We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & family treatment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wangnoo Houseboats

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Wangnoo Houseboats to your Saves list
Wangnoo Houseboats
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Opposite Nagin Club, Nigeen Lake | P.O. Box 130, Srinagar 190001, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 98 Hotels in Srinagar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Friendly & family treatment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Srinagar was last stop of our honeymoon trip... after staying in luxury hotels we were appehensive about houseboat stay... but our fears turned out false ... it was well maintained luxurious houseboat... and best part were Mr Farooq, Bilal and his team who treated us more like a family guest ..... When we by car , the driver bought us at other side if lake ... Mr Farooq was kind to arrange a shikara boat to get us to the houseboat ... houseboat had a captain whom you can ask anytime for service ..My wife had throat problem and captain arraged hot water regularly ... in the night we enjoyed the view from end of houseboat ... there we could sleep and see the view in front, enjoy the breeeze ... it was most romantic , ... we needed some samplings of kashmir roses trees and the captain promptly arranged the same ... backyard of houseboat has nice apple and rose trees.. they have maintained beautiful garden there... ... Mr farooq also arranged for us a car to take us around the city , a shikara for a evening ride on Lake and later Drop to the airport ..... the food was also good ... we were pleased to have very homely food here as were tired if high oil and heavy masala food in our stays at earlier hotels .... when left from here to our hometown... we forgot our mobile at the houseboat .... we got afraid ... when we called however Mr Bilal assured us that he will try to send our phone to our home... he tried to send by courier however they refused to send mobiles ... then Mr Bilal sent phone thru some family friend who was travelling to our hometown in pune and we received our phone... we are very thankful to Mr Bilal for this kind help... overall stay at this houseboat was more of family stay and we would recommend this to anyone

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WangnooBoats, Manager at Wangnoo Houseboats, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience.
Encouraging feedback from guests like you drives us to constantly improve our standards.

It is heartening to receive your appreciation for the overall layout of our houseboat and our services. It gives me immense pleasure to note that we were able to leave a lasting impression on you on your recent stay. Your encouraging feedback will be shared with the team who works very hard to create special memories for our guests with personalized service.

All of us look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Srinagar.

Note: Please be careful of some fake websites created by few people. Please reconfirm your reservation by contacting our reservation team on the number provided on tripadvisor page or by visiting our legal website as published on tripadvisor page.

Thanks and Regards,
Managing Team
+91 9796106666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    35
    13
    2
    6
See reviews for
44
31
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I was recommended to Wangnoo houseboats by one of my friends and when I searched on Google I found lot of website and I was confused then I got there number from tripadvisor and I also found there legal website link from tripadvisor only. I booked the honeymoon exclusive houseboat for two nights and when I entered the houseboat it was like a real Mahraja Palace. The houseboat interiors were beautifully carved the bathroom was very clean with running hot water and bathtub. The view from the houseboat is absolutely breathtaking and very beautiful.
The hospitality of Mr Arshid was absolutely amazing and the he provided us lot of valuable suggestions like best place to shop, best restaurant to have lunch etc.
The food was homely cooked and the service of Mr Dien (Houseboy) was amazing. He is always there for you.
After our check out from the houseboat we checked in to a hotel for 4 nights and we missed the houseboat and the service so much that we cancelled 2 nights from hotel and came back to wangnoo houseboats to enjoy the real taste of kashmir.
I really enjoyed my stay and will for sure come back. We are missing the food, service, hospitality and everything we had during our stay.
I highly recommended wangnoo houseboats to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WangnooBoats, Manager at Wangnoo Houseboats, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience.
Encouraging feedback from guests like you drives us to constantly improve our standards.

It is heartening to receive your appreciation for the overall layout of our houseboat and our services. It gives me immense pleasure to note that we were able to leave a lasting impression on you on your recent stay. Your encouraging feedback will be shared with the team who works very hard to create special memories for our guests with personalized service.

All of us look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Srinagar.

Note: Please be careful of some fake websites created by few people. Please reconfirm your reservation by contacting our reservation team on the number provided on tripadvisor page or by visiting our legal website as published on tripadvisor page.

Thanks and Regards,
Managing Team
+91 9796106666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I just came back from Srinagar and as advised by Ashis Roy I booked One Super deluxe room with Breakfast & Dinner option. I contacted Directly to wangnoo house boats owner and paid advice online payment. My booking was confirmed and as Mr Arshid ( Wangnoo owner) said on reaching the spot the shikara was sent to pick us up and dropped us to the house boat.

Only confusing was that the houseboat which he took us has a the name marco polo and not wangnoo. On inquiry I found out that wangnoo has a group of houseboats and marco polo also belonged to wangnoo ? I am not sure wether it is correct, but the booking was honored.

The room was quite good with two large beds and the food was good, home like, but the service was bit slow. rest the location was peaceful ( only there were family with children staying in next house board and were making noise till late night- well cant do anything about that they are here on holiday to enjoy!!).

The shikara guy who dropped us expected some money for his service, I thought it was included but nevertheless I paid him some small amount.

Advantage of this houseboat was that it has land access as well so you need not to call shikara every time in case you are staying for longer period. Disadvantage is that it is bit far from main city and you need a conveyance to go to city area.

We stayed one night and overall it was ok experience. I wish I could have stayed on the main Wangnoo houseboat.

Good Luck guy's

Room Tip: Try getting a back room if possible and make sure you get the main wangnoo houseboat. i guess that i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WangnooBoats, Manager at Wangnoo Houseboats, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing you experience.

We are glad to inform you that we have a group of houseboats under one name and HB Marcopolo is one of the houseboat form our group.
We have noted down the points that you have highlighted in the review and we hope to improve on that as we have been known for providing quality service from years.

We look forward to welcome you back and assure of our best service and cooperation.

Warm Regards
Managing Team
Wangnoo Houseboats
+91 9796106666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Super facilities & hospitality. The caretaker was very genuine & helped us arrange the transport economically. Food was just home-like. The ambiance of the houseboat was superb. The rooms are average.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WangnooBoats, Manager at Wangnoo Houseboats, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience.
Encouraging feedback from guests like you drives us to constantly improve our standards.

It is heartening to receive your appreciation for the overall layout of our houseboats and our services. It gives me immense pleasure to note that we were able to leave a lasting impression on you on your recent stay. Your encouraging feedback will be shared with the team who works very hard to create special memories for our guests with personalized service.

All of us look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Srinagar.

Note: Please be careful of some fake websites created by few people.
Please reconfirm your reservation by contacting our reservation team on the number provided on tripadvisor page or by visiting our legal website as published on tripadvisor page.

Thanks and Regards,
Managing Team
+91 9796106666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New delhi
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed for one night with family. We stayed at the Yaadgar/Inshallah houseboat. Had two bedrooms. The rooms very nicely furnshed with carved, wooden furniture and Kashmiri drapes. Bathroom was surprisingly big and spotless clean.
The Lake istelf is much better choice to stay as compared to Dal as it is not crowded and very peaceful. The views were out of the world. Sitting with a blanket and sipping tea in the balcony with the sound of raindrops in lake was heavenly...
Wife was excited by the sellers on shikara who would spot you on the houseboat balcony and come aboard to sell things from handicrafts to hand made chocolates. Be sure to bargain heavily though.he service was very good, food tasted homemade and per one's taste. The only time in entire Kashmir trip where we got food light on stomach..
Highly recommended. Can say Kashmir trip is incomplete without the houseboat experience. And Yadgaar surely stands true to the name..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WangnooBoats, Manager at Wangnoo Houseboats, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience.
Encouraging feedback from guests like you drives us to constantly improve our standards.

It is heartening to receive your appreciation for the overall layout of our houseboats and our services. It gives me immense pleasure to note that we were able to leave a lasting impression on you on your recent stay. Your encouraging feedback will be shared with the team who works very hard to create special memories for our guests with personalized service.

All of us look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Srinagar.

Note: Please be careful of some fake websites created by few people.
Please reconfirm your reservation by contacting our reservation team on the number provided on tripadvisor page or by visiting our legal website as published on tripadvisor page.

Thanks and Regards,
Managing Team
+91 9796106666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Our family of 4 (including 2 young children) stayed for one night on 26th May 2013 in their houseboat. Forget hospitality, the terrible service and “couldn’t care” attitude of Mr Mohd made it a one dismal show.
After checking into the houseboat we were left unattended for almost 6 hours and no bells or telephone was available to call for any service. Simple request for shampoo sachet and replacement of fused bulbs were ignored. We were not served the committed complimentary drinks. Even the Buffet dinner and breakfast was limited and request for additional food was responded by non-availability. There were no facilities like WIFI, swimming pool and kids activity area as shown in their web site. While checking out we were made to pay extra for the pickle which was provided with the meal!
We were completely cheated. All in all it was the worst stay ever!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WangnooBoats, Manager at Wangnoo Houseboats, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Wangnoo Houseboats.!!
As a reservation manager of Wangnoo Houseboats we have not hosted you at all.
We have been facing few problems due to lot of fake websites under our name and offline agents.
We request all our esteem guest to please reconfirm your bookings from our booking department, if done with any offline agent or from any website.
Please call us on the number provided on tripadvisor or click on the hotel website link as published on tripadvisor.
We are really sorry for the problems that the guest have faced due to a fake website.

Thanks and regards
Wangnoo Arshid
+91 9796106666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We have stayed here for 2 nights.
In the beginning when we were making our plan for srinagar we had little doubt that should we stay in a houseboat for a day or not. After talking to mr. Arshid(owner of wangnoo houseboats) over phone we were convinced by him that we should stay in the houseboat for our stay of 2 nights.
On arriving srinagar we saw dal lake and were sad to see such chaos and so many houseboats in dal lake.
When we reached nigeen lake we were relieved to see a very calm atmosphere around the place.
On entering our houseboat we felt as if we were the king of nigeen lake.
A beautiful verandah/sitout followed with spacious drawing room with tata sky and lcd tv, followed with a spacious dining area welcomed us.
The bedroom is quite spacious with an attached dresser and a star rated bathroom.
Nice food and great personal care made our trip wonderful.
Keep it up Arshid.
Hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WangnooBoats, Manager at Wangnoo Houseboats, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience.
Encouraging feedback from guests like you drives us to constantly improve our standards.

It is heartening to receive your appreciation for the overall layout of our houseboats and our services. It gives me immense pleasure to note that we were able to leave a lasting impression on you on your recent stay. Your encouraging feedback will be shared with the team who works very hard to create special memories for our guests with personalized service.

All of us look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Srinagar.

Note: Please be careful of some fake websites created by few people.
Please reconfirm your reservation by contacting our reservation team on the number provided on tripadvisor page or by visiting our legal website as published on tripadvisor page.

Thanks and Regards,
Managing Team
+91 9796106666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wangnoo Houseboats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wangnoo Houseboats

Address: Opposite Nagin Club, Nigeen Lake | P.O. Box 130, Srinagar 190001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 98 Hotels in Srinagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wangnoo Houseboats 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wangnoo Houseboats have 8 rooms,(1 Suite Rooms & 7 Super Deluxe Rooms) surrounded by thousands of flowering lotus, are truly made for emperors. Each is approximately 50 yards long. One end contains three/four bedrooms fit for royalty - each with bathroom and dressing room and all the conveniences necessary for private matters and elegant dressing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Wangnoo Houseboats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wangnoo Houseboats Srinagar, Kashmir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wangnoo Houseboats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.