We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice friendly stay at best price...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Auspicious Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Auspicious Hotel to your Saves list
The Auspicious Hotel
Chulung old road, Leh 194101, India   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 127 Leh B&B and Inns
Agra, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A very nice friendly stay at best price...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Comfortable rooms,quality food,nice staff, friendly owner and all that at a very good site...., i was there in march (presumably an off time) and had a very good time out there. For guys looking for adventure this hotel is a good place to be. Mr. Vishal there is a nice friendly guy,..i will stay there for sure, do i visit ladakh again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    19
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
4
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

India hikes had put up all its Chadar trek groups in this rather terrible place.
Key negatives were - 1. the place was clearly under staffed; 2. Poor supply of hot water ; you had to ask, remind, nag, shout, plead and finally just wait and wait and then wait a bit more ... Even cold water supply for flushing the loos (since the cistern was not working) was erratic.

The food was quite good however... the staff was warm and polite despite being over burdened; Let me be very clear - I am unhappy with the management of this place rather than the staff who were clearly trying to do their best to meet all guest requests.

In fact there is a member of the kitchen staff who is a multi lingual polyglot (Chinese, ladakhi, hindi etc etc.) and numismatist. A member of our group sought his help in deciphering the markings on an old coin she bought in/near Noushera Market. The wi-fi works here as well.

Overall, I would be cautious about staying here again. India Hikes and other trek organizers would do well to review their contracts with this place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

The hotel stay was very fulfilling specially in the winter conditions in Leh and the staff was committed and would carry in hot water and fix the gas heaters as and when required. The food prepared in these conditions were great. Overall it was a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Region Metropolitana, Chile
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Our stay at Auspicious Hotel was beyond very good. Arriving at almost 12 o clock in the night, they managed to get us some food and to receive us in their rooms with a big smile and a great sense of service. (Super good french fries by the way). But that was only the beginning of a great week. They help us with turism services around the beautiful landscapes of Ladakh, with the rental car, with hotel accomodations, and the most important thing, always with pleasure and only to make us feel confortable. Actually, it felt like home.

If you decide to go to Leh, don't even think about it. Auspicious was the best choice because they care about the people inside, no matter what. As a bonus, they got the best tour guide in all Ladakh. A war veteran, that sweats history and became a very big part of us.ç

From Chile, south America, we recommend Auspicious, eyes closed!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Our first visit to this hotel was in 2008 when we this was one of the newer properties and we loved it. The family that owns this property is very friendly and the staff too is very helpful. This was the main reason that we decided to come here again on our second visit to Leh and were relieved to see that its still the same. The same warm hospitality prompt and flexible service . The rooms are neat have good linen and flat screen tvs with DTH. The toilets are basic but clean. Full time power back up provided as Leh has erratic power supply. A newer portion is being added which means more rooms in the future. Great going Kunzung.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Well begun is half done when you stay at a lucky place for our stok kangri trek. On arrival, we chance upon a Rinpoche celebration at the nearby gompa. The cheerful front desk manager from goa lend me his cellphone to call home and checked on the wifi connectivity, his pleasant staff extended the hot shower timing(s), served us tea no matter the kitchen is closed. The warm owner personally bid us farewell on the eve of our early 5am departure and asked about our well being after we returned from a long day drive to Pangong Lake. Though there are bigger hotels nearby, I would stick to this hotel for the genuine hospitality, care and concern for the guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We were 4 couple visited Leh in August 2013, to get out of the heat of Delhi. Our transfer from the airport was easy and stress-free, the hotel cars waiting for us when we left baggage claim. On arrival at the hotel we were given rooms immediately on arrival.

Location: Excellent
Hotel is located very near to old leh market and fort road market. Its hardly 200 meters away from Leh’s most happening market.

Rooms: Excellent
The room’s ambience was more than expected by us. Rooms were Spacious, comfortable bed, clean, LCDs with DTH cable. Washroom was of decent size, with Hot water mostly running. Also free WiFi is available at times. 24 hours power back was icing on the cake.

Food: Very Good
Loved the communal dining experience. They served us buffet breakfast and dinner. Complements to the chef to be able to prepare decent cuisines in such a remote location. We never expected such lovely and vast buffet. The veg food was nicely cooked, and homely. We all enjoyed food at the hotel.

Manager : Mr Vishal Superb
You will find very few professional managers like Vishal in Leh. He can be spotted anytime in the hotel asking about guests about the comfortness and facilities. He has always given us the genuine and practical advice during our stay in the Leh. I probably haven’t booked the hotel, if I hadn’t conversed with Vishal before making the reservations.

In short, we went to leh with limited expectations, but moment we were received by Vishal at Leh our expectations superseded. Be it rooms, service, food, location, room service, advice, costing, its simply superb.

Next time, if we come to Leh, we will definitely stay with Hotel Auspicious.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Auspicious Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Auspicious Hotel

Address: Chulung old road, Leh 194101, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Leh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Auspicious Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Auspicious Hotel Leh, Ladakh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Auspicious Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.