We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing place........a home away home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thongsal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Thongsal to your Saves list
Thongsal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yurtung Road | Near Shanti Stupa, Leh 194101, India   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Special rates for Winters
Ranked #22 of 51 Hotels in Leh
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“amazing place........a home away home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Thongsal was an amazing place with a great hospitality,awesome views & nice food.First of all a warm welcome by Mr chaddha was very impressive.Our rooms were at the ground floor which were spacious with good sized washrooms with all the routiene amenities.Hot water was a problem there but it was well managed by their humble & courteous staff.Food was very good with good varieties of north & south indian cuisines throughout the stay.There was a very good sitout area with amazing views of shanti stupa & snow capped mountains which was totally a feast for eyes.we also had a beautiful cultural eve in the hotel during our last day of stay which was really refreshing.Overall it was a superb family holiday at thongsal,& i would surely love to visit this place in future.Thankyou so much mr chaddha ji & his fantastic staff for our fantastic trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thongsal_Leh, General Manager at Thongsal, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Ms Shalini

We are very happy to know that the experiences at Thogsal along with the sites and scenes made your trip to Ladakh memorable. Looking forward to seeing you again when you come visit Ladakh the net time.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    22
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
15
20
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The hotel is very well appointed to provide peaceful and comfortable stay to patrons. Rooms are spacious, well furnished and ergonomic. Room service is prompt and the staff is polite and well behaved. Quality of food in restaurant is above average. We had a wonderful three night stay since 07 Jun 14 in the hotel and would recommend this hotel for all visitors planning their holiday in Leh.

Room Tip: Room Number 202 is the best....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thongsal_Leh, General Manager at Thongsal, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Manver,

We are pleased that you liked our rooms and the facilities at Thongsal, we are always trying to improve on our service delivery such kind words encourage us. We will most definitely improve the food being served at Thongsal.

Thank You,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

A Very good View, beautiful rooms and very supporting staff, the atmosphere was awesome
Feel Like a Home.....
It was our great pleasure at Leh and more wonderful was our stay at such a beautiful place called Thongsal, which was full of fantastic people.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thongsal_Leh, General Manager at Thongsal, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Santosh,

We want our guests to feel at home away from home and we are very happy that you felt at home staying with us, do come visit us again.

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsad, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The place is pretty good to be in.........The service provided by the staff is also good... The Aura is Amazingggg... and Lovely..... Family trips can turn out to be great at Thongsal........... Thank You...!! :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thongsal_Leh, General Manager at Thongsal, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Harshvardhaan M,

Thank you for your very warm words of encouragement! We are very happy that you have enjoyed your time at Thongsal. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This property is very well situated with a view of Shanti Stupa. Mr.ANIL Chaddha the manager out here would be one of the very prime reasons for us visiting back. Property can do do great wonders if basic amenities are improved.

A few things that they need to work on is not experiment too much with the food as on 1 day the entire breakfast was just potatoes. And there we had mr. Chaddha with a smile explaining us that we are celebrating potato day :)
Mr. Chaddha was always there with a smile to welcome you and make sure that even if you are uncomfortable with something, he could make you feel very important.
A few basic necessities like better quality thermos, kettles, and geysers are a must in every room with more lighting. This property can really become the no. 1 property if planned a little well.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thongsal_Leh, General Manager at Thongsal, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Essfil,

We will keep your opinions in mind and will ensure that the amenities are in place. We are glad that you like the property and we shall ensue that the next time you visit us we will guarantee that not only the basic but more amenities would be placed at you disposal.

Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

It was our great pleasure at Leh and more wonderful was our stay at such a beautiful place called Thongsal, which was full of fantastic people. We thoroughly enjoyed the warm welcome bestowed by the entire team of Thongsal and the credit goes to Mr. Anil Chadha, manager at Thongsal who is working relentlessly to ensure the comfort of the guest including guiding them appropriately for a different climatic condition.

Overall great place to stay and great efforts that we could witness to maintain quality services. Very tasty food of different varieties in spite of several supply constrains.. Best of the Jalebis that I ever tasted… the taste still remains in my taste buds…nice staff always ready to walk extra mile and helping their guests….we could feel the warmth…. nice arrangement for travelling around…no delays… all trips nicely planned and executed…Thanks for making our entire stay so wonderful that we plan to visit again sometime in the future with our kids and staying at your resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thongsal_Leh, General Manager at Thongsal, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Atul,

Thank You very much for your kind words of appreciation, we are very pleased to be a part of your Ladakh experience. Looking forward to seeing you and your family in the future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I recently made a big mistake in life and stayed at this hotel. Clearly the worst hotel to stay in Leh, Thongsal has terrible hospitality,dirty rooms (u will find everything broken), and horrible food.

The wi-fi and phone works everywhere in the city except this place! Throughout our stay they kept lying to us saying the line is down. Also this is the only hotel which doesn't have running hot water.

The Manager, Mr Anil Chaddha is a very cheap and rude man.
We were supposed to have free breakfast in our stay, but the hotel charged us for it in the final bill. When I asked for refund, the manager refused.So I asked him to give me in written that he is charging me for breakfast. He then got scared and refunded my money! What a sick way to save on the food revenue!

Please don't waste your money on a hotel which is run by kids! Other hotels in the same locality are much cheaper,cleaner and sophisticated!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thongsal_Leh, General Manager at Thongsal, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Sir,

Your friends stayed with us for 1 night and we gave breakfast for 1 night. We acceded to his request of late check-out the next day and we gave complimentary breakfast the second day as well. It is unfortunate that even that seems to have failed to assuage your anger which is evident in the false allegations you have made.

We are still sorry you did not enjoy your stay.

Regards..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Thongsal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thongsal

Address: Yurtung Road | Near Shanti Stupa, Leh 194101, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 51 Hotels in Leh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thongsal 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Driftwood Thongsal, located in the picturesque environs of Leh, Ladakh offers comfortable accommodation with modern amenities to its guests. The hand-picked team delivers the best hospitality & services.This boutique resort offers a unique experience in Leh, Thongsal is synonymous to a relaxed vacation in the lap of Nature. Amidst the rapidly growing Tourism in Leh, Thongsal comes with culture, tradition and most importantly a very friendly environment which makes you feel at home. You will feel as if you are visiting your most hospitable friend’s exotic house. At the same time, Thongsal has beautifully appointed Guest rooms to take care of the worldly luxuries whilst being in harmony with Nature. No matter how long or short your stay, when you leave this charming place you will be calmer. You will feel a connection with nature.The Driftwood Thongsal, Leh is the best option to experience Ladakh. It offers quiet serenity for rejuvenating the mind and soul in the nature’s lap whilst offering the best in Hospitality. Unlike a city hotel it welcomes you as a friend and pampers you through your stay in Leh. The Driftwood Thongsal offers exclusive service, amazing hospitality, an eco-friendly stay in Leh and value for money.Experience the best of Ladakh through this unique resort. Located in Yurthung, near Shanti Stupa. The Driftwood Thongsal Resort in Leh is a year round tourism facility for honeymooners, families & adventure seekers visiting Ladakh.So, plan your sojourn to Leh today and discover the phenomenon called Ladakh! Majestic beauty, rugged terrain await your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Thongsal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thongsal Leh, Ladakh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thongsal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.