We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and nice museum/views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kloster Hemis

Kloster Hemis
Karustrasse | 33° 51′ N, 77° 42′ O, India
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 76 attractions in Ladakh
Type: Religious Sites
Attraction Details
Top Contributor
650 reviews 650 reviews
290 attraction reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
“Beautiful and nice museum/views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Hemis Monastery was a highlight. The grounds are extensive--- and well laid out. The main visiting area has a nice courtyard with several temples to visit, a museum with an extensive collection, and a nice shop. Also a few restaurants/snack shops and bathrooms available. Since i'm not a fan of crowds, however, i cannot imagine being here for the Hemis festival----would be jammed.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Best monastery museum in Ladakh...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This place is on 1 hr drive from leh towards manali. This monastery is having rich culture. We found that museum is having thousand years old items. Monastery is also selling books, ladakh calendars and photographs.

Visitors has to pay 50/- per visit. Mobile and wallet are not allowed in museum. Visitor has to submit items in locker.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Highly Overrated!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This is the first monastery you would be taken by any driver/guide to visit as it is the largest of all. The monastery is surrounded by hills from all the sides, so you would find nothing picturesque in it. The monks are also not interested in talking to you much. The entry fees (INR 50 for Indians) is also high as compared to other monasteries. Nevertheless, people do come here in good numbers as it is the most famous one and near to the so called Hemis National Park (kind of non-existent). I think a trip of Alchi would be abetter option as compared to this!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Not impressive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We heard a lot about the Hemis monastery being the largest and richest monastery in Ladakh, and planned this as the final of several monasteric trips there (sort of trying to leave the best for last). However this was the least impressive of the lot. Although large, it is neither pictureque, nor attractive. The monastery seems in dire need of repair. There are stiff entry fees, and the attitudes of monks neither welcoming nor polite (compared to other monasteries). Final word: I find it suprising to say this, but we spent the least time there and qould recommend avoiding Hemis altogether. Alchi, Likir, Thiksey, Rizong, Diskit are among many other fabulous monasteries to visit.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Largest monastery complex”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Hemis monastery is the largest monastery complex in Ladakh. It is one of the oldest too. There is an entry fee of Rs. 50. The monastery also houses a museum which we didn't visit due to time constraint.

We did't find the monastery very interesting but I guess it is worth a visit during the annual festival.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kloster Hemis also viewed

Ladakh, Jammu and Kashmir
Ladakh, Jammu and Kashmir
 
Ladakh, Jammu and Kashmir
 

Been to Kloster Hemis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kloster Hemis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kloster Hemis to your Saves list