We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable stay at Ladakh Residency” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ladakh Residency

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ladakh Residency to your Saves list
Ladakh Residency
Changspa, Leh 194101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Leh
Gurgaon, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Memorable stay at Ladakh Residency”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were 2 couples visiting Ladakh in September 2013. I finalized this hotel after reading reviews on trip advisor. Also, I spoke to Ms. Rinchen over the phone and she offered an off season discount of 30% which sealed the deal. The kind of rooms offered for 4200 INR per night was really a treat.
Rooms: Spacious, newly built and clean. Bathrooms were very big. This should be good enough to rate this hotel 4/5 but what raise the score a notch was the balcony. For someone like me who likes sitting outside more than inside the room it was a real delight. The balcony was approx. 7 x 9 feet and was provided with table and two chairs. Every morning one can bath in sun sitting in balcony and sipping tea/coffee. And in the evening we had drinks and dinner there. The view from the balcony was real nice too. One can see the snow clad mountains. Also another thing I like about the rooms is the wooden carvings done. It provides a rare feel of modern amenities with classical architecture element. Rooms and corridors have central heating which was not required during our stay though.
Location: It is 1.5 kms away from the main bazaar. But the street of the hotel was full of eateries and restaurants which provide international cuisines to suit your taste. The restaurants are simple and initially you will have doubts over what you gonna get. But they will surprise you with the quality and taste of the food. . The prices are dirt cheap as well, if compared against Gurgaon. A gourmet pizza for 100 odd bucks is a steal!
Hospitality: As always, no surprises here. The Ladakhi hospitality was at its best. The owner Mr. Wangchuk( hope getting the spelling right here) and his daughter Ms. Rinchen both were very helpful. On the day we landed , wife of my friend fell sick. The guidance and support to take her to hospital provide by Rinchen was invaluable. Another thing about the kind of trust and faith she and her staff put in us was when we checked out after staying there for 2 days( to travel to Nubra and Pangong), they did even ask for clearing our dues. We were told we can pay when we come back to Leh. I was overwhelmed.
Another point to note here is the owners are highly educated and have a good sense of your taste and desire. So I found it very comfortable to trust their advice and guidance in things to visit and things to do. Infact Rinchen advised us to go to a nice restaurant called Bon Appetite for the birthday dinner, which was just perfect for the occasion and our taste.
Arrangements: You get breakfast included in the hotel tariff. The breakfast was good except tht I did not have much options. We could order from cereal, paranthas, eggs , fruit salad, juice and tea/coffee. The local taxi and taxi to Nubra and pangong was arranged by hotel staff on chargeable basis. The taxi rates are fairly high in Ladakh and should not be compared against Delhi rates. The 700 KM trip to nubra and pangong cost us 17k INR and a 3 hour local taxi cost us 900 INR.
Final Verdict: If you are looking for a place to relax and away from crowded bazaar, this is your place. I definitely will say in Ladakh Residency whenever I visit there again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms 203/204. Or simply ask for a room with balcony and facing the mountains. They wont dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    33
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
45
27
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our group stayed here for two nights in July 2013 after an amazing trek to see the Kharnak Nomads organized by Yama Adventures. The rooms were very clean. We had great views from our balcony. The restaurant was excellent and the staff were very friendly and attentive. The front desk lady, Tsering, was particularly helpful. We also enjoyed a fascinating cultural program one evening.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I picked this place reading the reviews of other contributors on tripadvisor. Stayed here with my wife and daughter for 4 nights during May 2013. The place is very conveniently located, the rooms and loo are spotlessly clean. The place is very well maintained. Food was good, though I would have liked a wider spread. Wifi is accessible in the reception, wish they could put more hotspots and make them accessible in the rooms.

Easily one of the best hotels I have stayed - the service made the big difference. Most of the reviewers have highlighted the owner Rinchen and her staff's hospitality - cant agree more. She makes the big difference to this place with her service. She also arranged our stay at one of her aunt's hotels in Nubra valley. Another wonderful place and equally great hospitality, Would definitely like to visit Leh-Ladakh again and stay here.

Strongly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The property is strategically located near the main market but is is very serene. The food at this place is simply amazing with extensive variety from western to Indian to Ladakhi.(no compromise in taste). The hotel offers every luxury such a city could offer (though the wi-fi was unstable at times) but the star have to be its staff. Binod & Krisna- the 2 nepali figureheads- simply made our stay a true dream. They left no stone unturned from providing a level of service many can learn from (oh and with a smile EVERYTIME!!). Rooms were comfortable with all necessities available. OH & do try the hotel massage!(the man knows his stuff!)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This hotel is one of the best hotels in the world. All the stuffs are very kind and modest. We could spend the most enjoyable time in our lives. Many guests stay this hotel repeatedely.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Centrally located ... Close proximity to cafes and eating joint .. Comfortable rooms ... Rated close to 3 star ...however I have never experienced such warmth in their hospitality . Kudos to team . Food served is close to home food ... Served fresh and warm .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This hotel has one of the better locations in Leh. It is right in the middle of cafes and food joints, and pretty much everything is within walking distance. Rooms are clean, and the food was ok. Their service is simply amazing. They look after you and are very courteous and friendly.

We were a group of four and had a great time here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ladakh Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ladakh Residency

Address: Changspa, Leh 194101, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Leh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Ladakh Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ladakh Residency Hotel Leh
Ladakh Residency Leh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ladakh Residency, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.