We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ladakh Greens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Ladakh Greens to your Saves list
Hotel Ladakh Greens
Lower Tukcha | off Old Fort Road, Leh 194101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 135 Leh B&B and Inns
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Warm hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

The best thing about my stay at Ladakh Greens was the amazing hospitality extended by the entire management and staff of the hotel.

They made sure I had everything I needed but also helped me to plan my trips including arranging permit for Pangong as well as a taxi at a very fair price.

The rooms were very comfortable and clean and the room service was quick.

I'm looking forward to staying there again next year!

Nakul

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    11
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
16
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

My travels took me to Leh not during peak tourist season, which led to really good rates around town and truly intimate service. While staying at Hotel Ladakh Greens we saw the start of the organic garden get planted for the summer season, we ate breakfast surrounded by beautiful snow capped mountains and the company of two sweet cats and one fluffy puppy, we were treated like royalty by the lovely people running this sweet magnificent establishment.

Our stay in Leh was brief, and our agenda open. The staff of Hotel Ladakh Greens coordinated economical daily outtings and networked various services around town.

The chef of the hotel has a delicious repertoire . . . we tried to stick with the Ladakhi cuisine. . . and experimented beyond Thupka. Honey lemon ginger tea became a daily staple for us.

The blankets in the room were warm. We opted for a heated room. . . as the daily temperatures were quite chilly.

The one rough patch that we hit. . . which I could see happening most anywhere was on our last day. The water heater seemed to go out, which made bathing a bit of a challenge. And the internet went out, which made check out and paying with plastic impossible. We were able to use the ATM in town to sort our bill. . .

When traveling to a remote mountain area- these sorts of things are not exactly unexpected.

All in all, a lovely stay, in a lovely place. . . far far away from the hecticness of the city.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuwait
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

A small hotel with a lovely little garden to while the time away. Lovely service and great advice. We used their drivers for a number of trips as they were negotiable on the charges. The hotel is off a side street about 10-15 minutes walk from the town which may or not be a problem. The road leading to the hotel is pretty dark and there are lots of stray dogs around, a torch is necessary. The internet was quite intermittent, not sure if it was a general problem in the area or if it was a problem specific to the hotel.
Oh, the beds are extremely hard!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is a great place to stay in Leh and the USP of the place is its service and hospitality. We've traveled to quite a few places but we were still struck by the genuine pleasure with which we were served and greeted. The hotel's owner, Ang Chok and his team took pains to ensure not only that we felt at home, but also took care of us when we suffered from high altitude sickness in the first couple of days. They were also very reasonable in negotiating the travel tours and the car provided by the hotel was of very good quality. The kitchen also provides simple but delicious food and we are grateful for the flexibility they showed in serving us our meals. The only minus point is that the market is about a 20 minute walk away (if you walk slow) but this is more than made up for by the surroundings; the hotel grows its own veggies and its very refreshing to walk around in the garden. When we do go back to Leh, we will return to Ladakh Greens.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

A good place to get used to the altitude as it is nice to hang around in the garden.
The food is really excellent, that we almost took all meals there. We really did not feel the need to go somewhere else.
Staff is friendly and helpfull. Rooms have a good standard for Leh. It is around 15 minutes to the center on a road with not too much traffic, as a result it is also much calmer then in central Leh.
Frequent power outages and internet failures make the WiFi hit and miss, but we found that this is an overall problem in the region.
Overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Looking on the map, you might find this hotel a bit far from the city.. But once you arrive, distance is not the big problem at all. Not only that you can reach the market within 10 mins (or less) on foot, but you also can enjoy fresh air and peaceful ambient from your balcony of the nice room, which is hard to find from hotels in the market... . I will definitely go back to this hotel next summer! Papa (hotel's owner) and his sons are really awesome! Foods, milk chai tea, milk coffee served by Raj the chef are superb! Driver of the hotel is amazing and helpful! (Thank Dashi for the safe trip! He knows when he can accelerate!) Hot water is running 24/7.. Wifi is pretty fast when there is electricity.. Guests who stay at the hotel are also nice.. Everybody had good food with great conversation.

Thank Hotel Ladakh Greens for our perfect hideaway from the city trip!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joburg
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to stay in Leh! It's a short walk from the hippy, touristy main drag, quiet with lovely views over gardens towards hills. The bedding is nice white cotton with divert and blankets. There's hot water shower available all the time, and wifi whenever it's available in Leh (connection is intermittent). The staff are that great combination of unobtrusive and helpful. The breakfasts are the best we've enjoyed at any hotel in Ladakh, fruit salad, omelettes with a bit of flavour. Cannot recommend highly enough.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ladakh Greens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ladakh Greens

Address: Lower Tukcha | off Old Fort Road, Leh 194101, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in Leh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Ladakh Greens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ladakh Greens Leh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ladakh Greens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.