We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vivanta Dal View Srinigar by Taj

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Vivanta Dal View Srinigar by Taj to your Saves list
Vivanta Dal View Srinigar by Taj
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kralsangri, Brein, Srinagar 191121, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Srinagar
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The hotel is situated on the hill top, and it is beautiful to see the Dal lake from the hotel. you feel that you are in the lap of snow capped mountains. The rooms are spacious . The staff of the hotel are good other than Front office staff , who misrepresents and play with the prestige and value of the group like Taj. We requested for interconnected rooms in the main lobby building and on arrival we were offered rooms of base category instead of higher category rooms we booked. we opted for the same ( since the base category rooms were in the main lobby building ) as the front office staff agreed to credit differential tariff to our travel agent. To our surprise the same staff at the time of check out has refused to do the same. however , after exchange of few mails we got such credit in 10 days.
otherwise this was beautiful stay with good food and hospitality.

Room Tip: if you visit in winter than go for rooms in the main lobby building otherwise Deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    149
    33
    20
    9
See reviews for
223
137
8
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was perched on top of a hill overlooking the dal lake with a backdrop of snow peaks.the rooms were larger than most & you cod walk out into the garden& walk around on the not so green grass, due to the season.
The Kashmiri food was a wow & specially for the vegetarians . Recommend for a holiday or a sabatical

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Vivanta by Taj is a relatively new property, and they've immediately got themselves a winner with the view - perched atop a small hill overlooking the Dal Lake. It's a breathtaking view, and one that can be had from most rooms in the property. The other side of the hill offers a beautiful view of snow capped mountains and a carpet of house lights along their base at night. A very romantic setting.

The buildings themselves are well designed; short and comfortable, not intruding into the natural surroundings excessively. there are two buildings - the main one with some rooms and the restaurants, and a separate block with more rooms.

The rooms were more luxurious than I expected, with massive bathrooms. The basic facilities one would expect - hot water, room service, cable TV, Wifi - are all available.

The staff was very courteous and well intentioned, but the busboys sometimes seemed a little confused with requests and harried in their desire to over-deliver. Nothing a little more training and experience won't fix.

The restaurants have a wide selection of food at acceptable prices (given that it's a Taj property), and the breakfast buffet was quite comprehensive. Alcohol, however, seemed quite expensive (I believe that is the case across Srinagar due to the low availability); I would recommend getting your own from outside.

My only negative would be the price; if you don't stay under a package deal in the off season, this could be a very expensive vacation indeed. Especially since one is likely to be spending most of the time outdoors on day trips.

I would strongly recommend this property if you can afford it.

Room Tip: I recommend the first floor rooms in the separate block for the most privacy and the best views. Wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

A perfect getaway from all the busy and hectic days. An elegant hotel with a beautiful scenery of the Dal Lake and also the hills. My family had a good deal for this hotel from our tour agent. The rooms that we got were spacious and comfortable for 2 people in a room. To top it up, the staff of the hotel were friendly and very accommodating. We definitely plan to stay here again during our next visit to Kashmir.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed at the Taj Vivanta in the first week of March. We were a large group of friends with 25 rooms between us. The rooms allotted had the best location overlooking the Dal lake. In fact most or all of their rooms have this location. From their terrace you overlook a part of Srinagar and have the most commanding view of the Valley. the staff is extremely polite, cheerful & helpful. The rooms are very comfortable with a large attached bathroom with all mod cons. A little sit out with all the rooms is very charming from where you can enjoy the breathtaking view of the lake and the Valley.The breakfast buffet was extensive and the dinner menu too was really good.overall an excellent experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Spent 4 nights at the hotel, with my wife and parents, had booked 2 deluxe rooms. Hotel made a good first impression, the location atop the hill, overlooking the Dal Lake. The main entrance, and lobby adorned with motifs. But the rooms were disappointing, considering the price you pay. The hardwood floors seem to be well past their prime, bits and pieces were missing in the rooms-one of the rooms had a flower vase, but no flower. No magazines either, but the other one had both :-) There was a coat hook missing in one of the rooms, and the door to the private sitting area didnt shut properly. I dont want to sound like a nit-pick, but you get what you pay for, in this case, I think the hotel came up a bit short. Having brought this to the attention of the duty manager, he did do his best to remedy all that he could. The hotel even threw in a complimentary dinner one night, for the 4 of us. That aside, the hotel does offer the best view of the dal lake.The rooms are well done up, and they are very large. As is the bathroom, it was about as big as the room!! There was a comfy ottoman in front of the TV, must admit I spent a lot of time on it...

The restaurant with outdoor sitting offers a great view of the lake, and the food was pretty good. The small bar, had a nice cosy feel to it, and it was pretty cheap as well. Overall, the hotel does have a lot of promise, but could have been better

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are located on either side of the main building, set in a duplex sort of way. Staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

You get an amazing view of the entire Dal Lake by sitting in your room, the rooms and bathrooms are just too big and spacious, absolutely beautiful. The food might there might not taste as great as there counterpart restaurants in main cities like Mumbai, Delhi. However, the view is simply breathtaking. The hotel is located little far from the main city and is on a an uphill so one cannot venture outside without cars.

Room Tip: Try and get the extreme last room as that is the only room which has 2 walls of the room made of gla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vivanta Dal View Srinigar by Taj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta Dal View Srinigar by Taj

Address: Kralsangri, Brein, Srinagar 191121, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Srinagar
#2 Business Hotel in Srinagar
#5 Family Hotel in Srinagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta Dal View Srinigar by Taj 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Vivanta Dal View Srinigar by Taj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta Dal View Srinigar By Taj Hotel Srinagar
Vivanta Dal View Srinigar By Taj Srinagar, Kashmir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivanta Dal View Srinigar by Taj, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.