangemnent was good. Good quality food. The location is reachable and convenient for all knid of people.Toaaly the trip was comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

The hotel is just a few minutes drive from the main shopping area, which is a very good thing if you are visiting Leh to get away from the din of the cosmopolitan cities around the world or to meet nature in its harsher shades.

Built around a central garden area, the whole place has an air of spaciousness about it. I had a room on the fourth floor of the hotel, which offered an un-interrupted view of the snow covered KhardungLa on one side and the ChangLa on the other. The room was larger than that of most other hotels, comfortably well furnished, and gave a feeling of warmth and comfort at first glance. The only disturbing factor here was the water-boiler on the roof which made unearthly noises in the early hours of the day.

Designed and decorated in the traditional bright Laddakhi style, the hotel is as neat and clean as well managed. The staff is prompt and efficient, your call gets responded to in not more than three rings of the telephone and the task attended to promptly. I made a odd request which was sort of beyond the call of duty and the reception staff was genuinely happy to help out. The service staff is well-trained, courteous and alive to your needs.

The restaurant once again is well managed, serves a fairly good selection of vegetarian and non-vegetarian dishes, and the menu changes on a daily basis. Quality of food is at par with most restaurants in Delhi, but watch out for the day they have "local cuisine", that was one night I had to top-up with snacks from the larder in my backpack. If you are travelling and need to get "packed lunch" from the hotel, try out their "continental" which is quite a treat.

All said and done, a good hotel and definitely well worth the price.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

We went to Leh this summer with one more couple. Our rooms were already booked and we directly went to the hotel. We were given a very warm welcome, and complimentary tea on arrival. I was take to a room, from which i didn't like the view much. After i raised my concern, the room was promptly changed to a room with a better view without any questions.
The rooms were clean, and cozy. The bathroom was also clean, and was maintained properly every morning.
The location is also ok, as the market is at a walking distance. But the walk is uphill.
The rates are reasonable, and seem like value for money.
One thing needs special mention is the helpful nature of the people at reception. I want to thank one of the managers called Zubair for helping us throughout in preparing our itinerary, and arranging taxi for us, and taking good care. I needed a bike on rent and he arranged for that too from one his friends at a very reasonable rate.

The only downside was the cost of food. But as the market is quite close, one can go till there and choose from wide range of options.

In all, a good place to stay, and value for money hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2005

This is a new local style 35 room hotel on the main road (Old Road Sheynam)towards the center of the town. About a 15 minute walk to the beginnings of the market (uphill). We had a wonderful roof top room with windows on 3 sides, open to the cool breeze (3 rooms up there). Best was the roof terrace with chairs and tables under an shady awning to temper the hot sun. Temples and snowcapped peaks on all sides. Breakfast in the room/terrace if desired to watch the sun light up the peaks. Great service all around (staff migrates to Goa hotels in the winter); generator for when the Leh town electricity fails; clean and comfortable. Nice small gardens under apricot trees. In the evening the sounds of a creek over the wall. Food was tasty & varied (buffet style) each day. Ask for room towards the back since street front rooms will be noisy. Call ---. Manager is Salim Khan. With more than 30 trips to India under my belt this was one of the more enjoyable hotel experiences...not an Oberoi but well worth the $70US

Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palace Hotel

Address: Old Road Sheynam, Leh 194101, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 47 hotels in Leh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Royal Palace Hotel Leh, Ladakh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Royal Palace Hotel to your Saves list