We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool place close to Dalgate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel JH Bazaz (Happy Cottage)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel JH Bazaz (Happy Cottage) to your Saves list
Hotel JH Bazaz (Happy Cottage)
1st Lane Boulevard, | Buchwara Dalgate, Srinagar 190001, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Srinagar
New Delhi
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cool place close to Dalgate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here for one night on 10th August. The hotel is very neat and clean and is in close proximity to Dal gate. Mr Sarwar was very caring. The room service was efficient. We had a nice stay despite the unexpected hot weather in Srinagar at this time of the year

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    84
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
138
59
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed in a Hotel for 4 days and it was a Home like feeling with Good service, hospitality and was very helpful in guiding the local travel.
Taxi can be booked from hotel and will be helpful.
Hotel is Walkable distance from Dal Lake.
Hotel is Excellent in terms of Value for money and is good in terms of Location.
Hotel is good to stay for family and couples.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarwarjavidbazaz, Owner at Hotel JH Bazaz (Happy Cottage), responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thanks..

I wish you all the best for both of you and a happy life in future.
We hope to see you again..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Me, my husband and my 1.5 year hold son visited Kashmir on 14th June. Our entire stay was with JH Bazaz and we are happy we did so. Indeed the trip was better because of their arrangements. They took care of almost everything, from arranging the car to helping us choose which place to go first. The room service boy Bashir (who took care for our room) was very good. He would give us almost whatever food we wanted and no matter at what time. Families traveling with kids will know how much this counts in an unknown land. In all Sarwar Ji thanks for your arrangements, Kashmir became all the more beautiful because of your hotel. To all those reading this review from a professional view point I would say these people are doing a very fair business. Not for once will you ever feel that your stay was not worth the money. They do really take care.

Room Tip: Room 101, although the rooms are small and not as they appear in the picture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Mr Hussain made all the bookings for stay at houseboat, pahalgam and sightseeings as well.
It was a comfortable stay at all places where arrangements were made.
The caretaker Basheer is very enthusiastic and helpful and also made me try a salted tea which I believe is a traditional tea beverage in kashmir. Also try Kahwa.
Abdul ji, our driver for Pahalgam was very entertaining and also got us to a very good vegetarian restaurant.
Overall the trip was a very memorable part because of the beauty of Kashmir and part due to the hospitality served out by Mr Hussain.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

If you are looking for somewhere clean, competitively priced and very, very hospitable, Happy Cottage is your best choice in Srinagar. Mr. Sarwar Hussein and his father provide an extremely high level of traditional Kashmiri hospitality that is difficult to emulate. Bashir our attendant was always available,extremely efficient, and service is always provided with a happy smile. It is like staying with family, because Mr. Hussein provided every conceivable travel plan support in the middle of the curfew, and also all possible help when my mother fell ill!!! Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed at this guest house after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor and it was completely worth it.

The hotel was only around 5-6 mins walk from Dal Lake which was a bonus.

We were met by Mr Bazaz on the first day and we were glad to see that the rooms were very clean with towels and fresh soap. Although there were a few electrical problems when we arrived, the hosts tried their very best to solve them and make sure we were comfortable. We were supplied with tea and snacks whenever we asked for them. Food was delicious and fresh as well and we had our dinner there every night. The service was simply amazing and we enjoyed some lovely breezy evenings in their garden drinking the local tea. The hospitality by the staff made us feel right at home. In fact, the day we returned to the guesthouse from our Pahelgam stay, we all proclaimed that it was "good to be home!". On the last day of the trip, we had all become very tired and they made sure we had a nice and light dinner before the flight the next morning. We also had had several problems with locating our driver who we had organised beforehand. However, we were very lucky that the hotel had organised a driver for us at short notice when we arrived. Abdul-ji was entertaining, friendly and caring. He took us to all the best tourist spots and when we were in Pahelgam, he took us to safe and hygienic places to eat.

We went with our elderly grandparents and each of the staff were incredibly friendly and respectable to all of us.

We couldn't be happier and ask for a better service! Definitely a brilliant place to stay for friendly service without burning a hole in your pocket!

Room Tip: The staff are fabulous for choosing rooms for you. just let them make the decision and if you have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Don't go by the pics you see, the place is managed as a guest house , we hoped to get a home stay experience, but were disappointed on that. There is a single attendant who keeps looking after all rooms , the rooms are also small. Food is average.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel JH Bazaz (Happy Cottage)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JH Bazaz (Happy Cottage)

Address: 1st Lane Boulevard, | Buchwara Dalgate, Srinagar 190001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Srinagar
#2 Best Value Hotel in Srinagar
#2 Romantic Hotel in Srinagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amidst a lush green garden, cozy rooms with posh baths. Exotic food served with great hospitality.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Hotel JH Bazaz (Happy Cottage) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel JH Bazaz (Happy Cottage) Srinagar, Kashmir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel JH Bazaz (Happy Cottage), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.