We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“memorable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Himalaya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Himalaya to your Saves list
Grand Himalaya
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Sankar Road | Chubi, Leh 194101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Leh
Rohtak, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“memorable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

i visited visit Leh with my fiends and stayed at the Grand Himalaya where I received such warm welcome and hospitality from all people working in the hotel.rooms are having nice view & big room located in next building, hot water is available 24hrs, wifi internet available only lobby area, sometimes electric power come and gone but torch light was provided,S.T.D. calls were complimentary as u can't find network for ur mobiles.all the staff was very co-operative and helpful,my stay was awesome,we enjoyed their warm hospitality.the hotel is awesome and worth your valuable vacation. special thanks to THE OWNER and to all the staff also,good taking care during my stay,making my stay memorable.:)

Room Tip: book rooms facing hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    17
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pune
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Let's admit - Nobody goes to Leh to stay at their hotel. It's the sights and journeys around Leh that are worth writing home about. That said, Grand Himalaya does leave a mark with the friendly service and the warm hospitality. The staff deserves a special mention, they will ensure that you are well cared for!

We had gone on a biking tour and spent 2 nights at Leh and I was very pleased with the staff. We were put up in the newer building and the rooms were spacious and airy. The hotel is just downhill of the Leh palace, and the hotel terrace offers a splendid view of the Shanti Stupa.

Would definitely recommend to anyone staying over in Leh.

Room Tip: When staying in the new/annex building, a room closer to the older building will give better wifi re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The rooms are the best in whole Leh, spacious and with amazing views of Leh Palace and the Himlayas. The staff is very friendly and will make you feel at home, only bad thing is that they wake up early (6am) to start cleaning the hall so there was some noise. Besides that there's nothing bad about it. The breakfast was good as well as the room service. Will always stay there if I'm in Leh.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BKK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

It was during Aug 9th-13th, 2013 when my first visit to Leh at the Grand Himalaya where I received such warm welcome and hospitality from all people working in the hotel. the food was fantastic despite dinner started little bit late at 8.00pm. I spent 2 nights at super deluxe room on 2nd floor with nice view & big room and 1 night at a just deluxe room which is located to next building, hot water is available 24hrs, wifi internet available only lobby area, sometimes electric power come and gone but torch light was provided. Bottom line, the hotel is fine and worth your valuable vacation.

special thanks to Mr. Kuldeep Rana, manager of the hotel for a good taking care during my stay and the captain in the restaurant, who always asked me if everything is "ok" :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The Grand Himalaya makes an excellent base in Leh. The rooms are big, clean and comfortable, the water is always hot, the staff are very friendly and willing and the hotel is just a stone's throw from the centre of Leh and the Old Palace. When we were dining, the staff were particularly attentive and made sure that we felt welcome and were looked after. The choice of thumping-beat music one evening wasn't so good for eating to, but dd help blot our the noise of an Italian tour group. The other noise hazard (not the hotel's fault) was a regular dawn chorus of most of the stray dogs in Leh, but we got used to that. We'd happily recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Definitely one of the better hotels at Leh. I was at Leh just a week back,with my parents and we loved this place. All those mentioned in the above comments are definitely services offered without flaw by the management of the hotel.

But apart from all good things, the worst bedding ever. Back aches and weird pains at weird places greet you every morning of your stay. Add to that disturbed and turbulent sleep. But other than that, great food, services, hospitality. And overall a 3.5 star rating is what I would give. It's going o at a while to cross the 4 mark.

Well Done! Keep it up!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

It was my first visit to Leh Ladakh with a group of 20 & I stayed at Grand Himalaya for 4 nights (seems less now)! This property is located at a walking distance from market area. Clean rooms, 24 hours hot running water, amazinngggg food & excellent hospitality is all what this A+ hotel is all about!! This is one of the very few hotels with lift elevator inside. Free access to WiFi (with two backups!) Hotel staff is very friendly & helpful. The staff did their every bit to make it memorable for us!! Be it the arrangement of cultural program, the amazing delicacies or the bonfire.. Every little detail was taken care of!! We had asked for a common seating area for Karaoke game for our group, they offered their presidential suite to us where we had a gala time. I truly appreciate the hospitality!! I visited almost 9 hotels in Leh and this hotel has at par services & staff that can easily beat a 5 star in town side!! They will always greet you with a welcoming smile each time you meet. If I visit Leh again I would only stay in Grand Himalaya (or maybe I will plan to stay only in Leh for a long weekend just to spend quality time with my family at this hotel since this is just an hour away from Delhi by flight) & would recommend the same to the rest. Thank you Zia, Sajid, Dai-ji, Kuldip, Kumar and all the staff for all your efforts put in! If you ever come to Leh, make sure you stay at Grand Himalaya at least once & spend an evening sipping varieties of tea they serve chit chatting with Ziya & Sajid. They make amazing company with the experiences & chats they share..I miss this part the most about my stay here :-) Keep rocking guys!! Thumbs up! :-)

Room Tip: Choose any room, you will get a beautiful view either of Stok or Leh palace or Shanti stupa or the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Himalaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Himalaya

Address: Sankar Road | Chubi, Leh 194101, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Leh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Himalaya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Himalaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Himalaya Leh, Ladakh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Himalaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.