We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laws of Attraction” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnetic Hill

Magnetic Hill
Leh-Kargil-Srinagar national highway, Leh, India
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 44 Attractions in Leh
Type: Geologic Formations, Outdoors
Attraction details
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Laws of Attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

After driving around 50 Kms from Leh Town and just before you arrive in Nimoo, you'll come across a sign board claiming the place to be Magnetic Hill with strance gravitational proprty which could pull even a parked truck or car uphill. There are srories claiming that even helicopters have felt the pull but worry not these are all rumours. Magnetic Hills is the name given to this spot due to the optical illusion which makes it look like the vehicle are pulled uphills. It's a popular stop on Srinagar- Leh Highway NH1. We also stopped there for our share of fun and had some photographs killed at this famous landmak.
We even parked our bikes exactly where the road says "Park your Vehicle Here" but nothing really happened. All in all it was a fun experience and one should stop at Magnetic Hills for some cole pictures and memories of Ladakh Trip by road.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    81
    77
    35
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Navi Mumbai, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“overhyped”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

there is nothing here exept u get out of ur car, take a picture and move on. u dont see any miracle happening as hyped

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Unique! :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

People say different things about it being just an illusion, but who cares, I loved the phenomena! :)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nothing Magnetic about it, but still a nice experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

While returning from Leh to Kargil we passed through Magnetic Hill. We were on Bikes so was unable to experience the uphill rolling of a four wheeler. But we went uphill riding our bike so here is our experience:

While I was riding on the magnetic hill I felt that I am riding on plane with a little slope on it. We reached till the steep uphill started and from there I returned back. My friends who were watching me riding said that I reached till the half way to the top of that hill. Then my friend started riding and I saw the same thing that he was riding on the steep hill but when he returned back he told me that he rode till the sudden uphill started.

So we reached to the conclusion that it is an optical illusion but we found it awesome one. It is worth going there but you can skip it if you are really running out of the time.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

In this place car/bus goes uphill with its motor off. Reallly a miraculous thing...
We have seen this 2-3 times with our SAFARI....
Nice experience....

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Magnetic Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnetic Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.