We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel for the price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Omasila

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Omasila to your Saves list
Hotel Omasila
Chanspa, Leh 194101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Leh
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel for the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

After 2 nights in a different hotel, we moved here and enjoyed very much the 9-8 days we spent in Leh. It's a local family hotel (not those foreigners that took over the town). The owner is very nice, attended and helpful (tours, etc.). The room was quite o.k. with a wonderful view to the garden. We spent a lot of time in the big garden - many flowers, fruit trees (which the owner let us pick) and mountainous landscapes. The most important: no need to climb from/to hotel because it's on the same level of the important parts of the town. Anyway, we liked this Changnspa road so much, that we hardly went to the main bazar. So many restaurants, cappuccinos, German bakeries, information centers, shops and bike-rents...

Room Tip: only main building! try to avoid ground floor central rooms (we have been there) because toilets win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    55
    15
    4
    0
See reviews for
29
43
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Many rooms in that quiet hotel. The view is great. A long and wide terrace with some small rooms to get your privacy after sunset, friendly staff. We spent 2 nights and enjoyed our stay to rest after our baby trek

Room Tip: The rooms facing the terrace have a beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, Uttar Pradesh, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We traveled to Leh after a long and tiring journey from Manali. It was the month of October and the season was almost over for the locals. Omasila Hotel is a beautifully located place with mountain-facing terrace and green gardens. You cannot possibly expect a better morning with sun rises from snow-clad hills.

The hotel assistants are predominantly females and they are readily there to help you. Because foreigner tourists occupy the major part of the hotel during the season, the buffet is less spicy.

Overall, good experience, though hotel staff seem to care less for the Indian tourists when they realize the season is almost over.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

One of the best place to stay in Leh. It was open when all the other hotels denied accommodation during October (since it's not the season time). Food quality and the service was pretty good. Mr. Nawang Tsering and Phunii were very cooperative and took care of all our travel details. All the permits and hotel bookings @ Nubra and Alchi were done well in advance. Overall I am very satisfied with my stay in Omasila.

Abhishek

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I support all good reviews. In addition:
1. The owner, Mr Phunii is an extremely kind and calm, yet most skilled young person. During our 9 days in Omasila he managed all our excursions in Ladakh, gave us many good travel tips and fulfilled all our fancies including bringing the wonderful folk dance group to the garden. It was a pleasure to be with him as he embodied a peaceful nature of Ladakhi people.
2. Two young waiters in the restaurant - Magesh and Vijay - did an outstanding job in making us happy with their kindness, sense of humor and superb service. Magesh (who came from Karnataka state) on our request served South Indian breakfast one day (idli, wada etc.) which was well-cooked by the kitchen staff and was greatly appreciated. Breakfast and dinner were always good with changing variety every day.
3. The lawns and the patio are very peaceful places with superb views - they were the perfect setting for our daily Yoga asana practice (see the photo).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Difficult to add to previous reviews. Stellar service. Well appointed and CLEAN rooms. Beautiful views and a lovingly maintained garden with ample seating. Breakfasts were hearty and served with a smile.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Very well run hotel. Amazing view, clean, with excellent food. The beautiful garden is the ideal place to relax and get used with the high altitude. The hotel is placed far enough from the dusty and traffic polluted down town. The people at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Pick a room with the garden and mountain vew.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Omasila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Omasila

Address: Chanspa, Leh 194101, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Leh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel Omasila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omasila Hotel Leh
Hotel Omasila Leh, Ladakh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Omasila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.