We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dar-Es-Salam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Dar-Es-Salam to your Saves list
Hotel Dar-Es-Salam
Nagin lake, Srinagar 190003, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 92 Hotels in Srinagar
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous Property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

This is one of the Gems of the "Purana Shehar" in Srinagar, Kashmir. This is a old home converted into a boutique hotel whilst maintaining the charms of a erstwhile regal house. The rooms are fantastic ( do not take the smaller rooms ; they have 2 ) ; coupled with the service, food, even the cutlery makes you feel royal in every sense.

As it turned out this was the cheapest hotel we stayed at in terms of cost and truly deserves the higher ranking than The Lalit and The Taj in Srinagar. The hotel lawn is awesome to have a cup of tea in the evenings and even to start your Shikara Ride on Nagin Lake.

All in All a MUST Stay place when you visit Srinagar.

Room Tip: Try and get the rooms in the main wing ( erstwhile home ) as the New Wing is at the back and doesn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    73
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
130
62
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

was worth a stay here , the staff , food , ambience was too gud . the hotel itself makes u feel u r in kashmir with its beautiful handicrafts displayed all around . excellent plz keep up the good work .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed from 8th to 13 th.april. 2 rooms
Except for 1 night we had the deluxe rooms. Best rooms are no 1, 4, 8 12. Must get a room in the main building with front entrance.
Antique furniture well furnished. The bathrooms though good can improve.
Food is excellent - primarily for non -vegs.
Impecapable care and service - thats what a boutique hotel should be and this hotel lives upto.
The manager Mr. Hameed managers well and the owner keeps a keen eye.
If you are not looking for 5 star large properties - then this is the best.

Room Tip: Best rooms are 1, 8, 12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Why you should stay here:
1. Simply the best lake view you can get in Srinagar

We stayed at this property during April 2014 and mainly for its location being on Nagin Lake. And truly, I don't think for it lake view can be beaten by even other two five star properties for the simple reason it On the lake. The others due to their size and being hotels and not boutique have to be away from the lake or on height.

2. Excellent common areas and well maintained garden
The garden has a huge variety of Bonsai and is very well maintained with flowers incl Tulips and other very good varieties The Dinner room is extremely inviting and very well done as are the common areas. What you see on the hotel website is what you get. Nothing less.

3. Staff is courteous but a bit too commercial. (see below)

4. Feeling of being at home/ meet other people

You will inevitably say hi to other guests either in common areas or while having dinner given there would be only a few other handful other guests and can share notes on shopping etc. It adds to overall experience.

What is not so good

1. Its not as luxurious as it should be and the experience can vary depending upon room you may get

a. we were offered two room options on check in, one was near the reception and was so small that even extra bed will not fit which was already mentioned at the time of booking and with our luggage, one just can't walk. I wondered, why was that not considered by the management even before providing this option. Having said, we stayed in a larger wooden room, which was comfortable except for access being from outside the main building. There are only 3 lake view rooms which the management very clearly tells that you may or may not get depending upon the your booking vs other booking (family size, no of rooms etc). Having said, for same price, you may have a difference of experience. I do believe, they should price the experience differently depending upon the room size and view.

b. A luxury boutique needs to have at least 4 pillows on bed and much better quality of toiletries.

c. Need to install air purifiers/ exhaust fans in bathroom to keep them fresh.


2. Staff/owners needs to understand that everything can't be charged for, if its a luxury boutique property

a. my wife asked to refill water bottle for the kids at the time of checkout, was told that water will be chargeable, it was not about the cost, it was about the experience.

b. Food is excellent and spread is above average for a 14 room property, but not luxurious. (only one dessert at dinner, despite property being fully occupied that night. On Breakfast, were told that if you want a different filling for paranthas, should have told previous night)

Breakfast is good but spread is just average vis-a-vis other hotels that may be able to afford is similar budget.

So, overall, a great place to stay for its location and above average service and comfort.

Room Tip: Nothing like getting a lake view room. But nothing is assured, its your good luck at the time of che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHDS, General Manager at Hotel Dar-Es-Salam, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
This review has been written by our esteemed guest Mr. Subodh Gupta who came and stayed with us in the 1st Week April this year.

We would like to start by thanking Mr. Gupta for his review and for the many words of encouragement that will help us intensify our ever so growing passion and endeavor to provide top quality accommodation and to satisfy the overall holiday motivations of our clients.
We are thrilled that he had a keen eye and has appreciated the way we have done up the common areas and that he enjoyed the garden itself and the views from our garden that is right on the banks of the Nageen lake and at the juncture where the Dal lake meets the Nageen Lake.

Mr. Gupta has pointed out a few shortcomings that we have taken into consideration and we would like to throw some light onto those for the benefit of Mr. Gupta and our potential clients.

1. Some of the basic facilities that all our rooms are equipped with are 40 inch LED Televisions with Tata SKY HD, Daikin Hot and Cold Airconditioning systems, Electric Kettles , Safe Lockers, intercom with direct dialing, 24 hour power back up and hot water, electric blankets, 7 inch spring spa mattresses, High quality Linen and Duvets .

2. Mr. Gupta was offered the slightly smaller room specifying from the beginning that it was "one" of the two options we had available for him that day as we thought that it would be nice to give our clients a choice between which part of the property the guest would like to stay in as the option was available at that time. However we regret that it came across as maybe not a wise choice for us to do so though that was the only intention with which we did offer a choice to Mr. Gupta in the first place.

3. In terms of toiletries we regret that Mr. Gupta actually just missed our new and improved Toiletries line that was introduced in every room starting 16th of April'2014 as they were in transit from New Delhi before that. We have introduced high end Ayurvedic/herbal toiletries with the following in every bathroom to enhance the overall experience of our clients:
1. "Citrus Basil" Hand Made Cleaning Bars.
2. Shampoos with essential oils of Bergamot Vetiver / Citrus Citodora.
3. Moisturizers with essential oils of Bergamot Vetiver .
4. Dental Kits and Shaving Kits in our new 4 colour high end packaging.
5. Shower caps and Disposal bags as provided earlier.

4. We do keep only 2 pillows in every room however extra pillows are easily available on request.

5. Regarding Meals and our spread we would like to mention that we charge presently INR 600/- + 10 % service charges for Lunch and the same for Dinner and INR 350/- + 10 % service charges for our Breakfast . This is lower than most of the Hotels in our class/category in the Valley. Our mineral water is chargeable at INR 35/- and while we do apologize to Mr. Gupta as it seems he was offended when the waiter charged him for an Extra bottle however it is nothing but our humble submission that we do provide complimentary RO water which is very safe for drinking, however if a guest specifically requests for Bottled Water, it is chargeable only then .
We do give complimentary mineral water in every room and also Mineral water is complimentary during Meals for guests on our Meal Plans as well.

6. Lastly, it is again our humble submission that though we do have a promotional line on our website for many years which says " Experience Boutique Luxury" , we are definitely working towards the luxury aspect of the line and will in the coming months introduce a lot more than what we are offering now however we will in turn have to definitely increase our prices to make it a viable venture and we therefore leave it to Mr. Gupta and our potential clientele to decide as to whether we are presently with our present prices overcharging for what we are offering as a complete package.

We thank Mr. Gupta once again as more than anything he has been very appreciative of the overall experience he had with us and his constructive suggestions will definitely go a long way in helping us improve the overall experience fanned by the overall holiday motivations our our clientele.

We hope and look forward to welcome Mr. Gupta at our Property in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

The view from the room was excellent, the room was lovely, the hotel...small but well maintained and the staff .........all so helpful. Keep it up, I would definitely recommend this hotel. The Walnut pastry was mouthwatering.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I came to Srinagar after 27 years last week. I got an opportunity to stay at this boutique property, & find it the best location in Srinagar. The hotel "Dar-Es-Salam", we found it very beautiful property. The hotel is just on the bank of famous " Nigeen Lake". The Staff & service of the hotel was very good n prompt. It was my wonderful experience to stay there. It gave me the feeling of my home.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

A gem in Srinagar which otherwise offers either very lacklustre hotels or the two which are five star hence too expensive. The rooms here are super comfortable and the ambience old world and aesthetic.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dar-Es-Salam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dar-Es-Salam

Address: Nagin lake, Srinagar 190003, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Srinagar
#5 Romantic Hotel in Srinagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel Dar-Es-Salam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dar-Es-Salam Srinagar, Kashmir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dar-Es-Salam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.