We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fully lively atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Dragon Ladakh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Dragon Ladakh to your Saves list
The Grand Dragon Ladakh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Road, Sheynam, Leh 194101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Leh
Kandivali, India
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“fully lively atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

we have enjoy the hotel location , the food was excellent , the hotel was centrally heated , the room has been fully modern amenties and centrally heated , room service was fast and helpful . hotel have big garden and playground ,

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    106
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
87
79
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

This hotel is just simply excellent. It is an ideal place to stay at Leh with very good quality of service and spacious rooms. Though slightly costlier than the other hotels, it returns for everything you pay.
I had stay at this hotel while on tour with my family and the experience at this hotel was too good, it simply made the holidays memorable. :) The staff was attentive and very co-operative. Cleanliness at the hotel was also good, Rooms were nicely designed and decorated. The hotel is really worth an experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

Between hundreds of guesthouses and small hotels the Grand Dragon Ladakh offers highest standard available in Ladakh.
It's centrally heated, has 24h power, warm water (even all the time) and satellite internet. It has a good restaurant and many other benefits.
Unfortunately the mood of the receptionists is sometimes very poor, even unfriendly. This has to improve to play in the league of ****-star hotels

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

The rooms were spacious and the service people were very friendly- always ready to help with a big smile on their faces.

Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

I happened to read about the Grand Dragon Leh on the internet and it seems to be only 4 star hotel in Ladakh. Apparently there are only two types of hotels in Ladakh - A class and the 4 star.

As it was my first time to Leh i wanted to stay at the best hotel there , and after some research i found out that this was the best they had to offer

The hotel staff is very good and the hotel is very near the Airport and also very near the main shopping area in Leh. Our room was a Deluxe room which was very cozy and clean with all modern amenities.

I really liked the service and the food also. I would recommend it to all people - who spend with get their moneys worth here.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

I stayed at the Grand Dragon in April 2010. While the hotel was not cheap - it met all of my expectations. They took care of me when I got altitude sick on the first day (be careful of the altitude if you fly in). They set up an excellent guided tour of the surrounding areas. They even shipped my very nice noise canceling headphone to my next hotel after I forgot them in my room.

If you are planning on staying in Leh - and want something better than a backpacker hotel -this is a great bet.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

Leh was one of the destinations which i picked for my honemoon. And u bet i was damn right in my choice. It was november and at -22degrees almost everything else was shut in the town except this hotel.

Warm, cosy and just right. The rooms are nice, well heated to give the confort you are looking for when it is freesing outt here. The food in the resturant is good, and they help you in planning your itenary for the places in and around LEH.

another plus point is that the market is just a few minuted walk away.

I recomend it to almost anybody wo is lukking for a 4 star confort in a place so inaccesible.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Dragon Ladakh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Dragon Ladakh

Address: Old Road, Sheynam, Leh 194101, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Leh
#2 Romantic Hotel in Leh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Dragon Ladakh 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the lap of luxury with all kinds of comforts at 3,500m above sea level A holiday to Ladakh is an enriching experience where you have the opportunity to observe and absorb a whole new culture. And you can do this without giving up on all the comforts you're used to by booking a stay at The Grand Dragon Ladakh. The hotel, which is just 5km from Leh airport and half a kilometre from the city centre, is an eco-friendly property offering services such as a 24-hour coffee shop, a multi-cuisine restaurant with a separate vegetarian kitchen, a shopping arcade, relaxing garden, exercise lawn and jogging track, a health club and a spa. You don't need to worry about any acclimatisation issues as the hotel provides for a doctor on call as well as a complimentary oxygen cylinder in your room if you so desire. The Grand Dragon Ladakh is built in traditional style and practices a 'green philosophy', which means that it has 95 solar panels to save energy and heat water for central heating and the bathrooms. And if you want to hold your business meeting or plan a wedding or other event here, you'll find everything you need to make your event memorable. The Grand Dragon Ladakh has a conference hall (which can accommodate up to 200 people), a banquet hall and VIP lounge-along with a business centre for any corporate needs. Book your stay at The Grand Dragon Ladakh when you travel to Leh for an experience like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Grand Dragon Ladakh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Dragon Ladakh Hotel Leh
Grand Dragon Ladakh Leh
The Grand Dragon Ladakh Leh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Dragon Ladakh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.