We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make it your your choice for stay while in Srinagar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Walisons Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Walisons Hotel to your Saves list
Walisons Hotel
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   1st Lane, Boulevard, Srinagar 190001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 240 Srinagar B&B and Inns
Noida, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Make it your your choice for stay while in Srinagar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is a very good place to stay in Srinagar and real value for money. Its a small hotel but is good one. The luxury room that I stayed in (Room no.114) is perhaps the biggest and most beautiful room in this hotel. It also had a connected room to it which can be blessing for those with grown up kids or in a group requiring two rooms.

The room furnishings are good and bathrooms are big sized and more importantly clean.

Its located a few Meters inside a lane right opposite Dal lake. Their restaurant was functional just a couple of days before my stay which made it self sufficient. There are quite a few eating outlets right outside the lane facing Dal lak offering north Indian food among other options.

Overall a good experience.

Need to

Room Tip: Not all rooms are beautiful. Pick good one and negotiate well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    56
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
64
29
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

It has a spacious family suite with excellent service. The best part about the hotel is its location, 2 mins walking from Dal Lake and it being off the road helps find peace in the noisy tourist hangout place. Homely comfort and the best hospitality experienced till date. I would definitely stay there if I go to Srinagar again.

Room Tip: If you are family of 4 then go for Family Suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanpur
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in this hotel in the month of June.Hotel is about 500 Meters from Boulevard Road at Dal Gate in alley opposite shikara gate 2.It is a small hotel but rooms are very well furnished and furnishing is chosen with excellent care. Bathrooms are of reasonable size. LCD TV has reasonable choice of channels. Manager was very helpful and corteous. Only problem is that alley entrance from Boulevard road has very smelly dustbins and traffic jam take place periodically. Vegetarian food is served in restaurent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Hi Guys

As per guest Review and for the rating of Trip advisor I directly contacted the hotel and got good rates and I booked on Suite for 2 nights (June 21-22'2013). I had paid advance in Feburary 2013 for my visit for june 2013.

The location is good, it is in the 1st inner lane of main Boulevard Road and has all the famous eating place around be it north, Punjabi, South, Jain, Gujarti etc. (please check the hygine and location before you make a choice) It is a totally vegetarian restaurant ( no eggs as well) so if you are pure vegetarian this is one of ok budget hotel to stay.

The rooms are good clean and spacious. As we had booked a Deluxe suite but on arrival we were supervised that they had upgrade us to family Suite which was good spacious with Four Beds beds (we were only 2 Adults) at no extra cost.

It was very comfortable, only problem was that the temperature at that time in sriganr June 21-22 was quite warm and even on night we had to use table fan (no fault of Hotel). We had booked with Breakfast.

The item is Breakfast were simple and falls in to four category which you have to choose 1 from each section. The food was nice. The service was quite good.

Only problem we faced that of the street dogs making noise in night (no fault of Hotel), but they become quite after some while. Lot of market place around there and autorickshaw would charge Re. 5 per person to drop you to MK market- main shopping are and for return autos are available.

Shikara stand are nearby and in case you are visiting in June anytime try going around 6 or 7 PM as the day are hotter. It is worth one try. charges are fixed as 400 for one hour, but if you want more time you can negotiate.

Good Location worth a try... Good Luck guys

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walisons, Manager at Walisons Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hello Sir,
We are happy to know you liked your stay here in Walisons Hotel. We try our best to keep all our guests happy and a review always help us improve.I would also like to inform you that we have now changed our restaurant from Vegetarian to NON-Vegetarian and also serve Wazwaan in our restaurant . We will be looking forward to see you again in our hotel.
Thanks & regards
Manager
Walisons Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Nice clean but budget hotel close to Dal Lake - Ghat no 2. The bathrooms are extra clean. Hot water was plenty. The location is good however the entry lane from the Dal Lake Boulevard has a garbage dump. Not a problem with the hotel but it is not a nice sight or smell as you walk towards the hotel from the Lake side. The people are nice and friendly.
The restaurant needs lot of work. I dont think they are professionals running it. You will not get most of the items in the card. We dined there one night and decided to eat outside for the rest of our stay. Overall satisfied with quality and comfort.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We booked the suite with two large beds. The room is clean with clean toilets and towels. It ia attached to a balcony where other rooms also open. From the balcony you get the view of the Shankaracharya Hill, it is not on the lake, but just 2 mins walk from ghat no. 2. Their room service is good but they do not serve food in room which is a drawback, and again they serve only veg food in the restaurant. The food is very delicious but the restaurant service is not up to the mark as they are very slow in serving food even if the restaurant is empty. Overall a good hotel, bt can be better if they improve on their delayed service.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 1st foor front side (facing the hill/attached to the balcony) are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Its a nice budget hotel with a just 5 mins walk from Dal Lake.
The hotel is clean, good rooms, nice service and the manager Sajid Bhai is just great. He took personal attention to all of our needs and always tried his best to make our stay comfortable. The WIFI also works fine.

But the hotel has some disadvantages which I think worth mentioning here.

1. The restaurant recently started serving only VEG cuisines. Eating veg in Kashmir valley is an absolute no no as because the valley is famous for its delicious non-veg yummy cuisines (Mutton Rohan Josh is a must try). Vegetarians please excuse.

2. The hotel do not have 24 hours service which they publish in their website. Infact I explained them what exactly the 24hrs service means which they accepted. The restaurant starts operating after 7 a.m in the morning to 11 pm at night (Won't get breakfast if you have to leave early in the morning or come late at night for/after sight seeing which is very common in the valley) and there's hard to find any person at the reception if you need anything emergency after 10 p.m. Always keep Sajid bhai's mobile number with you (This is the first thing you should do while checking in. This man is an all-rounder)

3. They don't serve food in the room (though sometimes by chance they keeps request). For breakfast, lunch and dinner you will have to climb up and down the stairs (if you stay at the first floor rooms) to reach the restaurant which I feel is a bit of concern for elderly people.

4. Any kind of washing inside the room is a strict NO. They would always want you to use their laundry service. Hotel is very strict on this. So beware.

But inspite of the above I would recommend this hotel due to its locational advantage, service and Sajid bhai. He is a real gem.

Room Tip: Choose the first floor rooms as it gives a break-taking view of the famous Sankaracharya hill. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walisons, Manager at Walisons Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hello Sir,
Thank you for your review. We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay here and we will definitely be looking forward to serve you again. Based on many suggestions we have now changed our menu from Vegetarian and serve Non-Vegetarian including Wazwaan.
We value your suggestions and will definitely try to improve on other things mentioned by you.
Thanks & regards
Management
Walisons Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Walisons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walisons Hotel

Address: 1st Lane, Boulevard, Srinagar 190001, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 240 B&Bs / Inns in Srinagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Walisons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make your stay in Kashmir blissful by choosing to stay with us, at WALISONS HOTEL where luxury is combined with unmatched comfort and unparalleled ambience.The hotel sits on the peripheries of the majestic Zabarwan Hills, providing an awe-inducing spectacle. We are just a stone's throw away from the breathtaking Dal Lake; providing a unique blend of serenity and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Walisons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walisons Hotel Srinagar, Kashmir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walisons Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.