We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden of peace” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mughal Gardens

Mughal Gardens
Srinagar, India
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 52 Attractions in Srinagar
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
Attraction details
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Garden of peace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Very green, full of flowers everywhere. A must visit, if you are in Srinagar. I liked the vastness of the Garden.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    86
    52
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Bring you back to time past. Very well laid out and maintained. I was very pleased to see hundreds of Indian families on holiday. A bit noisy and children tend to throww rubbish about

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Visual treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Srinagar is very famous for its Mughal gardens. These gardens were made by the Mughal kings during the seventeenth century. Most of these gardens are stepped and they must have looked amazing when they were made. Today, although thousands of people visit them daily, but the upkeep is poor. It is quite unfortunate that history and art is not being preserved the way it should be.

Nevertheless, visiting these gardens is a must on your visit to Srinagar. Avoid visiting any of the gardens on a holiday as they become overcrowded.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Okay - wotrh 1 visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Except for the Pari Mahal, rest is very crowded.

However, try the water at Chasme Shahi.

Rest all is tourist trap.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“VISIT OF SRINAGAR IN THE MONTH OF MAY END”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Today I am back from four days srinagar tour.
My first and foremost advice to the tourist not to plan a tour to Srinagar in the month of May or afterwards in summer, because the beauty of srinagar is nothing without ice. I could touch the ice only at Aparwath 2 nd phase of Gondola ride that also very limited. I will write the review for the place as mentioned above.
Mughal Garden (Nishat Bagh, Cheshma Shahi)
There is nothing special in these garden in the month of May, you can see this type of gardens at so may places in India i.e. OOty, Kodai Kanal, Delhi Mughal garden, Chandigarh, Mysore, Bangalore etc. But I feel that in winter season in the month of Mar and first week of April you may have better unique look of these garden with white snow hilly back ground.
In this visit I am really disappointed with the view. This is not at all worthy to visit this garden during summer.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mughal Gardens also viewed

 
Srinagar, Kashmir
Srinagar, Kashmir
 

Been to Mughal Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mughal Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.