We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Avoid at all cost"” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Dorje Guest House

Save Saved
You added Dorje Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dorje Guest House
Upper Tukcha Road, Leh 194101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 108 Leh B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“"Avoid at all cost"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Our stay with Dorje Guesthouse was great in the beginning but awful in the end. Our room was clean with nice view of the mountains etc but please avoid booking tours from them, they rips you off with the help of travel agents. Me and my girlfriend were forced to pay for the tour which we never went. It was annoying as they assumed our travel plans before enquiring us and never explained the full terms and conditions. We were threatened by their travel agents, cops etc. We had to pay to avoid trouble at midnight in a remote village in mountains esp when we have to catch an early morning flight for international connections. If you still want to stay, don't go on their niceness and ask for receipts and prices clarifications from the beginning and never book any tours from them, go to tour operators yourself, its easier and cheaper !!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    8
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
2
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We booked into Dorje after reading the good reviews on Trip Advisor and at first were pretty happy - our room for 700 rupees was huge, though the bathroom was pretty dirty. The views from the terrace were incredible as well. All it seemed a decent place to stay.
However on the first night of arrival we were told by the manager that the owner - Dorje sorted out all local travel arrangements - such as hikes, rafting etc. We sat down with Dorje who seemed to have an attitude of superiority from the first moment and did not seem to really take any interest or seemingly any notes about our plans. Over the next couple of days we had to ask repeatedly if anything was booked - only to be told Dorje would get back to us. He never did. This ended up being a huge problem and a visit to the Pangong Lake around 5/6 hours north of Leh turned into a nightmare. We had been told not to attempt this on a day trip and made it clear to Dorje we wanted to spread this over 2 days. We repeated this to the manager a number of times and were told all was ok. However on the morning of our departure with packed bags for an overnight stay we were told we were booked on a day trip. To say we were pissed off is an understatement. The day turned out to be horrendous - 10 hours in a taxi, with just 2 hours at perhaps the most beautiful lake in the world, not just India. We had done our fair share of massive bus trips already on this trip and had told Dorje we did not want to do anymore. Upon returning tired and fed up, the ever smiling in a very annoying way Dev asked us if we had had a good time to which we very firmly told him our thoughts about Dorje's organisational skills. We never saw or spoke to Dorje again - every time he saw us he pretty much ran off - and made no attempt to apologise. Wouldn't any hotel owner do so if he thought his guests were deeply unhappy. As for our room in the 7 nights we stayed there it was not cleaned once which is pretty disgusting. There are many places to stay in Leh and I would advise anyone to give Mr Dorje a wide berth.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We were skeptic of the room we would get due to the low price, but we were pleasantly surprised. We got a very spacious room wit a sofa and a decent bed. Bathrooms were shared but very clean and we had two bathrooms for four rooms so we never had a problem with that.
Dev, the manager, was very friendly and helpful, we never had breakfast as it was rather limited but there were plenty of options about where to eat close by.
The view from the garden and from the 2nd floor terrace is beautiful so do catch a sunset while you are there.
if we ever go back to Leh, this is where we would stay.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

It's one of the most neat and clean guest houses which is located within 5 minutes walk from the main Leh market, changspa, shanti stupa and various other attractions of Leh city. This is located in a very quite locality. The guest house is maintained in a very clean manner, the bathrooms are also clean and the tariff is also quite reasonable. They serve basic breakfast like toast butter jam tea coffee omlette n all in the guest house itself. They also take care of all travel arrangements. Overall it's highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the terrace, it's expensive but big in size and the view from the room is in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed for six nights and had a wonderful experience. It's a home-stay run by a warm and friendly Ladakhi family. Dorje himself is very helpful and friendly and personally arranged all our excursions and tours. Ask for the rooms on the second floor - we got their best room with long french windows providing a wonderful view of the mountains. It was refreshing to have tea on the little terrace facing green fields and the barren snow-capped mountains. The place is simple, yet clean and well managed. They do not have city musts like TV but I'd rate that as a plus. Hot running water is available all day. Room service is cheerful & Tea and a simple breakfast can be had in the room or their little garden. The place is a short 10 min walk from the main bazaar. Cannot think of any negatives - we enjoyed our stay. Would certainly recommend it!

Room Tip: Their best & largest room is on the 2nd floor and has a little terrace with an awesome view. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

This guest housel is about 5-10 minutes from Leh main market. Owners lives in the ground floor and are very helpful and friendly. I used to stay there during my early visits to Leh during 2006-2007, my work demands a place at the heart of the city so I miss the stay at this guest house. Guest house comprises of ground and 1st floor.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

It was an amazing experience - they have a great hospitality culture - Dorje and his wife sumo were very caring - loved bieng there like home.thank you

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dorje Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorje Guest House

Address: Upper Tukcha Road, Leh 194101, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Leh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Dorje Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorje Guest House Leh, Ladakh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorje Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.