We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Decent Good Hotel in LEH” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spic n Span Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Spic n Span Hotel to your Saves list
Spic n Span Hotel
Old Road, Leh 194101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 51 Hotels in Leh
Bangalore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Decent Good Hotel in LEH”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Firstly, Ladakh is a place of heaven on earth. It is a life time expereince to visit Ladakh and get mesmerised in its beauty.
I had the wonderul opportunity to visit ladakh this July and happen to stay for 4 days in Spic N Span hotel in LEH. Trust me, it is a wonderful hotel in this small place comparable to any good 3 star and above property elsewhere. Rooms are quite big and decent. It is pretty clean and toilets are also maintained well. Also, the restaurant there serves amazing food. Even though , i am strict vegetarian, the options were really well and tasty. They also serve amazing tea. One more intresting thing, i had the opportunity of witnessing local ladaki dance in the evening on the lawns of the hotel. Totally, a big thumbs up from my end to this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    44
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
23
21
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

The property is located in heart of the city with walking distance from the main market in Leh.
The rooms are clean and hygienic, service level of the staff is also good. Food is also good.

This would be one of the better hotels in Leh, basically value for money

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Recently we stayed in this hotel for 5 nights. We had booked 3 Super deluxe rooms but manager Mr. Manzoor upgraded us to Family suites. All staffs there are very helping & polite. Mr. Manzoor also arranged all our travel arrangements very nicely. Its breakfast is superb & all restaurant staffs are always smiling while serving. Its location is also very convenient & short walking distance to main market. We will like to stay in this hotel again & again.

Room Tip: Pls try to get rooms in their new wing with lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Beautiful hotel with a a lovely garden for eating breakfast. The service is not charming, hot water does not always work and I would not trust the internet. But it is a problem of the whole area. A very very beautiful and suitable for a romantic trip.

Room Tip: ask for a garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I've traveled to Leh with two companions last July and we stayed here for three days. I commend them for great hospitality, elegance and a spacious rooms. Situated in the heart of Leh, the commercial capital of Ladakh, it's very near the touristy spots and shops. The hotel staff are all very courteous and helpful! I'll give them a star!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Had read the reviews on Trip Advisor before booking. Since we went during peak tourist season, many hotels were not available.

We had booked the family suite for 2 couples for 4 nights. The suite was comfortable but did not have a any view. Also the suite rooms did not have very good ventilation , so we moved to their deluxe rooms for 2 nights which was not stuffy unlike the suite rooms.

The hotel is located on Old Fort Road - good location, very close to the markets and good eateries.

The food including the breakfast at the hotel could have been better.

The staff is very courteous and helpful. The booking process, check in - check out was convenient. Overall it was a good experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed in room 211 for 6 nights. The staff was excellent and tried to be as accommodating as possible. My flight into Leh was cancelled and I wasn't able to arrive until a day after. I e-mailed the hotel from Delhi and they responded shortly thereafter, letting me know that they would hold my room and pick me up when I arrived.

Room 211 was actually on the 3rd floor (no elevator, but the staff carried the luggage), the 1st floor being on ground level. My room was quite large with two twin beds pushed together, a table and 2 chairs and plenty of space to store belongings. I agree with other writers that the beds were very hard. I bring a Therma-Rest Neo air mattress with me after having had really hard beds in China. It is extremely lightweight and packs small and works wonders with extra hard beds. Unfortunately, the hotel doesn't provide heat in June and it can get rather nippy at night. They do, however, provide really nice, heavy, warm blankets.

The bathroom was large and had a tub/shower combination. The water was hot with good water pressure.

The negatives were that the room was poorly lit and you needed a flashlight to find anything in your bag after dark. The drapes were also too flimsy to keep out the light from a large orange spotlight from the adjacent property that shown into the room, as well as the lights from the courtyard (black plastic garbage bags taped to the windows solved this problem). Blackout shades would be a great improvement. Rooms facing the courtyard (as this one did) also tended to be a bit noisy with people talking if it was a nice night, although this usually quieted down by around 11:00 p.m., whereas rooms facing the street have noise from barking dogs.

The hotel provided wi-fi for a fee, with the longer time packages being cheaper per minute. The wi fi didn't work in my room since I was too far from the lobby, but worked well in the courtyard and in the lobby area.

The hotel has a nice courtyard with tables, chairs and umbrellas, which is a great place to relax in the afternoon. There is also a terrific view of Leh from the roof of the hotel, which you can access via stairs.

Breakfast was a buffet of largely Indian food, but they would also make an omlet if you ask. dinner was also buffet. They varied the food each night, most of which was better than I had expected. They tended to do Indian better than Chinese.

Lastly, the location was terrific - walking distance to the bazaar and old town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spic n Span Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spic n Span Hotel

Address: Old Road, Leh 194101, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 51 Hotels in Leh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Spic n Span Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spic n Span Leh
Spic n Span Hotel Leh, Ladakh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spic n Span Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.