We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel JH Bazaz (Happy Cottage)

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Srinagar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel JH Bazaz (Happy Cottage)
Save
You added Hotel JH Bazaz (Happy Cottage) to your Saves list
1st Lane Boulevard, | Buchwara Dalgate, Srinagar +91, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 98 Hotels in Srinagar
Bydgoszcz
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Superb place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Sarwar, who runs JH Bazaz, offers the best guesthouse in Srinagar. Rooms are comfortable and clean and in a very reasonable price. Each room has a heating system for water so if necessary you can always have hot weater. But what is the most important, Sarwar was always very helpfull to us. Thank's to his help we managed in one our to accomplish all formalities necessary to get a permission for pursuing our trekking in Ladakh. He always tried to help us with our problems and querries, including organizing car to Leh. Honestly I can recommend the JH Bazaz. I stayed in many different places, but this one I will remember very warmly.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have normal, western-like shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    90
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
153
65
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at JH Bazaz for 4 nights during our srinagar stay. Our experience was a mixed bag but would recommend the hotel for people who would want to stay close to dal lake at reasonable prices ... We also asked Sarwar to arrange taxis for visiting local places including Pahalgam, Gulmarg etc. We were happy with our taxi and drivers during our visits...

Pros:
Location: Just 2-3 min walk from Dal Lake
Rooms: Clean bathrooms with running hot and cold water. LCD TVs in the rooms are a plus.
Staff very friendly and helpful. The attendant in the hotel was very prompt and service oriented..
Reasonable Prices.

Cons:
Rooms: Rooms have low ceilings which can be claustophobic during days when temperature is on higher side. I understand that this might not be a issue for 9-10 months in Srinagar during colder climate but it can cause discomfort during summer days.

Approach to hotel. The hotel is in narrow lanes next to Dal Lake. you would usually see garbage dumped in these lanes. Although this does not impact the hotel cleaniness but something to see everytime you cross the lane to go to and fro from the hotel.

Food: Bazaz offered basic food options for Bfast/Lunch/Dinner. Bfast & tea is okay but We found the main food items to be more oily than our liking. Lots of options outside the hotel on Dal Lake..

Overall would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

After a string of JKTDC stays, we wanted to break the routine. JH Bazaz was rated extremely high, so we thought that we would check-in into this homestay. Lets first talk about the location - it is slightly off the Boulevard in a narrow lane, which is generally unclean. So, walking to & fro from the hotel leaves a grimace. Rooms are small, with low ceilings (I could touch the ceiling... it is that low) and the commode in the bathroom was fitted in a manner that its right side was so close to the wall that I had to sit in a crooked manner, which is not comfortable. Also, it had no tissue paper. Room floor was carpeted, but that carpet was unclean.
Service is good, yes and the service-man is very efficient. But I fail to understand their fondness of using tons of oil in every kind of preparation. Sarwar tries hard to help you with your queries and requirements... but he really needs to take care of these basic aspects.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here for one night on 10th August. The hotel is very neat and clean and is in close proximity to Dal gate. Mr Sarwar was very caring. The room service was efficient. We had a nice stay despite the unexpected hot weather in Srinagar at this time of the year

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed in a Hotel for 4 days and it was a Home like feeling with Good service, hospitality and was very helpful in guiding the local travel.
Taxi can be booked from hotel and will be helpful.
Hotel is Walkable distance from Dal Lake.
Hotel is Excellent in terms of Value for money and is good in terms of Location.
Hotel is good to stay for family and couples.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarwarjavidbazaz, Owner at Hotel JH Bazaz (Happy Cottage), responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thanks..

I wish you all the best for both of you and a happy life in future.
We hope to see you again..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Me, my husband and my 1.5 year hold son visited Kashmir on 14th June. Our entire stay was with JH Bazaz and we are happy we did so. Indeed the trip was better because of their arrangements. They took care of almost everything, from arranging the car to helping us choose which place to go first. The room service boy Bashir (who took care for our room) was very good. He would give us almost whatever food we wanted and no matter at what time. Families traveling with kids will know how much this counts in an unknown land. In all Sarwar Ji thanks for your arrangements, Kashmir became all the more beautiful because of your hotel. To all those reading this review from a professional view point I would say these people are doing a very fair business. Not for once will you ever feel that your stay was not worth the money. They do really take care.

Room Tip: Room 101, although the rooms are small and not as they appear in the picture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Mr Hussain made all the bookings for stay at houseboat, pahalgam and sightseeings as well.
It was a comfortable stay at all places where arrangements were made.
The caretaker Basheer is very enthusiastic and helpful and also made me try a salted tea which I believe is a traditional tea beverage in kashmir. Also try Kahwa.
Abdul ji, our driver for Pahalgam was very entertaining and also got us to a very good vegetarian restaurant.
Overall the trip was a very memorable part because of the beauty of Kashmir and part due to the hospitality served out by Mr Hussain.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel JH Bazaz (Happy Cottage)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JH Bazaz (Happy Cottage)

Address: 1st Lane Boulevard, | Buchwara Dalgate, Srinagar +91, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Srinagar
#1 Best Value Hotel in Srinagar
#1 Romantic Hotel in Srinagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More of a "HOME STAY" with amidst a lush green garden, cozy rooms with posh baths. Exotic food served with great hospitality.. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel JH Bazaz (Happy Cottage) Srinagar, Kashmir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel JH Bazaz (Happy Cottage), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.