We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal destination for a good traditional Ladakhi stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shanti Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shanti Guest House
Save
You added Shanti Guest House to your Saves list
Changspa | Shanti Stupa road, Leh 194101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 128 Leh B&B and Inns
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Ideal destination for a good traditional Ladakhi stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were a group of 5 bikers who travelled to Leh on our bikes. We had sent the owners of Shanti guesthouse an email about our visit but hadn't confirmed our stay there. When we reached Leh, we directly wen to their guesthouse and in spite of having full booking, they were kind enough to give us a suite on the top floor since we had emailed them earlier. The guesthouse is as traditional as it could be with all basic facilities. They also organize trekking trips. They serve authentic Ladakhi food. The hotel is 10 mins from the Leh market area. It is an ideal place to stay if you want a budget hotel and a taste of Ladakh.

Room Tip: Don't forget to order the Ladakhi food. They serve amazing home cooked Ladakhi bread with Aprico...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    26
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
7
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I stayed at the Shanti Guest House with three other friends in August 2012. I had read a few review and had contacted the owner Tsewang through email and had kept the rooms booked. We were offered a spacious four-bedded room on the top floor, which meant we had the whole terrace also for us, which was nice for enjoying the views in the mornings and catching some fresh air. The place is clean and well maintained. There is a nice cafeteria too, which can be used for breakfasts. Don't expect more than Maggi or breads for dinner, so better eat at the number of restaurants in the Changspa Road.
Location is good, right near to the Shanti Stupa. But at the same time, could appear a bit far from the main market at Changspa Road, particularly while returning to the Guesthouse when one needs to climb up the slope. That was ok with us though as we enjoyed walking! Views are great from the windows.

The owners are very friendly people. Tsewang is also a trekking guide and he will arrange for all your requirements for tourism/trekking in the Ladakh region.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the terrace. Will offer great views and openness!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I stayed in the SHanti Guest house back in 2009. I arrived in Leh and was looking for different places. What drew me stay at the Shanti guest house was the warm feeling that I got for Tsiring and his family.. I ended up staying for 2 months.. It was a brilliant experience, since one is always on the move in Leh, one can leave most of the your stuff at the guest house and then come back to it after a few days.. The dining room was the perfect place to catch up with other guest/travelers. Getting information on where to go and to share stories.. The food is the best out there.. Simple. home cooked and nutritions.
Will be heading there as soon as I can.

Room Tip: I recommend to stay The top floor room. If you can.. you get the best view from up there. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonthofen, Germany
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Shanti Guest House is run by a friendly family in Changspa, Leh. It´s located below the Shanti Stupa and close to the City Centre.
I stayed there for almost 3 weeks Sept-Oct 2011
The rooms are clean and have hot water, some have a great view.
The owners are friendly, honest and always helpful to organize tours.
They offer a wonderful breakfast and a good homemade meal in the evening. When possible you also can use wifi.
When I come back to Leh - I like to stay at Shanti GH, it will be like coming home

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Århus, Danmark
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

As you walk down the small path leading from the road to the guesthouse, up the stairs and into the Hall, you are greeted with a big smile and an even bigger "Ju-le!" ("hello/welcome" in Ladakhi). You instantly feel comfortable. Built and run by a Ladakhi family, Shanti Guesthouse is perfect place to start your stay in Ladakh. Rooms are spacious, simple and clean, service is great and with all its international guests, it's a very interesting place to stay. Situated in the quiet Changspa, the view from the guesthouse is fantastic - views to green fields and mountains, right from your own window. Away from the city center, Changspa is peaceful and you can easily relax on the terrasse, without being disturbed by truck horns etc. On the other hand, downtown Leh is only a 10-15 minute walk away, if you want to experience the busy daily life of Leh. Shanti Guesthouse, besides accomodating you, will arrange trekking or cultural tours of your choice and have great expertice in it, stretching back some 25 years or more. At Shanti you will meet many locals, Westerners and Indians - all in one great, big mix.

As a frequent visitor of Ladakh during the last 9-10 years, I only have the best of recommendations for Shanti Guesthouse. You will love staying there, and the family would love to have you stay there :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Shanti Guest House is the nicest Guesthouse in Leh. I have stayed there for 3 times over the last 7 years, and the atmosphere is always pleasant. The rooms are great and clean, the family is always nice and helpful, the food is good(love the breakfast-bread a lot and the local dishes for dinner). The area is very beautiful and calm.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilli, Delhi, India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed at Shanti Guest House for 2 weeks in August, 2012. The guest house had been recommended to us by a friend who frequented Leh. Considering the fact that both of us are students, the guest house turned out to be the perfect budgeted, comfortable and friendly place for us to call 'home' while in Leh. The rooms were spacious, with big windows to let in a lot of sunlight every morning which, was superb. Wi-Fi (though slightly intermittent) was available to us in the evenings (except when there wasn't power). The best thing about our stay was that we would spend the entire day out and in the evenings have a lovely, warm, homemade meal with all the other guests in the guest house kitchen. One week into our stay we had become friends with the family, who were present round the clock to chat, help with logistics, provide a flask of hot tea and always inquire into our well-being and stay. Even when we ventured out for over-night excursions we could leave our luggage in a storeroom (after vacating our room) and a fresh reserved room would be waiting for us on our return. When we had to catch our very early morning flight out, a member of the family dropped us to the airport, which was great! Basically, we didn't have to worry about much while we were there and that's exactly what you need on a holiday!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shanti Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanti Guest House

Address: Changspa | Shanti Stupa road, Leh 194101, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 128 B&Bs / Inns in Leh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1st Centrally Heated Home In Ladakh Region.You can contact us for any travel related service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shanti Guest House Leh, Ladakh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shanti Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.