We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its Heavenly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tso Moriri Lake

Tso Moriri Lake
India
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 82 things to do in Ladakh
Attraction details
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Its Heavenly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Just an awesome place to visit.. The 6 hour journey to the lake in itself is very rewarding although tiring. With the Indus by your side all the time, its a wonderful experience. Places to stay aren't exactly great.. Local people only rent their homes. But to experience such a delightful place, a little bit of discomfort is worth it...

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    3
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shimla, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A lake of a thousand moods..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

A lake of a thousand moods is something that i had read about the Tso Moriiri Lake in Ladakh, only to believe it's absolutely true !! What a beautiful place..wow !! after an arduous drive of six hours from sarchu through pang and turning from debring ..we reached at about 5 pm to this most beautiful spot on earth. Did a round of the lake which had this fantastic road around it and then we were at the Korzok village to look for a place to stay. There was some village festival (Drupka Council Festival ..i think ..) going on ..so every thing seemed packed and no accommodation was available until while walking through the market some local person met me and mentioned about a home stay that he recently opened..we checked it out and found it surprisingly neat and clean. The had named it the Tsomoriri Lake view Hotel . Brilliant view from the rooms and i think it was by far the best accommodation in Tso Moriri . After a super shower in the morning we walked it to the lake , which kept changing its colours every few minutes !! Crystal clear waters and mountains in the backdrop ...wow...wow and wow !! A visit to the monastery where the festival was happening and then we were off to Leh !! our visit was more than worth it !!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lake - Must visit for a night's stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

It takes around 7 hours from Leh to Tsomoriri lake. I was actually on my way to Pangong lake but due to landslide I could not proceed futher. Hence, we decided to skip Pangong lake and proceed to Tsomoriri instead of wasting 2 days of our trip.

The travel of 7 hours from leh was tiring as conditions of roads at some places were really bad but the travel was worth it. Once we landed at Tsomoriri the view of the lake from our tent was outstanding. The lake changes its colour every few hours. The view during the late evening was amazing.

The stay in the tent was not upto the mark. The food was average. There was no electricity through out the night. We visited the lake next morning and dipped our feet in the chilled water of the lake. It was an amazing experience. Should you have more time you can just spend couple of hours sitting by the lake and enjoy the magnificent view. It's worth it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lake...after a tiring drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

It takes around 7 hours to reach Tso-moriri lake. Road is good, compared to Pangong lake. Very limited staying options are there at Tso-moriri. Filthy guest houses, with shared toilets are available. Tents are a good option if weather is ok. If you are not adventurous, book a tent in advance.
Nice place to watch birds.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Dont miss this place if you are in Ladakh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

One of the best lakes i have visited. 16000 feet above sea level. gets totally frozen in winter. different shades of colours you can see in lake as the day passes. sight to watch

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tso Moriri Lake also viewed

Ladakh, Jammu and Kashmir
 
Ladakh, Jammu and Kashmir
 

Been to Tso Moriri Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tso Moriri Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.