We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shamiyana

Shamiyana
Boulevard Road | Dal Gate, Srinagar, India
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 57 Restaurants in Srinagar
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Manaus, Amazonas, Brazil
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

very nice kebabs and curries esp the mutton rogan josh...helpings are a bit on the + side....great view of the dal lake and away from the usual suspects and tourists....vegans avoid

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Noida
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Food and Quick Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We were recommended the place as one of the good ones in Srinagar.

The place has good food on offer. We had non-veg with starters and main course and the food was good and the quantity was ample. Biryani also tasted better then from common places.

The place is just across Dal Lake and it was almost full when we had our lunch. The service was quick.
The only sore point was one of the guy sitting on the counter was not at all courteous. While settling the bill, he did not once looked directly and handed back the cash in a rude manner.

Other then that, the place is good to have food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Best for veggies...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

good ambience
good food
good for family dining
good service
we had sizzlers (ordered taking a risk, thinking they wouldnt know how to make it) - trust me, one of the best sizzlers (cooked indian style)... tasted great. even the punjabi food was good. slightly more expensive than other restaurantsin srinagar, but worth the food the serve...

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A good and decent restaurant around Dal lake”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I went to Shamiyana during my stay in Srinagar. It was crowded (which is a good sign), waiters were fast to get a table and get our order delivered.
About the food itself, it was fine, it's not the best we had in Srinagar (the best was at the Peacock houseboat) but it was tasty enough and at a very good price.
If I didn't have such a great food at Peacock Houseboat, i would have certainly returned again in this restaurant without any doubt.
Good value.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect 10 on authentic kababs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Their kababs and biriyani is one of the closest I have eaten to what I would call authentic. Portions are irresistibly large and scrumptious. Priceline: perfect! If you don't want to pay for some real good kababs and bhunna sabjizi then just eat in a regular restaurant. This place is superb and highly recommended!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shamiyana also viewed

Srinagar, Kashmir
 

Been to Shamiyana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shamiyana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.