We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Double Humped Camp-Hunder

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Double Humped Camp-Hunder to your Saves list
Double Humped Camp-Hunder
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Ldumra Oasis Camp Site, Mani Wheel Bridge, Hunder | Hunder, Distt. Diskit, Leh, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Leh
Shimla, India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

A great experience. Stayed there in Aug. 2013 with a group of 20 Malaysians. Great place to be - nice food, helpful people, best camp location and surroundings. Enjoyed every moment of being there. Thanks Mr. Chophel and your team.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHCAMP, Owner at Double Humped Camp-Hunder, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Mr. Khushal Jaswal Ji

Thank you sir for giving us opportunity to serve you and your group at our camp site.

We are glad that your group enjoyed the stay at Double Humped Camp. We are looking forward for your next visit.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    13
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed for a day in August 2013. Have written Pros and Cons of the place. Hope it's helpful.

Pros

1. Awesome location in the middle of the mountain valley.

2. Comfortable tents that keep you warm. Attached Clean toilets.

3. They have a place for campfire. Actually suggest you to do one here.. Carry your own alcohol. All the hotels charge you a premium for Booze. a tin of Kingfisher Beer is Rs.220/- and Royal Challenge was Rs.1600/-...!

4. 5 minute ride from the Silver Sand Dunes where you can do Double Humped Camel ride.

5. A small stream flows around the camps and we had our fair share of visitors (read birds) visit our camps..!


Cons

1. Food is decent. Not bad though. But fails to add to the whole experience.

2. Water was reaaallllyyy cold in the attached washroom as it was cloudy. Washing our face in that cold water was a nightmare..! (considering i take cold showers throughout the year in Bangalore)

3. Service is mediocre. I guess its too much to expect in such a remote location..!

4. Water gets clogged in the attached washroom in few tents..! So if you are planning to take a shower, check the washrooms beforehand.


Conclusion

A Good place to spend a day or Two. Could be so much more better with better service..!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleHumpedCamp, Owner at Double Humped Camp-Hunder, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Alvin
First of all, thanks for your comment. We are glad that you enjoyed yr stay at our Double Humped Camp. We will surely take your advise to improve our services. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We were 2 couples, stayed in this camp on 8th of August 2013. Camps were good, food served were really nice.

The guys managing the tents were very good.

its located 3-4kms from camel safari area, with mountains in back ground. definitely value for money once u bargain the price. Recommend it to all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleHumpedCamp, Owner at Double Humped Camp-Hunder, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Sir

Thank you for your wonderful comment. Really appreciate it. Please visit again. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were 4 couples which stayed in this camp on August 11 2013. Camps were clean and nicely placed. It is located right in the heart of Hunder.

The guys managing the tents were very sincere and due to our early check out in the morning, they served as breakfast at 5:45 am.

The best part of the camp is the surroundings. Its surrounded by mountains on one side and tress on other side. In all staying here was very much satisfactory and value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleHumpedCamp, Manager at Double Humped Camp-Hunder, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Mr. Amit

Thank you so much for your comment. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our camp site. Please visit again. Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had a great time at the camp. The tents were comfortable & food quality at such a remote location is really exceptional. The location of the camp is excellent & just 1km away from sand dumes. Would love to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleHumpedCamp, Manager at Double Humped Camp-Hunder, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Sir

We at Double Humped Camp would like to thank you for choosing to stay at our camp site. Thanks for your comment. Please visit again. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I visited this camp site in Hunder last month, and as per my experience I wouldn't per say it would be my ideal camping experience but what makes me rate it above average is its proximity to the nice environment of Hunder, as I personally prefer the nature and its reach.

The management is thin and they have some service problems too, since there are only 3 people running the show. But, the camp interior is quite neat, especially the baths, in comparison to my stay in other camps in different locations in my previous visits to Ladakh. Mr. chophel this sturdy young owner have helped me in exploring the countryside too, and to say about their local hospitality I received from these folks is quite good.

All in all this experience has been a nice one, if not illustriously excellent, to me.

Room Tip: I am not superstitious...so you gotta check out things for yourself...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleHumpedCamp, Owner at Double Humped Camp-Hunder, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear sir

Thank you for your reviews. Pls visit again.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed in this camp for one night and day on 02/07/2013. We had pleasant and comfortable stay here. Food is good. Two people hosting this camp are very kind and helpful.
unfortunately , I was separated from my friends and als lost my bike key in the desert there. My friends are on thier way to Hunder from Leh , and I reached before them and they dont know in which hotel or camp i booked the accommodation and there is no network in the area for us to communicate. I explained the situationto the host of the camp seeking his help.
They responded very well and helped me in finding my lost bike key and in reaching my friends.
The food they prepared is good and tasty. I cannot forget this experience. Thanks to them.
I would recommend the stay in this camp for all visiting Nubra valley..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleHumpedCamp, Manager at Double Humped Camp-Hunder, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Mr. Anil

We at Double Humped Camp are more than glad to heard that you had very memorable experience at our camp site. We wish you best of luck from all the staff at camp. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Double Humped Camp-Hunder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Humped Camp-Hunder

Address: Ldumra Oasis Camp Site, Mani Wheel Bridge, Hunder | Hunder, Distt. Diskit, Leh, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Leh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Double Humped Camp-Hunder 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It all started with two friend's road trip to this rain shadow area of mighty Himalaya 'Ladakh' in year 2008. Namgyal a Ladhaki and Chophel a Tibetan working in Delhi. They travel length and breadth of their cherish kingdom, Revisiting their own people, their life and breathtakingly beautiful vast barren landscape and ultimately become focus of their life's work as 'Double Humped Camp' at Hunder, Nubra Vally. With Leh city rapidly becoming chaos with thousand of visitor every year, any stress out corporate executive looking for laid back holiday in midst of moon land or adventure freak combating new heights should head to Nubra Valley, opened only in recent year to outside visitor. And what better way to experience Nubra Valley than staying with us at Double Humped Camp, Hunder. Hunder is the last point for tourist and road beyond leads to the army base for Siachen glacier and it serve as base for tourist exploring the Nubra Valley. It is some 150km / 4hrs drive from Leh city at 10,000 ft. The Double Humped Camp-Hunder is almost perfect blend of wilderness and tranquility. You can't help being smitten by its exotic location coupled with exceptional service. The camp reminds you of simplicity and warmth that is way of people of Ladakh. It is surely going to be a life time experience for our visitors. Our camps have two wilderness suite camp and ten deluxe camps with awesome sand dune mountain views. Special care is taken to cater visitor choice of cuisine by our experience chef. We are also fully equipped with day to day minor medic requirement including oxygen cylinder for emergency ACUTE MOUNTAIN SICKNESS (AMS) though it is very unlikely considering HUNDER 10,600 ft. We have visiting local traditional dance troupe and solo contemporary singer to give visitor gala evening around the bonfire. Also take hold of your choice of drink in the evening at our country pub. Visitor can hone their bar-be-cue skill while having great time with friends at bonfire night. Next morning when you wake up late, take your brunch under sky and soak your feet in chilling stream zigzagging through your camp. And when you feel you have pampered enough, you can water the camp's organic farm or free weeds off apple orchard. Visitors can experience the double hump Bactrian camel safari on sand dunes surrounded by snow capped rocky mountain. Gaze at the breathtakingly beautiful Shyok and Nubra river maneuver in vast Nubra Valley Or drive sharply ascending road to the Diskit Gompa renowned for its exquisite murals and the view from the roof is spectacular. It literarily tranquil one's soul taking refuge to Gyalwa Champa Statue (future Buddha) atop the rocky mountain. A pleasant drive further east to Hunder road brings you to the village of Sumur, famous for its 115 years old Samtanling Gompa. This gompa has been renovated and the H.H. Dalai Lama inaugurated in 1962. There are several interesting restored frescoes and beautiful tangthas on view here. A pleasant drive further up the road brings us to the Panamik village, famous for its hot springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Double Humped Camp-Hunder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Double Humped Camp-Hunder Leh, Ladakh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Double Humped Camp-Hunder, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.