We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The essence of Kashmiri hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oasis Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Srinagar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Oasis Guest House
187 Sunny Heights Lane | Habak Batpora off Old Shalimar Road, Srinagar 190006, India   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% OFF ROOM RATE*
Ranked #1 of 217 Srinagar B&B and Inns
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The essence of Kashmiri hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Kashmir is renowned for its warm hospitality - and this is no where more evident than in the Guesthouse and home of Neelofar and Manzoor Langoo whose own family have worked in Srinagar's tourism industry for generations upon generations. From the little side lanes of Nigeen Lake to the mountains of Ladakh, if you want trusted local knowledge with boundless generosity this is where you'll find it.

Away from what can feel like the hussle-and-tussle of Srinagar's busy tourist centre, the Oasis Guesthouse will take you to a beautiful, intimate and local part of this city. Only a short walk from the famous Hazratbal Shrine, each morning I woke to a Himalayan mountain view where rainbows and eagles where not an uncommon sight.

Clean modern facilities, replete with ornate Kashmiri architecture and design, the Oasis Guesthouse is a home away from home run by people you can trust like home.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
7
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Neelofar and Manzoor opened their home to us with such warmth and hospitality that it neither felt like our first visit nor like being in a 'guest house'. A beautifully built house with the traditional Kashmiri combination of woodwork and brick walls, it is equipped with the best of amenities. The rooms are extremely clean and spacious. Furnished with traditional reed and wooden furniture, they offer amazing views of the mountainside. There is a lovely garden right in the front, ideal for reading, or better still, an afternoon nap.
But most of all, and as has been mentioned in other reviews of the Oasis, it was the impeccable warmth and generosity of our hosts which made our stay truly delightful. As my stay extended from one week to three, I cannot count the number of times they went out of their way in taking care of us. Coming from a family which has been attending to travelers for more than a hundred years now, hospitality is a way of life for Neelofar and Manzoor, and not just a business enterprise. Moreover, the endless stories we exchanged over meals and cups of nun chai enriched our experience of Srinagar multifariously. The proximity of their home to the Dargah on the one side and to the paddy fields of nearby villages on the way to Shalimar and Nishat gardens on the other, made it an ideal setting away from the typical humdrum touristy milieu.
What made my stay especially pleasurable was the interest that Neelofar and Manzoor have in traditional Kashmiri crafts. With a detailed knowledge of different kinds of stitches and embroideries, weaves and textures, designs and materials, our conversations often turned into delightful journeys into the lives and stories of these crafts as well as the craftsmen behind them.
It was lovely to stay at the Oasis. And whenever I return to Srinagar, I will look forward to stay there once again. I highly recommend it to all those who travel to places to explore their local flavor and soak up their innate hues, and who come away with deep bonds of friendship with the place and its people.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

After a long journey we were welcomed with tea and a smile. Mansoor and Neelifor , our hosts ,made us feel right at home. Our rooms were immaculate, with beautiful wooden floors and western appointed bathrooms, all recently built. After settling in we were fed an amazing meal of traditional Kashmiri food and got to share experiences with their family-we also played 'Karam' a Indian game like snooker which is played on a wooden board with ceramic pieces , heaps of fun. There was plenty of opportunity to be alone and gaze at the breathtaking views of the himalayas. The next morning we had breakfast (traditional bread 'roti') with fruit and headed off to the Mogul Gardens an amazing experience high in the hills. The following day we got a shikara(boat) ride on Lake Srinagar , which was stunning in the afternoon sun. The houseboats that adorn the lake were interesting and very ornate..perhaps we will try that next time. The highlight of our trip was the 'floating market' where people trade on the water selling all types of fruit, veggies and flowers ..all at 5am! Mansoor organised all our excursions and made it so easy for us to see the real Srinagar.. I highly recommend anyone to visit here..it was a cultural experience you want with the comforts of home..

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Home away from home is the way I would describe our stay at the Oasis guest house. I absolutely loved staying here. The rooms are beautifully decorated and furnished with all the amenities you'd want. They are very clean and comfortable as well. High standards of service made this guesthouse a stand out. Hospitality and service was top and staff superb. As we were there for 8 days it was enough time to judge the property completely. Fantastic rooms, dining space and great food. Wifi is also complementary.

What made it extraordinary was its owners. Niloufer and Manzoor are always ready to go out of their ways to keep their guests happy and comfortable at any hour of the day or night. Don't hesitate to ask them about their everyday experiences in Kashmir and overseas. They indeed have some amazing stories to share. By the time I left Oasis, I felt I have made some lifelong friends.

I really cannot recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

It was my second time staying with them. They make you feel so welcome and like you're part of the family.The rooms were great, always clean and if you needed something all you had to do was ask and it was right there, very efficient. Super comfortable stay for reasonable price. City tours and trekking trips can be organised with them. I traveled with my sister and aunt, it was a very enjoyable experience for us, especially the trekking. We felt safe. I would definitely go back to the same place again with more friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Oasis Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oasis Guest House

Address: 187 Sunny Heights Lane | Habak Batpora off Old Shalimar Road, Srinagar 190006, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 217 B&Bs / Inns in Srinagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oasis Guest House Srinagar. Is a peaceful guest house in the Himalayan region of Kashmir offering private rooms all with en-suite,Free internet,LCD TV'S,separate dinning and lounge area for all guests, gardens, mountain views and a cultural experience of Srinagar. Only 3.5 Km from the famous Hazratbal Shrine on Dal Lake and 4.5 Km from the Shalimar and Nishat Gardens. Beautifully furnished with hand carved walnut wooden furniture and local hand embroidered soft furnishings. A place to relax, rejuvenate and learn about life in Kashmir. THE OASIS GUEST HOUSE SRINAGAR OFFICIAL RATES 2014 Double room - en-suite INR7500 + breakfast Single room - en-suite INR4500 + breakfast Extra person (10yrs + ) INR1200 + breakfast price includes tax ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Oasis Guest House Srinagar, Kashmir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oasis Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Oasis Guest House to your Saves list