We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hospitality.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel JH Bazaz (Happy Cottage)

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Srinagar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel JH Bazaz (Happy Cottage)
Save
You added Hotel JH Bazaz (Happy Cottage) to your Saves list
1st Lane Boulevard, | Buchwara Dalgate, Srinagar +91, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 98 Hotels in Srinagar
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Hospitality.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed 23-12 to 27-12, occupying two rooms in far corner away from the main building. We usually go for 3* and up, but our daughters recommended to try a Home Stay this time.

I tried to make an advance for reservation, it was past 12 noon, the cut off for NEFT transfers on a Saturday. The Owner cum CEO - Sarwaz Javed, without a moments hesitation, confirmed our reservation without an advance.

As most reviews speak, it's truly a home stay with high quality hospitality, clean property.

Worth a recommendation, wish they add more heating during winters and have continuous power back up (wish list of Sarwaz already) even with an increase in room rates.

Hotel Outsourced Abdul Bhai and one of his CYLO from his fleet of vehicles, a very comfortable vehicle kept clean and very reasonable price, recommended for anyone going there.

All the best JH Bazaz, Happy Cottage.

Room Tip: Family of 4 may ask for Corner Cottage (Room Numbers 101-102) which are twin deck rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    92
    12
    1
    2
See reviews for
156
65
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Initially only planned to stay here for 2 nights here but thanks to the incredibly gracious hospitality of Sarwar Bhai and Uncle Javid ended up staying for 6 nights instead!Rooms are immaculately clean and cosy, fully equipped with heater, electric blanket, cable and have access to wifi. Hotel is just a stone's throw away from the famous Dal boulevard and have easy access to other points of interests. Sarwar Bhai's a great help when it comes to arranging your local sight-seeing and out of city trips. Food served was of top quality and Bashir Bhai(house-help) is always on his toes to take care of all your needs. I cant recommend this place enough, hospitality I experienced here is second to none. They treat you not as a guest but as if you're part of their family. I definitely coming back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I booked this hotel based on the reviews @TA by the people who stayed at this hotel and their experiences. I gave it a try and transferred the 50% payment in Advance.

I still had second thoughts and doubts as It was just my 2nd visit to srinagar but to my surprise it was my best stay in Srinagar during 7th to 11th December with my wife. Hotel owner (sarwar) took very good care of us throught the stay. hotel owner Sarwar was in constant touch with us during Katra to srinagar journey. Even at 11:00 PM @night, hotel owner assisted us in finding the hotel, made ourselves comfortable in the room.

Sarwar also gave us very good advice during the Gulmarg trip to find the Gondola due and adviced us not to hire Horses. Sarwar's Assistant (sorry don't remember his name) also gave us very good advice and his suggestions. Me and my wife was very overwhelmed by the hospitality of Sarwar that we will be staying in the same hotel next time we visit Srinagar. Sarwar took care of us like his own family and gave very honest advice and suggestions.

Room was equipped with cable tv, room heater, electric blanket and a big plus for 24 hrs hot water. Breakfast was included in the package and it was served hot throughout the stay. Hotel also provides free wifi.

Sarwar also assisted us in buying dress material with Kashmiri handwork from one of his friend's shop nearby. Overall, it was a pleasant and a wonderful stay at JH BAZAZ. Will recommend this hotel to all visiting Srinagar.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

The level of service from Sarwar and his staff is second to none. Friendly and helpful advice is only a question away,they will try and accommodate any request you have. The rooms are very clean,well equipped with good cable tv,24 hour HOT water,many charging points and great electric blankets for those visits in the cold months in Srinagar. They also have a good selection of quality Indian and Kashmiri food at affordable prices,the pots of tea being my favourite as an Englishman. Although the room was out of my budget it was worth paying a few hundred rupees extra for the level of service and quality of room compared to any of the houseboats or other guesthouses. If you come to Srinagar make sure you stay at JH BAZAZ!

Room Tip: Maybe if visiting in the winter months ask for a sun facing room like I had and it will help warm yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
1 review
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

As my Heading Goes.. U dont have to really look out for any other Hotel in Srinagar, As the Service, Food and Friendly Nature of the Management which Includes Sarwar Hussain and Bashir gives fulfilled Justice to your stay...!
We had been to srinagar on 7th Dec- 14th Dec.. and we had a wonderful experience staying there..! Right from guiding you to watch out the beautiful places to making you feel comfortable in the unknown state this cottage has its all..!! I had got tonsils due to cold wheather and cold water so they served me with Nice hot Ginger water to recover from the bad throat ..! The food Specially Rajma Chawal and Chicken is awesome Here..! and Feels more awesome when served with a happy Face..! This is a fulltooo a Home away from Home in Srinagar..!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
1 review
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Really nice to stay in j h bazaz..we stay here from 28th nov to 4th dec 2013...and good thing about this heavan is all the staff and owner is really sweet...love to visit again because i feel homely over there because whatever i ordered they served and food is also like home...love u sirji..will miss all fun in kashmir

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I stayed in this small hotel, about five minutes walk from Dal Gate in December 1st week. I stayed in a single accommodation. The staff is very friendly and always looking at looking after the needs of the guests. The rooms are basic and adequate protection in winters - heaters, heated blankets, hot water, etc. is available. For its price, its value for money, if the intention is only sightseeing and having an abode only for sleeping and spending little time.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the main building. Though all rooms are about the same size and quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel JH Bazaz (Happy Cottage)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JH Bazaz (Happy Cottage)

Address: 1st Lane Boulevard, | Buchwara Dalgate, Srinagar +91, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Srinagar
#1 Best Value Hotel in Srinagar
#1 Romantic Hotel in Srinagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More of a "HOME STAY" with amidst a lush green garden, cozy rooms with posh baths. Exotic food served with great hospitality.. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel JH Bazaz (Happy Cottage) Srinagar, Kashmir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel JH Bazaz (Happy Cottage), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.