We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice,quite place in Leh” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Khan Manzil Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Khan Manzil Guest House
Save
You added Khan Manzil Guest House to your Saves list
Zangsti, Leh 194101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 128 Leh B&B and Inns
San Jose, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice,quite place in Leh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I happened to run into this place in 2007 by chance while I was motorcycling from mumbai .I found Khan Manzil to be a nice quite and clean place run by Mr.Khan and his family.Hotels are plenty in Leh but they come with a hefty price tag and its difficult to find a place which gives you value for money.His son rides a motorcycle and did help find a mechanic.Next time I visited Leh was in 2009 and made it a point to stay here again and was very pleased with the stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
4
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pune
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed in Khan Manzil in July 2013 for 4 nights. This place is very close to the town center, say 2 mins walk.. The rooms are very clean and neat. We got hot water too. the guys there would get food parcel for you if you need it. overall its a nice, clean and good stay option in Leh. Uploading some pics for reference..
Cheers

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed here last October, and it was the first destination of a backpacking trip. After an 18 hour layover in Delhi airport, we were absolutely exhausted by the time we arrived at 8 am, but the owner let us check in early free of charge. The owners were really friendly and helpful, provided us with information and suggestions, extra blankets for the cold October nights, and candles for the power cuts. The room was basic but clean, quite big and completely adequate. The view of the mountains from the rooftop, which was where our room was, was very beautiful and the little flower pots on the rooftop were a nice touch. The hotel is in a very good location, very close to the old town, a minutes walk from the Kashmiri bakers which is a must visit. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Khan Manzil for 4 nights - impressive service, really clean rooms, great breakfast and tea service and all with a great view in a great location.

Would have happily paid double for what was on offer at Khan Manzil - will be back for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We used this relaxed and friendly guesthouse as our base in Leh between trekking trips. I loved coming back to this place; it has comfortable clean rooms, a great laundry service, and hot water all day. I spent many hours acclimatising and nursing my trekking blisters on the rooftop terrace, complete with cups of chai from the kitchen and spectacular views of the palace and Stok Kangri! It's run by a friendly family, and is in a perfect loation: close to the main bazzars but on a quiet sideroad away from honking traffic.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I booked one night and ended up staying 6 in 3 different occasions. I love how clean it is compared with the places I stayed before in India. The view from the terrace is magnificent, the rooms are big and there is hot water 24h. This place is run by a family and they really do anything to make you happy. Babar and his father were amazing and very honest (something rare in India, sorry) They helped me with permits, guides and everything I need without asking for commissions like everywhere else in India (I' was sick of it). The place is quiet and very close to everything. WIFI works in the entire building. I can't think of a better place to stay in Leh

Room Tip: Rooms at the top floor are quieter and the view of the mountains is incredible! If you are a group...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Zahir and his father run a great place, secluded off the main road, providing simple, basic rooms and a great value for the money for your short (or long stay) in the area. I stayed here off and on over a period of 2 1/2 wks, in and out for trekking. Zahir can handle many bookings and tells you what scams to avoid in the area. WiFi works ok when there is electricity (load shedding is a big problem in the area). Rooftop views of Stok Kangri are wonderful.

Room Tip: Corner room, 2nd level, at the far end is more quiet than the lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Khan Manzil Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khan Manzil Guest House

Address: Zangsti, Leh 194101, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 128 B&Bs / Inns in Leh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khan Manzil guest House is probably one of the oldest guest houses in and around Leh. Located at the foot of the hill on top of which stands the grand Leh Palace built in the 17th century. The guest house is run by a Ladakhi family providing homely atmosphere during your stay. The guest house is at 05 minutes walking distance from the city center and is easily accessible to the airport, taxi and bus stand etc. the guest house has 18 well furnished rooms with attached baths with running hot/cold water and 05 rooms with sharing baths. The guest house provides travel desk, hygienic homemade food, doctor on call. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Khan Manzil Guest House Leh, Ladakh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khan Manzil Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.