We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful experiance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RK Sarovar Portico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added RK Sarovar Portico to your Saves list
RK Sarovar Portico
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Next to United Nations Head Office, Sonwar, Srinagar 190001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 98 Hotels in Srinagar
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful experiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I was so pleased with our stay in Rk Sarovar portico.All the three buildings are beautiful.As soon as you step into the lobby you are met with luxury,style,and lovely lobby staff.we were offered a tradational drink namely 'kawa'at arrival and then taken up to the room,Huge bathrooms,big cupboards,wifi,well finished furniture,all the modern amminities,coffee machine-you name it,we had it.the location was great.the room was well heated so we were able to take few good naps.we stayed here for a 4 days even though we were supposed to stay for 2 days only.their warm and lovely services pulled us to overstay for 2more days.
What a graet place in Srinagar.
It would be great if i could go to this place again.

Berry

Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    88
    34
    21
    19
See reviews for
111
49
11
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

WE were stayed in RK Sarovar Portico for 3 days for Business Conference and the experience was very nice . The location is safe and decent with very warm & polite Staff. Best option for Corporate Conferences in Srinagar.
Food quality was very delicious.

Room Tip: All rooms are good and clean .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RK M, General Manager at RK Sarovar Portico, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Ratnakar,

Greetings from R K Sarovar Portico Hotel, Srinagar !!

We have noted with pleasure that you have found our services to your complete satisfaction.

We take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us and providing us your valuable feedback.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Srinagar, Jammu and Kashmir, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I never go online and rate anything but I had to take the time and express how great my stay was at Rk Sarovar portico.It was extremely clean and comfortable.the food was delightful as you cannot stop liking your fingers.the best part was meeting the Genral manger Mr.Alam.He is the most kind hearted gentleman, who had great suggestions on things to do in the city. The staff here is awesome and makes you feel on top of the world everytime.As you enter from the Main Gates you can't stop yourself by saying Wow at every step you go in.I've traveled around the world and this has been one of my most joyful stays. The location is great as well.there is one lady namely Amreen who makes your stay more comfortable and provides you all necessary things on just one call.it was an Awesome experience and will gladly go back there again!!!Miss you guys.Keep up the good work.

Barket

Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were stayed in this hotel for two days for business meeting .rksarovarr is the best hotel im srinagar .staff, service', food all were good.the banquet hall is quite modern were large meetings will be held. We thank rk sarovar for hospitality.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RK M, General Manager at RK Sarovar Portico, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Kuldeep,

Greetings from R K Sarovar Portico Hotel, Srinagar !!

We have noted with pleasure that you have found our services to your complete satisfaction.

We take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us and providing us your valuable feedback.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The services provided were exceptional and very warm hospitality. the staff adjusted us for an extra day on very short notice and this humane approach in times of the media created flood scare was very special.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RK M, General Manager at RK Sarovar Portico, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Jaidev Dhillon,

Greetings from R K Sarovar Portico Hotel, Srinagar !!

We have noted with pleasure that you have found our services to your complete satisfaction.

We take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us and providing us your valuable feedback.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

...else you will be worken up at 5am by the call of the muezzin, and the subsequent prayers which continue on the loudspeaker for over an hour ! The shrine of Hazrat Syed Yakoob Ali is right next door.

Many of the rooms do not have a view and they did not tell us that when we did the booking. Finally we were able to negotiate one room with a view and one without, when we checked in. The ones without a view just face a wall.

We ordered local food as is our usual strategy - least probability of the hotel screwing it up. But the rogan josh meat was tough, the butt-haaq was undercooked and the curd we ordered took half an hour to arrive.

This hotel is part of a national chain so we expected some basic minimum hygiene factors as a given. But we found :

1. Paint stains in the bathroom.
2. Flush had some problems.
3. It was raining and instead of a doormat, they had just put a dirty towel at the main lobby entrance. Small things but these can really mar your image.

None of the above are major problems, but they need to be highlighted because of the price that these guys charge. For that price one expects the finish to be perfect, at least.

Whats Good ?
1. The location. Close to everything but not in the congested area. Close to some VIP/posh areas so one can plan a morning run.
2. The senior staff. We decided to move to another hotel given the morning experience and the viewless room, and they had no issues cancelling one day's reservation, and they were profusely apologetic. But some of the junior staff, especially in the restaurant, were quite raw (trainees probably)

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Yes its true its a best hotel in J&k Region with a true Sarovor Portico experience may be its ambience,cleanness & hygiene, hospitality, food .Its a definite recommendation from my side for people visiting Srinagar who have a rich taste...!!!!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RK M, General Manager at RK Sarovar Portico, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Ankush,

Greetings from R K Sarovar Portico Hotel, Srinagar !!

We have noted with pleasure that you have found our services to your complete satisfaction.

We take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us and providing us your valuable feedback.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to RK Sarovar Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RK Sarovar Portico

Address: Next to United Nations Head Office, Sonwar, Srinagar 190001, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 98 Hotels in Srinagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — RK Sarovar Portico 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
R K Sarovar Portico, Srinagar, is a contemporary and elegant retreat for the discerning business as well as leisure traveller. The hotel offers 55 well designed centrally heated guest rooms and suites equipped with all modern amenities such as LCD Televisions, tea / coffee maker, well stocked Mini Bar, direct dial telephones, electronic safes etc. The hotel is located just 15 Kms from the Jammu - Srinagar Highway, 12 Kms From the airport, half a km to the dal lake, half a km to the commercial hub lalchowk, 3 kms to the famous mughal gardens. The meeting and conference venues here are perfect to address requirements for MICE groups and social events. Guests will have the opportunity to unwind by the state-of-the-art gymnasium.Srinagar Local Information :Set in the heart of the Kashmir Valley, Srinagar is dominated by the imposing Dal Lake and its twisting waterways, Nagin Lake and the Jhelum River break up the urban area. Not just the expanse of water, the lakes is filled with houseboats, villages, narrow water canals, lotus & vegetable gardens and houses and shops. Life on the lakes, as witnessed from the confines of a Shikara, is unique. On land, a stroll through the terraced hillsides of the 400 year old Mughal Gardens is a treat to the eyes. Apart from this, the city is also famous for its traditional Kashmiri handicrafts – like hand woven silks and embroidered shawls, and dry fruits. PLACES OF INTEREST: Dal Lake: (1 km) : The Dal Lake is Srinagar’s most distinctive landmark. It is divided by causeways into four parts, the Nagin Lake being one of them. The best way of exploring the lake and the sites on its shores by Shikara boat.Hari Parbat (12 kms) : the hill of Hari Parbat is considered sacred to the Hindus, Muslim and Sikhs alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your RK Sarovar Portico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
RK Sarovar Portico Srinagar, Kashmir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RK Sarovar Portico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.