We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay and awesome experience in Kashmir” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oasis Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Srinagar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Oasis Guest House
Save
You added The Oasis Guest House to your Saves list
187 Sunny Heights Lane | Habak Batapora Off Old Shalimar Road, Srinagar 190006, India   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 240 Srinagar B&B and Inns
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great stay and awesome experience in Kashmir”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had a great stay at the Oasis Guest House in Srinagar. Located close to the Nigeen Lake and against the backdrop of the mountains, the Oasis Guest House with its well furnished and decorated rooms and great views is a perfect place to enjoy your holiday.
I visited Srinagar with my family and stayed there for 5 nights and also a night at their houseboat on the Nigeen lake. On their suggestion, we took the Shikara ride early in the morning from their houseboat on the Nigeen lake. This is a great way of experiencing a ride through the backwaters connecting the Nigeeen to Dal lake – especially a nice way to visit the early morning floating markets.
The hospitality and friendliness that we experienced at the Oasis Guest House was indeed one of the best parts of our trip and a great experience. Manzoor, Neelofar and Nazeer were really great hosts; they organized our trip very well, including the visits to Gulmarg, Sonamarg, stay at the houseboat and the Shikara rides, airport pick-ups, drops and did everything to make sure we had a comfortable stay.
The food definitely needs a special mention - it was awesome! We were looking for authentic Kashmiri food and couldn't ask for more. The conversations that we had with Manzoor, Neelofar and Nazeer – be it about travel or the local people – gave us a better idea about the place itself and its culture.

Also, my wife and I would like to thank them for the complimentary stay after we returned from our trek. I would love to stay at the Oasis Guest House again and would definitely recommend it to anyone planning a trip to Kashmir.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoasisgh, Owner at The Oasis Guest House, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Oasis Guest,

Thank you for posting such a positive review on tripadvisor for The Oasis Guest House Srinagar.
We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us and for sharing your comments on your overall experience for future guests to read.

It's really rewarding to hear that you and your entire family enjoyed every minute of your holiday and that you will be returning again to experience more of Kashmir in future.

We thank you for your 5 Star recommendation and look forward to your return.

With Regards
Manzoor and Neelofar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
10
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Very comfortable house. High class.
But most important is that people do a warm welcome from the heart.
Ambiance is attractive. Beautiful house and view. Manzoor and Neelofar will make your rest unforgetteble.
Best food, best comfort, best price, best service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoasisgh, Owner at The Oasis Guest House, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Oasis Guest,

Thank you for your words of appreciation and for sharing your positive comments on your overall experience at The Oasis Guest House Srinagar.

We thank you for your valuable review and look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits to Srinagar.

With Regards
Manzoor and Neelofar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Still searching for better words to describe the wonderful experience of our stay in Oasis homestay. this place is not only for someone who want to remain close to the Srinagar city but also for someone who wants to remain out in open , and stay far away from the crowd to enjoy the scenic view of the mountains...chirping of the birds in the morning was a bliss in itself..

It was one of the best choice as everything was at its best and we couldn't have asked for more to make our trip memorable.
We would like to thank 3 people who made our trip so memorable.
Firstly, Mr. Manjoor who was very kind, friendly and made us feel very comfortable right from the minute we first interacted with him - starting from booking, arranging for cab,arranging our stay at the house boats, planning out our itinerary, taking care of all our needs till dropping us at the airport.
Next we would like to thank Ms Neelofar who prepared such delicious Kashmiri food that everyone loved it. The quantity was more for us but we couldn't resist eating till such time when we noticed a slight paunch and we thought maybe we should take a walk on the garden. Neelofar ,we would really like to thank you for your wonderful food and the warmth thats been showered on us..

And last but not the least Mr Nazeer who tirelessly took us on an extensive tour both inside and outside the city .He was a wonderful gentleman, a man of patience with an ever smiling face.

This is definitely one of the best homestays ....I would def recommend it to all my friends !! Thank you folks for making this summer very memorable.

Room Tip: Go for the top floor bedroom ..that view from there is just spectalcular
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoasisgh, Owner at The Oasis Guest House, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Oasis Guest,

Thank you for your words of appreciation and for sharing your positive comments on your overall experience at The Oasis Guest House Srinagar.

We are committed to providing a caring and professional service to our guests and your appreciation and acknowledgement of these qualities is our greatest reward.

We thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits to Srinagar.

With Regards
Manzoor and Neelofar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore,India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at this beautiful Homestay for 3nights and loved every bit of it ! Right from the time we were picked up from the airport,everything was well organised and relaxed..loved the home cooked food and the rooms were super clean and had a great view of the mountains and lots of greenery around..our 2 year old daughter loved to hangout with the entire oasis family :) loved their garden also.

Location wise it's near to hazratbal and not too far from the dal lake & the Mughal garden..located in a quiet residential locality

Would love to go back to this cute little Homestay run by the Kashmiri-Aussie Couple (Manzoor & Niloufer)...

Room Tip: Any room which is facing the wooded area (completely green and overlooks the mountain)...I think we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoasisgh, Owner at The Oasis Guest House, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Oasis Guest,
Thank you for posting such a positive review on TripAdvisor for The Oasis Guest House Srinagar.
We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us and for sharing your comments for future guests to read.

We're delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and we are very much looking forward to your return.

Please tell little Miss K that we miss her coffee!

With Regards
Manzoor and Neelofar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The Oasis is a fantastic guest house, suburban in its spirit with cosmopolitan hosts in Manzoor and Neelofar who seem to continuously perfect the art of providing excellent service. We stayed for 3 nights and 4 days, had several meals and breakfast at the guesthouse - working in the guesthouse and travelling around Srinagar. Apart from the fantastic rooms, bathrooms, reliable internet and hot water supply - you will find in in your hosts - great culture, warmth and familial comfort, a microcosm of Kashmir's hospitality and its people!

We strongly recommend the Oasis for families, friends, couples and anyone who seeks space, escape and comfort, and at the same time a place that isnt very far away from the heart of Srinagar. No smoking, no alcohol and sensitivity to the local people and their culture makes you a better guest, and lets your perspective expand, we were more truly able to indulge in Kashmir and Srinagar being able to experience its joys more clearly than through mere tourist goggles. The Oasis Guesthouse had a big part to play in this, and a quiet Eid weekend with streets silenced by protest and the army didnt push our moods down as much as it should have.

P.S: If you are staying here and like being talkative, pester Manzoor and Neelofar - they have fantastic cuisine, ideas, anecdotes, perspectives and experiences to share! Looking forward to again, this time with family.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoasisgh, Owner at The Oasis Guest House, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Oasis Guest,

Thank you for your words of appreciation and for sharing your positive comments on your overall experience at The Oasis Guest House Srinagar.

Our main priority at The Oasis is to provide a professional standard of service to our guests and to ensure that they feel the same comfort and safety as they would in their own homes.
Thank you for acknowledging all of these qualities in your review.

We also appreciate your honesty in saying that our policy of No smoking and No alcohol made you feel like a better guest and gave you a different perspective into our Kashmiri way of life.

Thank you for respecting our culture.

Looking forward to you returning home soon!

With Regards
Manzoor and Neelofar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Nestled away in the lush greens with a picturesque view of the mountains, The Oasis Guest House is truely the best way to treat yourself with a perfect holiday. Warm, cozy, immaculate rooms with handcrafted furniture, best views to treat your eyes with, absolutely divine home cooked food, warm and friendly hospitality by Neelofer and Manzoor... aah !! cant get better than this. Our honeymoon holiday was perfectly planned and organised by Neelofer and Manzoor...Such lovely generous couple with whom we could have a cuppa conversation about any topic under the sun...and neelofer.. thanks for teaching me how to make a perfect Cuppa of Kahwa...we enjoy it every day now.. :)
We even stayed a night at the house boat owned by the couple. the best experience ever is to wake up to the sounds for birds chirping, sit with a cuppa on the deck at sunrise with lotuses in full bloom all around.... and a romantic shikara ride into the sunset.
Picture Perfect!!!
Looking forward for our trekking holiday to laddakh n leh with Neelofer and Manzoor soon.
Cheers!!
PK and Jini

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoasisgh, Owner at The Oasis Guest House, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Oasis Guests,

Thank you for your words of appreciation and for sharing such positive comments on your overall experience at The Oasis Guest House Srinagar.

We’re delighted to hear that your holiday in Kashmir was “picture perfect” and will remain a romantic memory for you both.

It was an absolute pleasure planning your honeymoon and we look forward to welcoming you back for a more adventurous holiday trekking the majestic Himalayas.

With Regards
Manzoor and Neelofar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at the Oasis Guest House, Srinagar for 3 nights and 4 days. I think the single biggest defining factor of our stay at this boutique property was the warm and engaging hospitality offered by our hosts and its husband-wife proprietor duo, Neelofar and Manzoor.

Generous to the fault, offering stimulating conversation on a host of topics and excellent satvik food offerings coupled with flawlessly personal service, our hosts have truly converted this quaint Srinagar property into an outstanding B&B of international standards, suitable for rest and recreation in Srinagar, or even a pit stop on way to Leh/ Manali.

The place, which is tastefully designed and decorated, is located in serene surroundings, allowing one to listen to the chirpings of the birds and be alone with their thoughts. The place is located on the approachable fringes of civilization, allowing one to easily access the lakes of the city & the markets, while simultaneously escape from the daily joys and sorrows of city hustle-bustle.

Highly recommend and champion this boutique property, as an oasis for the body, mind the soul!

Room Tip: As Buddha says, be open to experiences at this property and you'll be pleasantly surprised with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoasisgh, Owner at The Oasis Guest House, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Oasis Guest,

Thank you for your words of appreciation and for sharing your positive comments on your overall experience at The Oasis Guest House Srinagar.

We are committed to consistently providing a caring and professional service to our guests and your appreciation and acknowledgement of these qualities is our greatest reward.

We thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits to Srinagar.

With Regards
Manzoor and Neelofar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oasis Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oasis Guest House

Address: 187 Sunny Heights Lane | Habak Batapora Off Old Shalimar Road, Srinagar 190006, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 240 B&Bs / Inns in Srinagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oasis Guest House Srinagar. Is a peaceful guest house in the Himalayan region of Kashmir offering private rooms all with en-suite,Free internet,LCD TV'S,separate dinning and lounge area for all guests, gardens, mountain views and a cultural experience of Srinagar. Only 3.5 Km from the famous Hazratbal Shrine on Dal Lake and 4.5 Km from the Shalimar and Nishat Gardens. Beautifully furnished with hand carved walnut wooden furniture and local hand embroidered soft furnishings. A place to relax, rejuvenate and learn about life in Kashmir. THE OASIS GUEST HOUSE SRINAGAR OFFICIAL RATES 2014 Double room - en-suite INR7500 + breakfast Single room - en-suite INR4500 + breakfast Extra person (10yrs + ) INR1200 + breakfast price includes tax ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Oasis Guest House Srinagar, Kashmir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oasis Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.