We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent accommodation for solo travelers and families alike” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shanti Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shanti Guest House
Save
You added Shanti Guest House to your Saves list
Changspa | Shanti Stupa road, Leh 194101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 127 Leh B&B and Inns
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Decent accommodation for solo travelers and families alike”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

The rooms on the first and second floor are nice. However on second floor the Wi-Fi signals can be an issue. The food was between ok and good. The guest house is at a walking distance from market thus you have plenty of eating options nearby.

They generally have a room available and thus can be kept as a safe fallback option in case you are unable to find something better.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    26
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
7
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We happened to drive from New Delhi to Leh in 2nd week of April via Srinagar route - the Zoji la opened up in record time this year. Hence when we reached Leh, due to pre-season, most hotels were shut. We called up Shanti Guest house and it did have a room for us.
The route is a bit tricky with no proper signage actually. Secondly, you have to park your vehicle on the main road - safety can be an issue.
The room cost us 1000 bucks and was on the 1st floor - it did look cosy though the lack of t.v did move us. What was comforting was free wi-fi and it worked like charm. However, inspite of multiple requests, warm water never came in the pipe nor was offered for basic face / hand wash.
Breakfast at best was a bit bland but then i guess they are used to making food for international guests! We checked-out after just a night as we had to go to nubra and then to pangong tso. We again came back after 2 days and got a ground floor which completely lacked the cosy feel of the one on the 1st floor. Again, wi-fi was comforting but like our first night experience, warm water was not present in the pipes. Only a bucket full was given - hello - this is April and not January!
We had informed the staff 2 times that we needed to leave early at 7am back for Delhi and wanted breakfast before that - it didnt happen. Only when i raised my voice at 8am for the bill did they came running with the food.

Overall, there are better options in the main town at 1000 bucks - wifi is good but food is bland, no hot water most of the times and no shops around the place, nearest being a good 10-15min walk away. And you cant walk to this place in the dark - the dogs will eat you away!

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms i guess are more cosy. No TV though. Wi-fi however is a life saver
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greece
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Shanti Guest house became my Home when I go to Ladakh,out of the city you can have your quiet ; you have a splendid view on the mountains and you need only10 mn walk to be in the center of Leh.It is situated under the Shanti Stuppa and it is also very easy to go up there for sunrise or sunset..Beauteful ones !!!
The rooms are clean with central heating.and there is also WI-FI.......a reel luxury in Ladakh Tsering and Drolkar who run the G.H. are very warmhearted people always trying to help you and make you feel comfortable and happy ..They have also a travel agency and trekking has no secret for Tsering He has a big experience and you can trust him completely, his advises are very precious .
The food is also very good with a friendly atmosphere in the Tibetan dining room .
It is the right place to have a very good time.and have a stay comfortable and easy.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were here during the winters. This place is very close to the Shanti Stupa. There are 3 levels with several rooms on each floor. It is run by a lady and her family.
Rooms are moderately spaced. There are enough blankets provided. There was 24 hours power supply unlike previous years. But the central heating was turned off from time to time especially at night.
There are big water tanks in the bathroom which is the only source of water. Hot water is provided on request.
Food is average. The only non-vegetarian item is egg. Hot drinking water is provided.
There are all weather ACs fitted in the common area which is the only cozy place in the hotel.
In peak winter, this hotel provides the basic amenities such as food and shelter but not very comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Dear friends,

I feel writing this review as my moral obligation to help travel enthusiasts find a good place to stay in Leh. During my trip to Leh via Manali from 31st May 2012 to 10th June 2012, I stayed in Shanti Guest House, Changspa during my stay in Leh.

Its a quiet, cozy place to stay. Good Rooms, Excellent Food, Excellent Service.

But more important than anything else, the way the Dorjey family treated us was exceptional. They aren't the regular service providers in the hospitality industry. Right from providing a room to us as per our budget, to helping us in choosing the nearby places to visit, to helping us get the required permits to visit Khardung La they were very helpful.

They are the kind of people who are ever ready to go that extra mile to make ur stay safe, luxurious, and hassle free. One of my friend who got a bit ill due to the topography was feeling uneasy and nauseous. They took special care of him.

Mr. Dorjey also organizes special trip packages for adventure enthusiasts. I missed them the last time, but would make sure I join him the next time.

Thanks for everything, both of you.

Bhupendra Mahalwal

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stay at Shanti guest house was an excellent experience. It was nearly Home away from Home. The Dorjey Family were excellent host. The market is nearby. Most safe place. The Dorjey family were very helpful in providing us tourism guidance, shopping guiadance etc.. It was a wonderful experience for us for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The hotel location is perfect with just 5 minutes walk from the markets and just below the serene Shanti Stupa. The owners are very warm and room service is good. There is free wifi at the place that helps you to update the pics and latest status

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shanti Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanti Guest House

Address: Changspa | Shanti Stupa road, Leh 194101, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Leh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1st Centrally Heated Home In Ladakh Region.You can contact us for any travel related service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shanti Guest House Leh, Ladakh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shanti Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.