We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home in leh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kidar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kidar to your Saves list
Hotel Kidar
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Fort Road, Lower Tukcha, Leh 194101, India (Formerly Kidar Guest House)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 135 Leh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hyderabad, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“home in leh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

It’s like relative's house in leh. Staff and Owner Jigmet are all wonderful people.
we are group of 12 people.
pleasant feeling in the surroundings. The rooms are very well maintained and strategically designed to overlook the mountains.



we stay there for 4 nights.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    31
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
37
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Little bit out of town .... we had no problem walking 10-15 min in and out of it. Preferred little bit of walk opposite to staying in noisy downtown.
Have flashlight on you if coming back in the evening when dark since street lighting is non existent in close proximity of hotel and you can make yourself visible to the mad car drivers that seem to speed up in the night.
Gardens are charming and nice to sit out in the sun.
Hot water was in constant supply (need to run a tap for a good few minutes- sad in place like Leh where running water is in short supply, but once it arrives , it was hot and plenty)
Place is basic but clean. Beds were comfortable. There was no heaters provided and it got little bit cold in the night. We have had blanket provided.
Electricity and Wifi supply scattered, but that is the case anywhere in Leh. We asked owner to switch on generator and he did it when we did not to put up with power cut for any longer.
Buffet breakfast was served morning we have arrived, since large group in hotel. After first morning and group left, breakfast was made to order. It took over half hour for masala tea, omelette and paratha, but it was freshly made and OK. Early start mornings (6am) there was no one around to make the breakfast.
When we needed any advice or our room cleaned, owners were happy to help upon request.
Still, considering we have stayed on the end of the season, I would like to pay less for this accommodation. If compared to other accommodation offered around and their standard & price in this time of the year, we did pay way too much.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise from upstairs drain water. Close your bathroom door for sound sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We went as a group of 16 during our visit to Ladakh and It was a totally wonderful stay here after the long drive. Top notch hotel, absolutely clean and very comfortable beds to sleep on. Totally recommend this to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Hotel Kidar - 10 mins walk from main bazaar in Leh, is a beautifully done hotel with wooden interiors and lovely garden area. It was a bliss after long day drive from Pangong lake. As soon as you enter you get a very homely, pleasant feeling in the surroundings. The rooms are very well maintained and strategically designed to overlook the mountains. Staff was very helpful and ready to help. Best part they were smiling all the time and full of warmth. At Kidar I woke up to a positive pleasant morning. It filled my heart with love and an encouraging feeling which I will never forget. The morning at Kidar is an unforgettable moment which I will cherish forever.
Big Thanks to the owner. Keep up the good work! :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in the first week of September and it was simply wonderful while being at this hotel. Staff and Owner Jigmet are all wonderful people. The hotel is well located and is in quite area, away from the crowd and noise in the Market area. Food is great. There are lots of travel agents nearby from whom you can get a good deal for sight seeing. The room was always clean and service was always prompt. I would definitely come back here.

Room Tip: Look for a room on second floor as it offers the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Exellent hotel, with beautifully designed rooms, excellent service quality and some exotic views from inside rooms.
We stayed in the hotel for 2 days and had each and every of our small and big requests fulfilled with unmost sincerity. Rooms are well maintained with clean linens, good bathrooms. Also equipped with an excellent garden and great kitchen.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Excellent stay.Blindly you can finalize the stay.Nice Rooms,nice Scenic view.Family who are 4memebers can choose 4bedded room.Mr.Jigmet owner of the Hotel is very friendly,he along with his parents take care of the hotel.Staff were also very kind.Tasty Food with very cheap price.Nice,neat and clean rooms.Overall very good and pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Blindly finalize the stay.Do not waste your time in searching hotel.Hotel Kidar the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kidar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kidar

Address: Fort Road, Lower Tukcha, Leh 194101, India (Formerly Kidar Guest House)
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in Leh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kidar 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Kidar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kidar Leh, Ladakh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kidar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.